I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
1) The list is fairly small, but each pilot can do one of the following while inside the creature on their turn:
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
2) Technically, it is a construct, so it is a creature, but only when it is piloted. Since it ceases to be a creature when not piloted, and since the pilots can only do the above actions (none of which is "attune to a magic item") I'd rule the creature cannot attune to or really use other magic items
3) anything that grants advantage against the Ghost in the Machine Wisdom Save would be an ideal combo to have while using this item. Other than that, it's pretty powerful in it's own right
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
1) The list is fairly small, but each pilot can do one of the following while inside the creature on their turn:
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
2) Technically, it is a construct, so it is a creature, but only when it is piloted. Since it ceases to be a creature when not piloted, and since the pilots can only do the above actions (none of which is "attune to a magic item") I'd rule the creature cannot attune to or really use other magic items
Redoing this with numbers.
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
Item 3 covers attunement, since it can be any action at all. However, attuning an object to an object is poorly defined, so frankly your house rule banning it from attuning is probably the least insane way out of the problem of what happens if the servant is attuned to a magic item and then has no attuned creatures inside it.
3) anything that grants advantage against the Ghost in the Machine Wisdom Save would be an ideal combo to have while using this item. Other than that, it's pretty powerful in it's own right
Yes, it's way better with an elven crew, or even better, a crew with flat immunity to being charmed. It's also way better if you have a way to escape the self-destruct sequence, like a handy-dandy Genielock.
I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
1) The list is fairly small, but each pilot can do one of the following while inside the creature on their turn:
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
2) Technically, it is a construct, so it is a creature, but only when it is piloted. Since it ceases to be a creature when not piloted, and since the pilots can only do the above actions (none of which is "attune to a magic item") I'd rule the creature cannot attune to or really use other magic items
Redoing this with numbers.
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
Item 3 covers attunement, since it can be any action at all. However, attuning an object to an object is poorly defined, so frankly your house rule banning it from attuning is probably the least insane way out of the problem of what happens if the servant is attuned to a magic item and then has no attuned creatures inside it.
3) anything that grants advantage against the Ghost in the Machine Wisdom Save would be an ideal combo to have while using this item. Other than that, it's pretty powerful in it's own right
Yes, it's way better with an elven crew, or even better, a crew with flat immunity to being charmed. It's also way better if you have a way to escape the self-destruct sequence, like a handy-dandy Genielock.
Heh. If all else fails, blow the mech, disappear, then find the pieces that rain from the sky. The inferno would make short work of the enemy.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
1) The list is fairly small, but each pilot can do one of the following while inside the creature on their turn:
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
2) Technically, it is a construct, so it is a creature, but only when it is piloted. Since it ceases to be a creature when not piloted, and since the pilots can only do the above actions (none of which is "attune to a magic item") I'd rule the creature cannot attune to or really use other magic items
Redoing this with numbers.
Open or close the hatch (no action required, once per turn)
Move the servant up to its speed (no action required)
As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command the servant to make one Destructive Fist attack against that creature.
Item 3 covers attunement, since it can be any action at all. However, attuning an object to an object is poorly defined, so frankly your house rule banning it from attuning is probably the least insane way out of the problem of what happens if the servant is attuned to a magic item and then has no attuned creatures inside it.
Attuning is not an action though. It doesn't require your action, only time. However, i'd argue that since the creature is only a creature while it is controlled, then it is incapable of studying the item in order to attune to it, since it's controller is the one studying. However, if a different DM ruled that it could, the easiest way to adjudicate it would be for the attuned object to cease attunement when the servant ceases to qualify for attunement (ie, when it stops being a creature).
after reviewing the text again I would rule that the creature could use magic items that don't require attunement, since it can use any other action you choose.
3) anything that grants advantage against the Ghost in the Machine Wisdom Save would be an ideal combo to have while using this item. Other than that, it's pretty powerful in it's own right
Yes, it's way better with an elven crew, or even better, a crew with flat immunity to being charmed. It's also way better if you have a way to escape the self-destruct sequence, like a handy-dandy Genielock.
5: does elven accuracy (If you have it) apply to the robot´s attacks?
No. The elf is not making an attack roll and they are not using whatever ability you picked to do so. The pilot's action is to give a command, which is not an attack. A fighter using action surge would be able to give two commands because they have two actions.
Probably not by default. Artifacts are extremely powerful objects, even to the point that an antimagic field wouldn't stop it. Usually the limits of destroying or modifying the artifact are written in the artifacts description (usually the means by which you destroy it).
That said, if a DM wanted, they could probably design an epic quest around banishing the soul. But it would be entirely up to them as to how you might do it and how well such banishment would work.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am really interested by the Mighty Servant of Leuk-o. Does anyone have any thoughts? I have a couple questions.
1: The wording about controlling the robot is a little confusing. Could anyone clarify what it means.
2: Can the robot attune to items? How close to a creature is it?
3: Anything that would combo well with it?
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
1) The list is fairly small, but each pilot can do one of the following while inside the creature on their turn:
2) Technically, it is a construct, so it is a creature, but only when it is piloted. Since it ceases to be a creature when not piloted, and since the pilots can only do the above actions (none of which is "attune to a magic item") I'd rule the creature cannot attune to or really use other magic items
3) anything that grants advantage against the Ghost in the Machine Wisdom Save would be an ideal combo to have while using this item. Other than that, it's pretty powerful in it's own right
Ooh!
4: could you banish the ghost in the machine?
So, fighter for action surge?
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
5: does elven accuracy (If you have it) apply to the robot´s attacks?
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
Redoing this with numbers.
Item 3 covers attunement, since it can be any action at all. However, attuning an object to an object is poorly defined, so frankly your house rule banning it from attuning is probably the least insane way out of the problem of what happens if the servant is attuned to a magic item and then has no attuned creatures inside it.
Yes, it's way better with an elven crew, or even better, a crew with flat immunity to being charmed. It's also way better if you have a way to escape the self-destruct sequence, like a handy-dandy Genielock.
Heh. If all else fails, blow the mech, disappear, then find the pieces that rain from the sky. The inferno would make short work of the enemy.
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
Attuning is not an action though. It doesn't require your action, only time. However, i'd argue that since the creature is only a creature while it is controlled, then it is incapable of studying the item in order to attune to it, since it's controller is the one studying. However, if a different DM ruled that it could, the easiest way to adjudicate it would be for the attuned object to cease attunement when the servant ceases to qualify for attunement (ie, when it stops being a creature).
after reviewing the text again I would rule that the creature could use magic items that don't require attunement, since it can use any other action you choose.
Absolutely.
No. The elf is not making an attack roll and they are not using whatever ability you picked to do so. The pilot's action is to give a command, which is not an attack. A fighter using action surge would be able to give two commands because they have two actions.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Probably not by default. Artifacts are extremely powerful objects, even to the point that an antimagic field wouldn't stop it. Usually the limits of destroying or modifying the artifact are written in the artifacts description (usually the means by which you destroy it).
That said, if a DM wanted, they could probably design an epic quest around banishing the soul. But it would be entirely up to them as to how you might do it and how well such banishment would work.