Im currently playing a domain of the forge cleric and have been using searing smite on the party’s fighter he is using echo knight subclass and we can decide if the smite would carry across to an attack from the echo or not. Can anyone help
Searing Smite is a self only spell, it can't be cast on another character.
Furthermore, the Echo itself is an object, not a character, and as far as I'm aware objects don't have the ability to cast spells.
If I were the original poster's DM I'd rule that the Echo can do this for the reasons pocketmouse says, but as far as I can tell this is not RAW. Talk to your DM to be sure, neither ourselves nor Jeremy Crawford has authority over the DM of your table.
Zero is the most important number in D&D: Session Zero sets the boundaries and the tone; Rule Zero dictates the Dungeon Master (DM) is the final arbiter; and Zero D&D is better than Bad D&D.
"Let us speak plainly now, and in earnest, for words mean little without the weight of conviction."
Typical way to negate the "Self" limitation is a ring of spell storing. If you cast a Searing Smite via a Ring of Spell Storing, while being an Echo Knight with an Echo, you can choose to have it originate your attack, which would include the searing smite effect.
It's still the fighter making the attack, you can just choose to have the attack come from the location of the echo.
This is the correct answer. Mechanically, the echo is just a space you can make attacks from. The range of your melee attacks includes the spaces around the echo. The echo is a spatial placeholder for your actions, it doesn't do anything itself.
But yes, OP is also using Searing Smite incorrectly or in a homebrewed manner. A cleric cannot cast it on their fighter ally. I don't think it breaks things if you want to play it that way though.
Im currently playing a domain of the forge cleric and have been using searing smite on the party’s fighter he is using echo knight subclass and we can decide if the smite would carry across to an attack from the echo or not. Can anyone help
It's still the fighter making the attack, you can just choose to have the attack come from the location of the echo.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Searing Smite is a self only spell, it can't be cast on another character.
Furthermore, the Echo itself is an object, not a character, and as far as I'm aware objects don't have the ability to cast spells.
If I were the original poster's DM I'd rule that the Echo can do this for the reasons pocketmouse says, but as far as I can tell this is not RAW. Talk to your DM to be sure, neither ourselves nor Jeremy Crawford has authority over the DM of your table.
Zero is the most important number in D&D: Session Zero sets the boundaries and the tone; Rule Zero dictates the Dungeon Master (DM) is the final arbiter; and Zero D&D is better than Bad D&D.
"Let us speak plainly now, and in earnest, for words mean little without the weight of conviction."
- The Assemblage of Houses, World of Warcraft
Typical way to negate the "Self" limitation is a ring of spell storing. If you cast a Searing Smite via a Ring of Spell Storing, while being an Echo Knight with an Echo, you can choose to have it originate your attack, which would include the searing smite effect.
So the desired result is possible.
This is the correct answer. Mechanically, the echo is just a space you can make attacks from. The range of your melee attacks includes the spaces around the echo. The echo is a spatial placeholder for your actions, it doesn't do anything itself.
But yes, OP is also using Searing Smite incorrectly or in a homebrewed manner. A cleric cannot cast it on their fighter ally. I don't think it breaks things if you want to play it that way though.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm