I've looked all over and cant seem to find a definitive answer on this. The ruling is that with Split Enchantment when you cast a single target enchantment spell, you can select a second target thanks to this feature. Upcasting single target enchantment spells lets you select additional targets for each spell level above the first.
So, based on this, if an enchantment wizard of 10th level or higher was to cast hold person "Choose a humanoid that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be paralyzed for the duration. At the end of each of its turns, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. On a success, the spell ends on the target. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can target one additional humanoid for each slot level above 2nd. The humanoids must be within 30 feet of each other when you target them." Would the Split Enchantment trigger first giving you two targets, than an additional target per spell level of the upcast?
I.E. An enchantment wizard at level 10 uses a 5th level hold person, would they target 4 or 5 people with the spell?
Starting at 10th level, when you cast an enchantment spell of 1st level or higher that targets only one creature, you can have it target a second creature.
1) Split enchantment triggers "when you cast." So, you've already selected which level of spell slot you have used to cast it, which will answer whether it targets one creature or multiple.
2) Split enchantment only works on spells "that target only one creature." It will work on a level 1 Charm Person, but not on higher level one (unless you're casting it with a higher level slot but only targeting one creature, probably due to scarce spell slot resources, or in an attempt to defeat a Counterspell)
Split Enchantment ONLY applies when the spell targets a single creature. An upcast Hold Person is not a single target spell, and thus would not qualify for Split Enchantment. It would target 4 creatures at 5th level.
More than one target: Split Enchantment ineligible
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I've looked all over and cant seem to find a definitive answer on this. The ruling is that with Split Enchantment when you cast a single target enchantment spell, you can select a second target thanks to this feature. Upcasting single target enchantment spells lets you select additional targets for each spell level above the first.
So, based on this, if an enchantment wizard of 10th level or higher was to cast hold person "Choose a humanoid that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be paralyzed for the duration. At the end of each of its turns, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. On a success, the spell ends on the target. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can target one additional humanoid for each slot level above 2nd. The humanoids must be within 30 feet of each other when you target them." Would the Split Enchantment trigger first giving you two targets, than an additional target per spell level of the upcast?
I.E. An enchantment wizard at level 10 uses a 5th level hold person, would they target 4 or 5 people with the spell?
If you upcast the spell and it targets more than one creature, I would say that split enchantment no longer applies.
1) Split enchantment triggers "when you cast." So, you've already selected which level of spell slot you have used to cast it, which will answer whether it targets one creature or multiple.
2) Split enchantment only works on spells "that target only one creature." It will work on a level 1 Charm Person, but not on higher level one (unless you're casting it with a higher level slot but only targeting one creature, probably due to scarce spell slot resources, or in an attempt to defeat a Counterspell)
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Split Enchantment ONLY applies when the spell targets a single creature. An upcast Hold Person is not a single target spell, and thus would not qualify for Split Enchantment. It would target 4 creatures at 5th level.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
One target: Split Enchantment eligible
More than one target: Split Enchantment ineligible
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.