When choosing the Fighting Initiate feat, you cannot actually select a Fighting Style, it does not appear as a drop down menu or anything like that
Please read the very first post of this thread, where that is explained: for the moment the feat is a place holder only while they work on a way to implement the options without breaking the character sheet.
Druidic warrior for Ranger allows for the cantrips to be changed as the character levels up. Cantrips do not appear under manage spells and cannot be changed.
Is there any update on All-Purpose Tool providing a cantrip? It seems to apply the bonuses but I see no way to select an additional cantrip, nor is that action listed under actions.
Small thing, the Rune Knight Snippet code of the Fire Rune does not provide the Save DC after saying they have to make a STR saving throw like abilities normally do. The Stone rune does do this, so felt like it should be mentioned. The damage of 2d6 is also bolded, by this is not a changeable part of the rune nor does an info bubble pop up when hovered over.
Unsure if I should have put this under this thread or the Character sheet thread since it is a Tasha subclass, but a Character sheet issue technically.
Great work as always guys!
Public Mod Note
(GPyromania):
Thanks for the report - I've passed this along to the team.
Unable to choose a Fighting style when choosing the 'Fighting initiate' feat. trying to make lv1 variant human monk and get unarmed fighting style with fighting initiate but unable to choose a fighting style when selected.
Public Mod Note
(GPyromania):
Merged into the main support thread; please refer to the first post.
If you make a Circle of Stars Druid and go into Actions > Other, under 'Starry Form: Dragon' in the short summary it says "While in Starry Form, with the Archer constellation selected." I think it's fairly clear that this is a mistake but I did have a player wonder if this meant you could use the Dragon ability while in Archer form (we read through the class and agreed that wasn't correct) and so fixing that could hopefully prevent more confusion for others.
Sorry if I've missed someone else mentioning this issue. I love this site and all the work you guys do. Cheers :)
This was likely already reported, (not even trying to read everyones post here) but the Battlesmith mentions the Alchemist class in it's "Battle Smith Spells" snippet.
Is it possible to redeem a key for this book? Or do I need to buy the book on this website to gain it's features.
There is no redemption code or key that comes with the physical book. If you want the optional,p class and race/origin features, you have to buy the entire book here. If you just want subclasses, s’appelle, etc., you can buy elements piecemeal.
The Awakened Spellbook for the Order of Scribes Wizard description in the character sheet is missing the final sentence of the second benefit: "The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend." This makes the ability much more powerful than intended on casual inspection.
So I'm a newer player, my friends and I are playing a homebrew campaign we started about a month ago and I and playing the Soulknife rogue from Tasha's. So far its really fun and I like the flavor the of psychic bolstering and eventually getting homing strikes and a slightly boosted invisibility. However, reading through the subclasses page with a more critical eye got me wondering what the RAI is on the soulknife rogue's psychic blades being used in an attack of opportunity. Basically, would a soulknife's psychic blades even be able to be used to preform an AoO, and if so, how would you rule their bonus attack during the reaction. While very situational as most of the time I'm at range anyway, in the cases it would apply, it kind of seems like it could deal a lot of damage. Again, how often I'll ever get to have an enemy trigger an AoO in the first place remains to be seen, so far I haven't had any and we are level 4. I tend to lurk around the edge of combat (typical rogue stuff) and throw my daggers (free ammo) from spots that give me advantage to activate my sneak attack. Sorry if the post was a little long, but I wanted to be clear and am hoping all the info is presented correctly. Maybe I'm missing something, or interpreting the rules wrong, but as its written I don't believe you can use the psychic blades for an AoO, which is a little disappointing as someone planning to use them as their main weapon.
RAW states:
"You can manifest your psionic power as shimmering blades of psychic energy. Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade. This magic blade is a simple melee weapon with the finesse and thrown properties. It has a normal range of 60 feet and no long range, and on a hit, it deals psychic damage equal to 1d6 plus the ability modifier you used for the attack roll. The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage.
After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it. The damage die of this bonus attack is 1d4, instead of 1d6."
AoO- You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
So:
Whenever you take the Attack action- Meaning that you can only use the psychic blades to attack as an attack action (pretty clear). To me, this seems like an oversight, but I haven't seem anything official on the ruling. So, would an AoO attack count as an attack action to be able to trigger the blades, or since its a reaction and not an action, is it ineligible for any AoO. If that is the RAW, these things seem like oversights and not the RAI, but maybe I'm missing something. Any elaboration or clarification on this would be appreciated.
