Path of the Beast gives you claws as an option when you rage. It also says "Once on each of your turns when you attack with a claw using the Attack action, you can make one additional claw attack as part of the same action." Now, a Dragonborn gets access to the Dragon Hide feat which gives you retractable claws. They do less dice damage, but are innate to the race.
So, a Dragonborn Path of the Beast Barbarian with the Dragon Hide feat can pop his own retractable claws while raging. Does he get the benefit of the second claw attack since it only states "when you attack with A claw using the Attack action"? It doesn't specifically say with the Path of the Beast claws. I figure you need to be raging to get the second attack benefit since that's the only way to get the Claws from PotB to begin with, but can this be done?
I would say yes since you're not adding anything to this ability. You're strictly making it worse. You can only benefit from an extra claw attack once per turn and if you're only allowing it when they're raging ... oh, are you trying to justify using two different natural weapon benefits at once? Like have a tail out and also make extra claw attacks? Ehh .. I would say no.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
So, a Dragonborn Path of the Beast Barbarian with the Dragon Hide feat can pop his own retractable claws while raging. Does he get the benefit of the second claw attack since it only states "when you attack with A claw using the Attack action"? It doesn't specifically say with the Path of the Beast claws.
It doesn't say that because the first sentence established which claws they're talking about ("Each of your hands transforms into a claw...") You're not supposed to interpret sentences in isolation when reading the rules.
The feat gives you claws which do what the feat says and the class feature gives you different claws that do what the class feature says.
So, my question then becomes what, mechanically, is the difference between the claws that are manifested while raging and manifested being a dragonborn that would make then function differently? I'd think that as long as the claws were produced on your being and not from a weapon or spell ability, but produced naturally like both those claws are, the benefit would still apply. I have a hard time trying to imagine that the claws from raging are so functionally different that they give a boost of speed somehow that another pair of claws produced on your person wouldn't do the same thing.
So, my question then becomes what, mechanically, is the difference between the claws that are manifested while raging and manifested being a dragonborn that would make then function differently? I'd think that as long as the claws were produced on your being and not from a weapon or spell ability, but produced naturally like both those claws are, the benefit would still apply. I have a hard time trying to imagine that the claws from raging are so functionally different that they give a boost of speed somehow that another pair of claws produced on your person wouldn't do the same thing.
LOTS of the mechanics (as written) don't make sense in terms of realism. The rules are there in part for balance. As written, you cannot gain the benefit from two different forms. If your DM wants to house rule that you can, that's fine. But it's a house rule.
I think the biggest point is that you have to choose which of the 3 abilities to activate when you enter your rage. If you have not raged and chosen claws, then the rules for the beast's claws do not apply. You can't just grab the benefits without activating the ability.
I would say that, if you had entered Rage and chosen claws, then RAW it may apply to your Dragon Hide claws, too... But why would you choose 1d4 damage over 1d6? It makes no sense to do so.
I figure you need to be raging to get the second attack benefit since that's the only way to get the Claws from PotB to begin with, but can this be done?
You absolutely do. The feature that lets you attack an extra time is only active if you choose claws at the point that you go into your rage. It then ends when your rage ends.
So this doesn't give you free extra attacks outside of rage, nor does it give you the extra attacks if you chose another beast weapon such as the tail. I'm assuming you're looking for shenanigans like this, because otherwise as mentioned above you are strictly just making the feature worse. Sorry but I don't think there's anything here to exploit.
Path of the Beast gives you claws as an option when you rage. It also says "Once on each of your turns when you attack with a claw using the Attack action, you can make one additional claw attack as part of the same action." Now, a Dragonborn gets access to the Dragon Hide feat which gives you retractable claws. They do less dice damage, but are innate to the race.
So, a Dragonborn Path of the Beast Barbarian with the Dragon Hide feat can pop his own retractable claws while raging. Does he get the benefit of the second claw attack since it only states "when you attack with A claw using the Attack action"? It doesn't specifically say with the Path of the Beast claws. I figure you need to be raging to get the second attack benefit since that's the only way to get the Claws from PotB to begin with, but can this be done?
Thoughts?
No Obstacles, No Excuses!!!
I would say yes since you're not adding anything to this ability. You're strictly making it worse. You can only benefit from an extra claw attack once per turn and if you're only allowing it when they're raging ... oh, are you trying to justify using two different natural weapon benefits at once? Like have a tail out and also make extra claw attacks? Ehh .. I would say no.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
It doesn't say that because the first sentence established which claws they're talking about ("Each of your hands transforms into a claw...") You're not supposed to interpret sentences in isolation when reading the rules.
The feat gives you claws which do what the feat says and the class feature gives you different claws that do what the class feature says.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
So, my question then becomes what, mechanically, is the difference between the claws that are manifested while raging and manifested being a dragonborn that would make then function differently? I'd think that as long as the claws were produced on your being and not from a weapon or spell ability, but produced naturally like both those claws are, the benefit would still apply. I have a hard time trying to imagine that the claws from raging are so functionally different that they give a boost of speed somehow that another pair of claws produced on your person wouldn't do the same thing.
No Obstacles, No Excuses!!!
LOTS of the mechanics (as written) don't make sense in terms of realism. The rules are there in part for balance. As written, you cannot gain the benefit from two different forms. If your DM wants to house rule that you can, that's fine. But it's a house rule.
I think the biggest point is that you have to choose which of the 3 abilities to activate when you enter your rage. If you have not raged and chosen claws, then the rules for the beast's claws do not apply. You can't just grab the benefits without activating the ability.
I would say that, if you had entered Rage and chosen claws, then RAW it may apply to your Dragon Hide claws, too... But why would you choose 1d4 damage over 1d6? It makes no sense to do so.
You absolutely do. The feature that lets you attack an extra time is only active if you choose claws at the point that you go into your rage. It then ends when your rage ends.
So this doesn't give you free extra attacks outside of rage, nor does it give you the extra attacks if you chose another beast weapon such as the tail. I'm assuming you're looking for shenanigans like this, because otherwise as mentioned above you are strictly just making the feature worse. Sorry but I don't think there's anything here to exploit.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm