Since there isn’t a Bloodhunter sub form I guess I post here?
I’m still somewhat of a new player and I’m trying to figure things out still. I’ve noticed in DnDbeyond some of my spells say use and some say cast? What’s the difference? And why do only the cast ones tick off a pact mark?
I have two pacts (spell slots) so I had assumed I can only cast 2 spells per rest, but is it I can only do two spells that say cast and however many that say use?
This is more a question about the DnDBeyond interface than the rules regarding Bloodhunter. Also in order to answer your question more details regarding your character and their build would be helpful.
However in DnDBeyond the button by a spell will say "Cast" when it is a spell you have learned and/or prepared through your classes normal Spellcasting or Pact Magic class feature. This button will instead say "Use" if you gained access to a spell through your race, a feat, a different class feature, etc. When a spell is gained through some other source than Spellcasting or Pact Magic then it will have its own rules governing how often it can be used and what resources it takes.
Given that you have Pact Magic I am going to assume you are an Order of the Profaned Soul Bloodhunter. At 7th level a Profaned Soul Bloodhunter gains the class feature Revealed Arcana and gains a spell determined by the choice they made for their Rite Focus class feature. As an example if you chose The Genie then the spell you gain from Revealed Arcana is Phantasmal Force. Whichever spell you gained you can cast it once using one of your Pact Slots and then you cannot cast this spell again until you complete a Long Rest. This is distinct from your normal spells which you can cast as many times per Long Rest as you want as long as you have spell slots to do so.
Are the "use" spells granted by a racial feature perhaps? They are not "cast" in that they expend spell slots but are "used" in that they have a daily limit,.
Just looking quickly at Profane Soul, unsealed aracana give you a single use of a spell versus most of the rest of your spells which are cast with pact slots. Are those the ones that show that button rather than cast?
Just realized that is a 15th level feature and we're talking about a level 7 character. But is it your revealed arcana spell?
The spells that say USE instead of CAST don't consume spell slots, but you only can cast them once per rest.
This is not strictly speaking true. If you create a Profaned Soul Bloodhunter both of the spells you get from Revealed Arcana and Unsealed Arcana both show up in DnDBeyond with the USE button instead of the CAST button. However, the spell you get from Revealed Arcana consumes a pact slot where as Unsealed Arcana does not. Really all USE vs CAST means is that spells that say CAST were obtained from a Spellcasting/Pact Magic class feature and USE means it was obtained from some other means.
Thank you guys for the help. I was confused why after using two of my spells it was saying I could do two more.
I had used darkness and hellish rebuke and still had two pact slots open, but from what I understand here, I have in fact used up my two slots until a rest.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Since there isn’t a Bloodhunter sub form I guess I post here?
I’m still somewhat of a new player and I’m trying to figure things out still. I’ve noticed in DnDbeyond some of my spells say use and some say cast? What’s the difference? And why do only the cast ones tick off a pact mark?
I have two pacts (spell slots) so I had assumed I can only cast 2 spells per rest, but is it I can only do two spells that say cast and however many that say use?
This is more a question about the DnDBeyond interface than the rules regarding Bloodhunter. Also in order to answer your question more details regarding your character and their build would be helpful.
However in DnDBeyond the button by a spell will say "Cast" when it is a spell you have learned and/or prepared through your classes normal Spellcasting or Pact Magic class feature. This button will instead say "Use" if you gained access to a spell through your race, a feat, a different class feature, etc. When a spell is gained through some other source than Spellcasting or Pact Magic then it will have its own rules governing how often it can be used and what resources it takes.
Given that you have Pact Magic I am going to assume you are an Order of the Profaned Soul Bloodhunter. At 7th level a Profaned Soul Bloodhunter gains the class feature Revealed Arcana and gains a spell determined by the choice they made for their Rite Focus class feature. As an example if you chose The Genie then the spell you gain from Revealed Arcana is Phantasmal Force. Whichever spell you gained you can cast it once using one of your Pact Slots and then you cannot cast this spell again until you complete a Long Rest. This is distinct from your normal spells which you can cast as many times per Long Rest as you want as long as you have spell slots to do so.
Are the "use" spells granted by a racial feature perhaps? They are not "cast" in that they expend spell slots but are "used" in that they have a daily limit,.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
Just looking quickly at Profane Soul, unsealed aracana give you a single use of a spell versus most of the rest of your spells which are cast with pact slots. Are those the ones that show that button rather than cast?Just realized that is a 15th level feature and we're talking about a level 7 character. But is it your revealed arcana spell?
Yes, I chose order of the profaned soul. Darkness, hellish rebuke, and silence say use while Armor of Agathys, shatter, witch bolt, etc say cast.
hellish rebuke and darkness are a racial trait I believe while Silence was from choosing the Undying Patron.
Yup, that is exactly it.
The spells that say USE instead of CAST don't consume spell slots, but you only can cast them once per rest.Edit: this is incorrect, see below post.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
This is not strictly speaking true. If you create a Profaned Soul Bloodhunter both of the spells you get from Revealed Arcana and Unsealed Arcana both show up in DnDBeyond with the USE button instead of the CAST button. However, the spell you get from Revealed Arcana consumes a pact slot where as Unsealed Arcana does not. Really all USE vs CAST means is that spells that say CAST were obtained from a Spellcasting/Pact Magic class feature and USE means it was obtained from some other means.
Interesting, and I'm not sure I like how the sheet displays it, but that's how it is.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
Thank you guys for the help. I was confused why after using two of my spells it was saying I could do two more.
I had used darkness and hellish rebuke and still had two pact slots open, but from what I understand here, I have in fact used up my two slots until a rest.