Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'some spell'.
                    
                
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Feats
                                                    Player’s Handbook (2024)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     attack rolls with spells.
 Increased Range. When you cast a spell that has a range of at least 10 feet and requires you to make an attack roll, you can increase the spell’s range by 60 feet.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Spell Sniper
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Feats
                                                    Player’s Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You have learned techniques to enhance your attacks with certain kinds of spells, gaining the following benefits:
When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     range is doubled.
Your ranged spell attacks ignore half cover and three-quarters cover.
You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A Spell Scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without Material components. Otherwise
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the scroll crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     magic-items
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This magical tattoo contains the essence of a level 1–3 spell chosen by the tattoo’s creator. While the tattoo is on your body, you always have the associated spell prepared, and you can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cast the spell using any spell slots you have of the appropriate level. If you have the Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature, the spell uses your spellcasting ability; otherwise, if the spell requires a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Spell Scroll
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A Spell Scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without Material components. Otherwise
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the scroll crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    This Spell Scroll bears the words of the Fireball spell, written in a mystical cipher. If Fireball is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast it without Material components. Otherwise
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ;t lost.
If Fireball is on your spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you make a DC 13 ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast the spell. On
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. If you succeed on the save for a spell of level 7 or lower, the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     stored spells chosen by the DM.
Any creature can cast a spell of level 1 through 5 into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect other than to be stored in the ring
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . If the ring can’t hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You have Advantage on saving throws against spells while you wear this cloak
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Equipment
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     up to three other spellcasters within 10 feet of the sphere can participate in. At the ritual’s culmination, the sphere is destroyed, and each participant can expend one spell slot. You must
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     make a DC 40 Intelligence (Arcana) check, with a bonus equal to the combined level of the expended spell slots.
On a success, choose a specific entity. Every sentient being in the timescape who didn
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     feats
                                                    Player’s Handbook (2024)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . Whenever you cast a spell with a level 1–4 spell slot, roll 1d4. If the number you roll is the same as the slot’s level, the slot isn’t expended.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    A spell gem can contain one spell from any class’s spell list. You become aware of the spell when you learn the gem’s properties. While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class’s spell list. Doing so doesn’t require any components and doesn’t require attunement. The spell then disappears from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ring of Spell Turning
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell A spell is a magical effect that has the characteristics described in “Spells”.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell A spell is a magical effect that has the characteristics described in chapter 7.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Descriptions The spells are presented in alphabetical order.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Scroll Scroll, Rarity Varies A Spell Scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     without Material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the scroll crumbles to dust
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Attacks Is a touch range spell considered a melee attack for purposes of subduing foes rather than killing? Having a range of touch doesn’t mean a spell is a melee attack. A spell tells you if
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it delivers such an attack. Can spell attacks score critical hits? A spell attack can definitely score a critical hit. The rule on critical hits applies to attack rolls of any sort. When casting a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Sink This device emanates an antimagic field (same effects as the antimagic field spell) in a radius of 1 to 3 miles. The field can be activated or deactivated as an action with a touch by its
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     controller. The form that the device takes depends on the nature of its creator. The Ashbound druids despise unnatural magic, so a spell sink created by them might be a living artifact, such as a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Scroll Scroll, varies  A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the words on
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Scroll Scroll, varies A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the words on
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Scroll Scroll, Rarity Varies A Spell Scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     without Material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the scroll crumbles to dust
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Level What level is a spell if you cast it without a spell slot? Such a spell is cast at its lowest possible level, which is the level that appears near the top of its description. Unless you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     have a special ability that says otherwise, the only way to increase the level of a spell is to expend a higher-level spell slot when you cast it. Here are some examples: The warlock’s Chains of
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Scrolls A table bears an assortment of little jars filled with tiny scrolls. A pixie no bigger than a human hand sits on a cushion beside the jars, using a small quill and inkwell to write on a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     scroll. She looks up at you through horn-rimmed glasses. “Can I help you?”
 Lavender Shasphene is a studious and impatient pixie merchant who sells Spell Scrolls from this little table. She has five
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Spell Lists The following spell lists show which spells can be cast by characters of each class. A spell’s school of magic is noted in parentheses. If a spell can be cast as a ritual, the ritual tag also appears in the parentheses.
                                                
                                            
                                        





