This should be a simple and quick answer as I just want to make sure on something.
Hat of disguise. Wearing it allows the magic user character to cast disguise self like a cantrip, not requiring to use a spell slot, correct?
If it is correct, the same rules apply in regards to concentration, that the character wearing this hat, must maintain concentration or the disguise disappears. Correct?
The Hat of Disguise does not use a spell slot. The item is capable of casting the spell when you use it.
Disguise self does not require concentration. So using the Hat of Disguise also does not require concentration. It just lasts 1 hour or until you choose to end the spell.
sorry for reviving an old thread, but i thought this better than starting a new one.
I have an idea for a character that will hide their true form, being a monstrous race or something as it is only in the first stages of planning, using a variant of the hat of disguise, making it a ring instead, and only break the spell during battle.
does the hat/ring have a cool down between castings or a limit to casting per day? or am i able to just continue to cast it every 59 minutes lets say, just so there is no break in the disguise, all day long?
Hat of disguise makes no mention of a cooldown period so I would say there is no cooldown period. The hat says you cast the spell and the disguise self spell does have verbal and somatic components, so it's up to your DM on whether that is relevant to the hat's functionality in a given situation.
sorry for reviving an old thread, but i thought this better than starting a new one.
I have an idea for a character that will hide their true form, being a monstrous race or something as it is only in the first stages of planning, using a variant of the hat of disguise, making it a ring instead, and only break the spell during battle.
does the hat/ring have a cool down between castings or a limit to casting per day? or am i able to just continue to cast it every 59 minutes lets say, just so there is no break in the disguise, all day long?
Basically... just RP that you have a tiny bladder. As you constantly go off to disguise yourself.
and when you sleep. Bundle yourself up real nice. And always take first watch. 😉
I think it's pretty clear, it clearly states that...the spell ends when the hat is removed.
RAW, as long as the hat is on, the spell is active!
RAI, I have no idea, but I'd guess based on the fact the hat is an uncommon wonderous item, the the spell lasts until the hat is removed. So, possibly forever!?
I think it's pretty clear, it clearly states that...the spell ends when the hat is removed.
RAW, as long as the hat is on, the spell is active!
RAI, I have no idea, but I'd guess based on the fact the hat is an uncommon wonderous item, the the spell lasts until the hat is removed. So, possibly forever!?
Your reading of RAW is not the reading I have. All I see is that the hat allows you to cast the spell, which ends if the hat is removed. In the absence of information to the contrary, the rules of the spell apply as normal including the spell's duration.
EDIT: You know, you have made me wonder if the phrase "The spell ends if the hat is removed" is meant to mean "The spell doesn't end until the hat is removed" or "the spell ends early if the hat is removed." I still stand by my reading, but I have to admit yours is valid as well.
I think it's pretty clear, it clearly states that...the spell ends when the hat is removed.
RAW, as long as the hat is on, the spell is active!
RAI, I have no idea, but I'd guess based on the fact the hat is an uncommon wonderous item, the the spell lasts until the hat is removed. So, possibly forever!?
Your reading of RAW is not the reading I have. All I see is that the hat allows you to cast the spell, which ends if the hat is removed. In the absence of information to the contrary, the rules of the spell apply as normal including the spell's duration.
EDIT: You know, you have made me wonder if the phrase "The spell ends if the hat is removed" is meant to mean "The spell doesn't end until the hat is removed" or "the spell ends early if the hat is removed." I still stand by my reading, but I have to admit yours is valid as well.
Ahh, but there is the crux of it all!
It is written "The spell ends if the hat is removed".
It is a separate sentence, no mention of "early" or "until". It simply is written "The spell ends if the hat is removed"! Thus...as RAW, the spell doesn't end until the hat is removed!
And again, I'd like to point out that this is an "Uncommon Wonderous" item. So a bit more powerful than the 1st level spell.
I agree, the 1st level spell is clear as to when the spell ends. This item however, isn't as simple as the spell, since creating a 1st level spell magic item is pretty cheap, compared to the cost of creating or purchasing this particular item (which is 900GP to create and 1800GP to purchase) and this is not a common magic item, yet an uncommon wonderous item! So the confines of the spell don't apply to this item.
Simply, as long as you have the hat on, the spell is in effect!
Though, as a DM, you are all free to have the uncommon wonderous item function as a common 1st level magic item, if you please...but as a player, I wouldn't pay that kind of Gold for it! I'd rather murder-hobo the town than pay 1800GP for a 1st level magic item!
It's just adding another way for the spell to end, if not then the spell would be in effect even if you weren't wearing it. Both apply, 1 hour or if the hat is removed, whichever is first. The detail is in the spell, if that spell condition wouldn't apply then it would be something else completely. There is nothing stopping you from casting it again before the hour is up to keep the disguise up indefinitely, but if that hour passes you revert back.