If a DM, or the official ruling, is to allow the psychic blades to be used in an AoO, it could potentially be busted as written. You could potentially (with sneak attack qualifiers ) sneak attack the enemy on their turn, and still be able to use it on your turn as well (Sneak attack is once per turn not once per round). On top of that, the wording of "After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn" seems to imply the only qualifier for granting you the bonus attack is that you first attack with the main psychic blade. As I read it, that would mean even on attacks of opportunity, since it doesn't specify and attack action like the main use of the blades does and is again, once per turn and not once per round.
reactions typically do not occur on your turn. So you cannot Bonus action if it is not your turn. Bonus actions require it to be specifically your turn AND you only get one BA a around.
Also I’d reread some of the combat rules. Because you are confusing simply attack and the attack action. If something says Action then they mean the one thing you can do on your turn. So OoA do not count as attack actions because they are a reaction.
Ok, so minus the bonus action, you would still be able to sneak attack as long as you have advantage or an ally within 5 feat of them as well, would you not?
The whole crux is that this doesn't occur on your turn, as you only get one sneak attack PER TURN, so you should be able to proc it mutliple times in a round, just only one time per turn. Meaning if you had a way to attack on a turn other than yours, AoO, you could sneak attack as long as you meet the qualifications.
All it says is "Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack" when describing sneak attack, it doesn't specify an attack action the way hitting something with your psychic blades does, so it should be able to be done no issues RAW.
The main issue is, can the psychic blades even be used for an AoO since the RAW states they form when you make the attack action, not just when you attack. The action part being added makes it unclear, because as you said, the reaction is just that, and doesn't occur on your turn, ergo, not an action you take. Action =/= reaction, but that seems like and oversight to me. Again, I'm new so I don't quite understand how everything works when combined with the unclear wording used in some texts.
I reciently made beastmaster hunter using the primal companion the beast of the land shows on the character sheet with ac and hp but its attacks don't show up on the character sheet I don't know if this problem has been addressed yet.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yep. I could make a custom choice to replace the Genasi +2 Constitution, but not the Fire-subrace's +1 Intelligence.
When choosing the Fighting Initiate feat, you cannot actually select a Fighting Style, it does not appear as a drop down menu or anything like that
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/d-d-beyond-general/bugs-support/87774-tashas-cauldron-of-everything-issues-and-support?comment=1
See feats
Please read the very first post of this thread, where that is explained: for the moment the feat is a place holder only while they work on a way to implement the options without breaking the character sheet.
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
Druidic warrior for Ranger allows for the cantrips to be changed as the character levels up. Cantrips do not appear under manage spells and cannot be changed.
thanks
Hello!
Have they said when will the Artificer Battle Smith's Steel Defender be updated to Tasha's?
Thanks!
Is there any update on All-Purpose Tool providing a cantrip? It seems to apply the bonuses but I see no way to select an additional cantrip, nor is that action listed under actions.
Small thing, the Rune Knight Snippet code of the Fire Rune does not provide the Save DC after saying they have to make a STR saving throw like abilities normally do. The Stone rune does do this, so felt like it should be mentioned. The damage of 2d6 is also bolded, by this is not a changeable part of the rune nor does an info bubble pop up when hovered over.
Unsure if I should have put this under this thread or the Character sheet thread since it is a Tasha subclass, but a Character sheet issue technically.
Great work as always guys!
How do I sync my entitlements. I have tried logging out and in. Yes.
You can refer to the How to Sync Entitlements FAQ here.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
Unable to choose a Fighting style when choosing the 'Fighting initiate' feat. trying to make lv1 variant human monk and get unarmed fighting style with fighting initiate but unable to choose a fighting style when selected.
Hi guys. Spotted a very minor issue:
If you make a Circle of Stars Druid and go into Actions > Other, under 'Starry Form: Dragon' in the short summary it says "While in Starry Form, with the Archer constellation selected." I think it's fairly clear that this is a mistake but I did have a player wonder if this meant you could use the Dragon ability while in Archer form (we read through the class and agreed that wasn't correct) and so fixing that could hopefully prevent more confusion for others.
Sorry if I've missed someone else mentioning this issue. I love this site and all the work you guys do. Cheers :)
Is it possible to redeem a key for this book? Or do I need to buy the book on this website to gain it's features.
This was likely already reported, (not even trying to read everyones post here) but the Battlesmith mentions the Alchemist class in it's "Battle Smith Spells" snippet.
There is no redemption code or key that comes with the physical book. If you want the optional,p class and race/origin features, you have to buy the entire book here. If you just want subclasses, s’appelle, etc., you can buy elements piecemeal.
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
The Awakened Spellbook for the Order of Scribes Wizard description in the character sheet is missing the final sentence of the second benefit: "The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend." This makes the ability much more powerful than intended on casual inspection.
So I'm a newer player, my friends and I are playing a homebrew campaign we started about a month ago and I and playing the Soulknife rogue from Tasha's. So far its really fun and I like the flavor the of psychic bolstering and eventually getting homing strikes and a slightly boosted invisibility. However, reading through the subclasses page with a more critical eye got me wondering what the RAI is on the soulknife rogue's psychic blades being used in an attack of opportunity. Basically, would a soulknife's psychic blades even be able to be used to preform an AoO, and if so, how would you rule their bonus attack during the reaction. While very situational as most of the time I'm at range anyway, in the cases it would apply, it kind of seems like it could deal a lot of damage. Again, how often I'll ever get to have an enemy trigger an AoO in the first place remains to be seen, so far I haven't had any and we are level 4. I tend to lurk around the edge of combat (typical rogue stuff) and throw my daggers (free ammo) from spots that give me advantage to activate my sneak attack. Sorry if the post was a little long, but I wanted to be clear and am hoping all the info is presented correctly. Maybe I'm missing something, or interpreting the rules wrong, but as its written I don't believe you can use the psychic blades for an AoO, which is a little disappointing as someone planning to use them as their main weapon.
RAW states:
"You can manifest your psionic power as shimmering blades of psychic energy. Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade. This magic blade is a simple melee weapon with the finesse and thrown properties. It has a normal range of 60 feet and no long range, and on a hit, it deals psychic damage equal to 1d6 plus the ability modifier you used for the attack roll. The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage.
After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it. The damage die of this bonus attack is 1d4, instead of 1d6."
AoO- You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
So:
Whenever you take the Attack action- Meaning that you can only use the psychic blades to attack as an attack action (pretty clear). To me, this seems like an oversight, but I haven't seem anything official on the ruling. So, would an AoO attack count as an attack action to be able to trigger the blades, or since its a reaction and not an action, is it ineligible for any AoO. If that is the RAW, these things seem like oversights and not the RAI, but maybe I'm missing something. Any elaboration or clarification on this would be appreciated.
If a DM, or the official ruling, is to allow the psychic blades to be used in an AoO, it could potentially be busted as written. You could potentially (with sneak attack qualifiers ) sneak attack the enemy on their turn, and still be able to use it on your turn as well (Sneak attack is once per turn not once per round). On top of that, the wording of "After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn" seems to imply the only qualifier for granting you the bonus attack is that you first attack with the main psychic blade. As I read it, that would mean even on attacks of opportunity, since it doesn't specify and attack action like the main use of the blades does and is again, once per turn and not once per round.
Thanks again for any help on the topic,
A young Halfing Soulknife.
All this forgets a lot of basic rules.
reactions typically do not occur on your turn. So you cannot Bonus action if it is not your turn. Bonus actions require it to be specifically your turn AND you only get one BA a around.
Also I’d reread some of the combat rules. Because you are confusing simply attack and the attack action. If something says Action then they mean the one thing you can do on your turn. So OoA do not count as attack actions because they are a reaction.
Ok, so minus the bonus action, you would still be able to sneak attack as long as you have advantage or an ally within 5 feat of them as well, would you not?
The whole crux is that this doesn't occur on your turn, as you only get one sneak attack PER TURN, so you should be able to proc it mutliple times in a round, just only one time per turn. Meaning if you had a way to attack on a turn other than yours, AoO, you could sneak attack as long as you meet the qualifications.
All it says is "Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack" when describing sneak attack, it doesn't specify an attack action the way hitting something with your psychic blades does, so it should be able to be done no issues RAW.
The main issue is, can the psychic blades even be used for an AoO since the RAW states they form when you make the attack action, not just when you attack. The action part being added makes it unclear, because as you said, the reaction is just that, and doesn't occur on your turn, ergo, not an action you take. Action =/= reaction, but that seems like and oversight to me. Again, I'm new so I don't quite understand how everything works when combined with the unclear wording used in some texts.
I reciently made beastmaster hunter using the primal companion the beast of the land shows on the character sheet with ac and hp but its attacks don't show up on the character sheet I don't know if this problem has been addressed yet.