So I'm doing a necromancer wizard and a grave domain cleric. Now I know I can use armor and cast spells but am I able to use a shield and an arcane focus and cast spells without having war caster as a feat. I've seen multiple things saying it's fine because it's not a melee weapon. I just want to hear some feed back.
That's incorrect for clerics. A cleric can put their holy symbol on a shield, so then it can function as a spellcasting focus. Somatic components can be done with the hand that is holding your spellcasting focus, so you can do spells with somatic components and material components (not consumed or priced ones at least) with the same hand your shield is in.
Wizards can't do this, though. Only clerics.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
That's incorrect for clerics. A cleric can put their holy symbol on a shield, so then it can function as a spellcasting focus. Somatic components can be done with the hand that is holding your spellcasting focus, so you can do spells with somatic components and material components (not consumed or priced ones at least) with the same hand your shield is in.
Wizards can't do this, though. Only clerics.
Important to note though, the foci a cleric can use cannot be used for wizard spells and an arcane foci cannot be used for cleric spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I don't know if I am misunderstanding your question, but I'll add my spin just in case.
You can use a shield and cast spells without the warcaster feat as long as you have at least one free hand (as per the somatic components section of the rules) or, if the spell require material components or s&m if you are holding an arcane focus (material components rules).
Just use a Staff as a wizard focus which doubles as a quarterstaff and a shield with the an engraved/painted holy symbol and you are good to go..... 😜
Important line is in the DMG adding to the Staff description:
"Unless a staff’s description says otherwise, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff."
This will not work for spells that have Somatic components, but not Material components. You would have to keep dropping the staff and picking it back up.
That's incorrect for clerics. A cleric can put their holy symbol on a shield, so then it can function as a spellcasting focus. Somatic components can be done with the hand that is holding your spellcasting focus, so you can do spells with somatic components and material components (not consumed or priced ones at least) with the same hand your shield is in.
Wizards can't do this, though. Only clerics.
The quotation of the feat text is entirely correct and it applies to all casters, Clerical spell foci removes the material component not the somatic one which the war caster feat is for.
The quotation of the feat text is entirely correct and it applies to all casters, Clerical spell foci removes the material component not the somatic one
The foci can remove the need for a somatic component if the spell also has a material component. A foci can replace material, or material + somatic, but not just somatic
The quotation of the feat text is entirely correct and it applies to all casters, Clerical spell foci removes the material component not the somatic one
The foci can remove the need for a somatic component if the spell also has a material component. A foci can replace material, or material + somatic, but not just somatic
Source? I can't seem to validate this in the PHB under equipment foci or chapter 10 as neither the somatic or material entry mentions what you just said that I can see.
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
That’s not quite true. If the spell has a Somatic component but does not have a Material component, then a free hand is still required RAW, no matter the class.
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
That’s not quite true. If the spell has a Somatic component but does not have a Material component, then a free hand is still required RAW, no matter the class.
Somatic components can be done while the hand is holding your spellcasting focus.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
That’s not quite true. If the spell has a Somatic component but does not have a Material component, then a free hand is still required RAW, no matter the class.
Somatic components can be done while the hand is holding your spellcasting focus.
Only while casting a spell that requires Material components. If the spell doesn’t require Material components, the caster is still required to have a free hand RAW.
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
That’s not quite true. If the spell has a Somatic component but does not have a Material component, then a free hand is still required RAW, no matter the class.
Somatic components can be done while the hand is holding your spellcasting focus.
Only while casting a spell that requires Material components. If the spell doesn’t require Material components, the caster is still required to have a free hand RAW.
EDIT—>Unless you have the Warcaster feat.
Huh, I'd never noticed that. That's weird.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
I agree. I houserule that the hand holding the Focus can be used for somatic components as well, but let’s be clear, that’s a houserule, not RAW.
I will always allow a wand to do somatic components if the spellcaster wants to hold something else in the other hand, but I guess that's not how RAW is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Just use a Staff as a wizard focus which doubles as a quarterstaff and a shield with the an engraved/painted holy symbol and you are good to go..... 😜
Important line is in the DMG adding to the Staff description:
"Unless a staff’s description says otherwise, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff."
This will not work for spells that have Somatic components, but not Material components. You would have to keep dropping the staff and picking it back up.
That's true. We ignore that, as you can as an alternative just wear an arcane focus on a chain around your neck and only grab that for s,m spells. It really depends on your build if it's more of an exploit or just flavor of course. 😊
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I'm doing a necromancer wizard and a grave domain cleric. Now I know I can use armor and cast spells but am I able to use a shield and an arcane focus and cast spells without having war caster as a feat. I've seen multiple things saying it's fine because it's not a melee weapon. I just want to hear some feed back.
The War Caster feat relates to weapons AND a shield , no feat no somatic components possible with a shield equipped.
That's incorrect for clerics. A cleric can put their holy symbol on a shield, so then it can function as a spellcasting focus. Somatic components can be done with the hand that is holding your spellcasting focus, so you can do spells with somatic components and material components (not consumed or priced ones at least) with the same hand your shield is in.
Wizards can't do this, though. Only clerics.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Ok yeah this is what I figured. Thanks
Important to note though, the foci a cleric can use cannot be used for wizard spells and an arcane foci cannot be used for cleric spells.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I don't know if I am misunderstanding your question, but I'll add my spin just in case.
You can use a shield and cast spells without the warcaster feat as long as you have at least one free hand (as per the somatic components section of the rules) or, if the spell require material components or s&m if you are holding an arcane focus (material components rules).
L
Yes that is what I was asking. Yeah I thought I was right about this I just wanted to confirm it.
Just use a Staff as a wizard focus which doubles as a quarterstaff and a shield with the an engraved/painted holy symbol and you are good to go..... 😜
Important line is in the DMG adding to the Staff description:
"Unless a staff’s description says otherwise, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff."
This will not work for spells that have Somatic components, but not Material components. You would have to keep dropping the staff and picking it back up.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The quotation of the feat text is entirely correct and it applies to all casters, Clerical spell foci removes the material component not the somatic one which the war caster feat is for.
The foci can remove the need for a somatic component if the spell also has a material component. A foci can replace material, or material + somatic, but not just somatic
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Source? I can't seem to validate this in the PHB under equipment foci or chapter 10 as neither the somatic or material entry mentions what you just said that I can see.
You don't need an empty hand as a Cleric, unless the spell requires material components with a cost or ones that are consumed. HOWEVER! You have to have a shield in one hand. The other hand can be filled with whatever you want. You can have a Longsword and a Shield, and cast Flame Strike, but you wouldn't be able to cast Revivify.
Whether or not your DM allows the Quarterstaff to work as a magic staff is determined at your table, but I would allow it. I believe Sage Advice has said that a staff can be a quarterstaff, so you could have a quarterstaff in one or two hands and cast spells with material components that aren't priced and aren't consumed, and perform Somatic Components, but as soon you want to cast a spell that has a material component that is consumed or has a price, you must have a free hand to access it.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
That’s not quite true. If the spell has a Somatic component but does not have a Material component, then a free hand is still required RAW, no matter the class.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Somatic components can be done while the hand is holding your spellcasting focus.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Only while casting a spell that requires Material components. If the spell doesn’t require Material components, the caster is still required to have a free hand RAW.
EDIT—>Unless you have the Warcaster feat.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Huh, I'd never noticed that. That's weird.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
I agree. I houserule that the hand holding the Focus can be used for somatic components as well, but let’s be clear, that’s a houserule, not RAW.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I will always allow a wand to do somatic components if the spellcaster wants to hold something else in the other hand, but I guess that's not how RAW is.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
That's true. We ignore that, as you can as an alternative just wear an arcane focus on a chain around your neck and only grab that for s,m spells. It really depends on your build if it's more of an exploit or just flavor of course. 😊