Hat of Disguise, Disguise Self, and unconsciousness -
If the wearer of the Hat of Disguise goes unconscious or dies, but the hat stays on, would the spell end with a lack of consciousness, with death (dead can't be attuned, I would assume), at the end of the hour, or only if the hat is removed?
Hat of Disguise, Disguise Self, and unconsciousness -
If the wearer of the Hat of Disguise goes unconscious or dies, but the hat stays on, would the spell end with a lack of consciousness, with death (dead can't be attuned, I would assume), at the end of the hour, or only if the hat is removed?
If they go unconscious, the spell persists because it does not require Concentration. If they die, the spell effect ends immediately. If the hat falls off while the spell is active, the spell ends early. If the hat stays on the whole time, the spell ends after 1 hour as per usual.
This should be a simple and quick answer as I just want to make sure on something.
Hat of disguise. Wearing it allows the magic user character to cast disguise self like a cantrip, not requiring to use a spell slot, correct?
If it is correct, the same rules apply in regards to concentration, that the character wearing this hat, must maintain concentration or the disguise disappears. Correct?
I do not see where Disguise Self needs Concentration, I believe you may be mixing it up with Alter Self, which does require Concentration.
So; no it would not use a spell slot and, no, it would not disappear until the illusion is dispelled or the spell effect ends.
The Hat of Disguise does not use a spell slot. The item is capable of casting the spell when you use it.
Disguise self does not require concentration. So using the Hat of Disguise also does not require concentration. It just lasts 1 hour or until you choose to end the spell.
Edit: DMThac0 beat me to it!
Sorry. I was mixing it up. Thanks.
sorry for reviving an old thread, but i thought this better than starting a new one.
I have an idea for a character that will hide their true form, being a monstrous race or something as it is only in the first stages of planning, using a variant of the hat of disguise, making it a ring instead, and only break the spell during battle.
does the hat/ring have a cool down between castings or a limit to casting per day? or am i able to just continue to cast it every 59 minutes lets say, just so there is no break in the disguise, all day long?
Hat of disguise makes no mention of a cooldown period so I would say there is no cooldown period. The hat says you cast the spell and the disguise self spell does have verbal and somatic components, so it's up to your DM on whether that is relevant to the hat's functionality in a given situation.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Basically... just RP that you have a tiny bladder. As you constantly go off to disguise yourself.
and when you sleep. Bundle yourself up real nice. And always take first watch. 😉
Blank
I think it's pretty clear, it clearly states that...the spell ends when the hat is removed.
RAW, as long as the hat is on, the spell is active!
RAI, I have no idea, but I'd guess based on the fact the hat is an uncommon wonderous item, the the spell lasts until the hat is removed. So, possibly forever!?
Your reading of RAW is not the reading I have. All I see is that the hat allows you to cast the spell, which ends if the hat is removed. In the absence of information to the contrary, the rules of the spell apply as normal including the spell's duration.
EDIT: You know, you have made me wonder if the phrase "The spell ends if the hat is removed" is meant to mean "The spell doesn't end until the hat is removed" or "the spell ends early if the hat is removed." I still stand by my reading, but I have to admit yours is valid as well.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Ahh, but there is the crux of it all!
It is written "The spell ends if the hat is removed".
It is a separate sentence, no mention of "early" or "until". It simply is written "The spell ends if the hat is removed"! Thus...as RAW, the spell doesn't end until the hat is removed!
And again, I'd like to point out that this is an "Uncommon Wonderous" item. So a bit more powerful than the 1st level spell.
I agree, the 1st level spell is clear as to when the spell ends. This item however, isn't as simple as the spell, since creating a 1st level spell magic item is pretty cheap, compared to the cost of creating or purchasing this particular item (which is 900GP to create and 1800GP to purchase) and this is not a common magic item, yet an uncommon wonderous item! So the confines of the spell don't apply to this item.
Simply, as long as you have the hat on, the spell is in effect!
Though, as a DM, you are all free to have the uncommon wonderous item function as a common 1st level magic item, if you please...but as a player, I wouldn't pay that kind of Gold for it! I'd rather murder-hobo the town than pay 1800GP for a 1st level magic item!
It's just adding another way for the spell to end, if not then the spell would be in effect even if you weren't wearing it. Both apply, 1 hour or if the hat is removed, whichever is first. The detail is in the spell, if that spell condition wouldn't apply then it would be something else completely. There is nothing stopping you from casting it again before the hour is up to keep the disguise up indefinitely, but if that hour passes you revert back.
Hat of Disguise, Disguise Self, and unconsciousness -
If the wearer of the Hat of Disguise goes unconscious or dies, but the hat stays on, would the spell end with a lack of consciousness, with death (dead can't be attuned, I would assume), at the end of the hour, or only if the hat is removed?
If they go unconscious, the spell persists because it does not require Concentration. If they die, the spell effect ends immediately. If the hat falls off while the spell is active, the spell ends early. If the hat stays on the whole time, the spell ends after 1 hour as per usual.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting