Hey DMs, I just built a STR based Bugbear Rogue with the Grappler feat. Bugbears can make weapon attacks with an extra 5ft reach. So...if I grapple a creature from 10ft away, can it attack me or does it just have to attempt to escape? I'm technically outside their melee range, but I AM holding onto them with my big hairy hand.
Can I even grapple from 10 feet away? Is that not considered a weapon attack? Seems like there's some interesting rule gymnastics that needs to be done here. Curious to hear your thoughts on the matter.
Hey DMs, I just built a STR based Bugbear Rogue with the Grappler feat. Bugbears can make weapon attacks with an extra 5ft reach. So...if I grapple a creature from 10ft away, can it attack me or does it just have to attempt to escape? I'm technically outside their melee range, but I AM holding onto them with my big hairy hand.
Can I even grapple from 10 feet away? Is that not considered a weapon attack? Seems like there's some interesting rule gymnastics that needs to be done here. Curious to hear your thoughts on the matter.
Your big hairy arm would certainly be in range to be hit.
Being "Long-Limbed" just means that "When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal."
"Grappling" counts as a special melee attack. It's up to your DM as to whether this can work at the 10-foot range though it's definitely a possible interpretation.
If your DM says that grappling can work at a distance, I'd expect that some house rules may be necessary to work out how damage might then affect you. Can wounds be fatal? Could your arm become crippled at an earlier stage? Questions like those might need to be considered.
Bugbear reach is only extended when they make an attack on their turn. It isn't a persistent 5 foot increase to your reach. Once your turn ends (or possibly even once the attack ends, depending on how you interpret the feature), the creature will suddenly be outside of your reach, which ends the grapple.
This is probably a scenario where your DM is gonna have to step in and make a ruling.
If the grappled condition can be achieved by bugbears at 10 ft distance, then RAW a contest or effect would normally be required for the target to escape.
The rules really fall short when it comes to grappling at range. A CR1 giant octopus can grapple you from 15 feet away. In literally every instance of this kind of thing in other media, the grappling tentacle gets hacked off. That's just what you do to escape. A creature should not be able to be continually in physical contact with you and yet be out of your attack range, it just makes no sense.
Bugbear reach is only extended when they make an attack on their turn. It isn't a persistent 5 foot increase to your reach. Once your turn ends (or possibly even once the attack ends, depending on how you interpret the feature), the creature will suddenly be outside of your reach, which ends the grapple.
This is probably a scenario where your DM is gonna have to step in and make a ruling.
This is how I see it. Either the grapple ends or you have to move to within your normal reach, which is 5’. If you have them grappled then they can attack you.
Hey DMs, I just built a STR based Bugbear Rogue with the Grappler feat. Bugbears can make weapon attacks with an extra 5ft reach. So...if I grapple a creature from 10ft away, can it attack me or does it just have to attempt to escape? I'm technically outside their melee range, but I AM holding onto them with my big hairy hand.
Can I even grapple from 10 feet away? Is that not considered a weapon attack? Seems like there's some interesting rule gymnastics that needs to be done here. Curious to hear your thoughts on the matter.
Your big hairy arm would certainly be in range to be hit.
Being "Long-Limbed" just means that "When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal."
"Grappling" counts as a special melee attack. It's up to your DM as to whether this can work at the 10-foot range though it's definitely a possible interpretation.
If your DM says that grappling can work at a distance, I'd expect that some house rules may be necessary to work out how damage might then affect you. Can wounds be fatal? Could your arm become crippled at an earlier stage? Questions like those might need to be considered.
Bugbear reach is only extended when they make an attack on their turn. It isn't a persistent 5 foot increase to your reach. Once your turn ends (or possibly even once the attack ends, depending on how you interpret the feature), the creature will suddenly be outside of your reach, which ends the grapple.
This is probably a scenario where your DM is gonna have to step in and make a ruling.
Reach only relates to melee attacks.
If the grappled condition can be achieved by bugbears at 10 ft distance, then RAW a contest or effect would normally be required for the target to escape.
The rules really fall short when it comes to grappling at range. A CR1 giant octopus can grapple you from 15 feet away. In literally every instance of this kind of thing in other media, the grappling tentacle gets hacked off. That's just what you do to escape. A creature should not be able to be continually in physical contact with you and yet be out of your attack range, it just makes no sense.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
This is how I see it. Either the grapple ends or you have to move to within your normal reach, which is 5’. If you have them grappled then they can attack you.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?