Questions about the Magic Item the Seeker Dart. Ok, first, there is a DC save and the line "Proficiency with a dart allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.".
At first glance, I would think this means that you roll to hit and the dart would do 1d4 damage on a hit and then make the DC save to take/avoid the effects listed; although I could also see the dart being "mostly useless" if the DC save is made. My confusion comes from 2 places - first in the comments for the Seeker Dart someone said there is no attack roll, which contradicts the proficiency statement. Second, an item like the Corpse Slayer, Dart is VERY clear about exactly how it works.
TBH, if the dart has to both "hit" and "have the target fail the DC save", I'm not sure it is very useful as even poison application would be mostly useless as only contact poisons would be useful on a hit if the DC save prevents all damage, which is required for a injury based poison (which is most of them).
So, I'm pretty sure there is a to hit roll despite the comment on the item's page. The only question is if the dart deals the 1d4 damage on a hit then the DC save happens for the other effects OR if only on a hit does the DC check happen, and only on a failed DC check is there any damage. It seems unusual to have both a to hit and DC save (and need both to do anything IMO) but I would love constructive feedback and anyone who could point to other examples or rules that I might be missing. It just seems odd and no matter the answer, I believe the rules text could be a lot clearer with even one extra sentence.
I think it means that if you choose to use it as a dart, but without the magical seeking properties, then you can do so. You just make a normal attack roll, and it does its normal dart damage, and then you pick it up after the fight and do it again. But if you do the seeking thing, then its an auto hit, with a save vs the damage.
Or that after you use it magically the one time, its a normal dart that you use with a normal attack roll.
On DDB, every Magic dart will always say “Proficiency with a dart allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.” But that is not actually part of the Magic item’s real description. If that line is the source of your confusion, pretend it doesn’t exist at all (because in reality it doesn’t), and see if it makes more sense.
First, I would like to point out: seeker dart is a dart, and as a dart you can make an attack roll with it as a normal dart and would apply proficiency to the attack roll if you have it. That is what that line refers to.
The magic effect of seeker dart doesn't mention having to make an attack roll at any point, so you don't. It is that simple.
DDB just automatically puts weapon rules on all magic weapons as a reminder. But these rules don't change the magic effect in any way. These rules are always in play whether the magic item has them in the source or not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Questions about the Magic Item the Seeker Dart. Ok, first, there is a DC save and the line "Proficiency with a dart allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.".
At first glance, I would think this means that you roll to hit and the dart would do 1d4 damage on a hit and then make the DC save to take/avoid the effects listed; although I could also see the dart being "mostly useless" if the DC save is made. My confusion comes from 2 places - first in the comments for the Seeker Dart someone said there is no attack roll, which contradicts the proficiency statement. Second, an item like the Corpse Slayer, Dart is VERY clear about exactly how it works.
TBH, if the dart has to both "hit" and "have the target fail the DC save", I'm not sure it is very useful as even poison application would be mostly useless as only contact poisons would be useful on a hit if the DC save prevents all damage, which is required for a injury based poison (which is most of them).
So, I'm pretty sure there is a to hit roll despite the comment on the item's page. The only question is if the dart deals the 1d4 damage on a hit then the DC save happens for the other effects OR if only on a hit does the DC check happen, and only on a failed DC check is there any damage. It seems unusual to have both a to hit and DC save (and need both to do anything IMO) but I would love constructive feedback and anyone who could point to other examples or rules that I might be missing. It just seems odd and no matter the answer, I believe the rules text could be a lot clearer with even one extra sentence.
Thanks.
It extends the range of a dart.20/60 . D4 damage then the DC for the save and damage.
No Gaming is Better than Bad Gaming.
I think it means that if you choose to use it as a dart, but without the magical seeking properties, then you can do so. You just make a normal attack roll, and it does its normal dart damage, and then you pick it up after the fight and do it again. But if you do the seeking thing, then its an auto hit, with a save vs the damage.
Or that after you use it magically the one time, its a normal dart that you use with a normal attack roll.
On DDB, every Magic dart will always say “Proficiency with a dart allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.” But that is not actually part of the Magic item’s real description. If that line is the source of your confusion, pretend it doesn’t exist at all (because in reality it doesn’t), and see if it makes more sense.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
First, I would like to point out: seeker dart is a dart, and as a dart you can make an attack roll with it as a normal dart and would apply proficiency to the attack roll if you have it. That is what that line refers to.
The magic effect of seeker dart doesn't mention having to make an attack roll at any point, so you don't. It is that simple.
DDB just automatically puts weapon rules on all magic weapons as a reminder. But these rules don't change the magic effect in any way. These rules are always in play whether the magic item has them in the source or not.