one of my players has a gnome wizard that's just levelled up to level 2. He chose the school of illusion.
He had his three cantrips + minor illusion because of his race. With school of Illusion he gets the improved minor illusion. Because he already has minor illusion, the rules state that he may choose another cantrip. DnD Beyond doesn't let him choose one.
So now I'm wondering if this rule doesn't apply to him because he gets the first one as a trait and not because he's a wizard. It would mean he just upgraded his illusions, and didn't learn anything new. I'm also feeling 5 cantrips at level 2 would be a little overpowerd.
It seems like an error from D&D Beyond as Improved Minor Illusion let you learn a different wizard cantrip of your choice if you already know Minor Illusion, this regardless of the origin.
Yeah that should be editable easily enough from the character sheet. Just pick a different cantrip and the feature should provide minor illusion for you.
DDB isn't currently able to support "if your character already has [blank] do [blank]" features. Luckily there arent many. Always double check the rules if DDB doesn't let you do something (because it follows most rules), but DDB does not supersede rules. DDB does not always prevent you from breaking the rules and very rarely might prevent you from following them (as in this case).
5 cantrips at level 2 isn't bad. Sorcerers get 4 at level 1 by default and getting 1 or 2 from race isn't uncommon. I once made a character that had 10 cantrips at level 4. The variety is convenient, but it is not more powerful than it should be.
Hey,
one of my players has a gnome wizard that's just levelled up to level 2. He chose the school of illusion.
He had his three cantrips + minor illusion because of his race. With school of Illusion he gets the improved minor illusion. Because he already has minor illusion, the rules state that he may choose another cantrip. DnD Beyond doesn't let him choose one.
So now I'm wondering if this rule doesn't apply to him because he gets the first one as a trait and not because he's a wizard. It would mean he just upgraded his illusions, and didn't learn anything new.
I'm also feeling 5 cantrips at level 2 would be a little overpowerd.
What are your thought about this?
It seems like an error from D&D Beyond as Improved Minor Illusion let you learn a different wizard cantrip of your choice if you already know Minor Illusion, this regardless of the origin.
Yeah that should be editable easily enough from the character sheet. Just pick a different cantrip and the feature should provide minor illusion for you.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/d-d-beyond-general/bugs-support/34142-minor-illusion-bug-when-picking-illusion-school
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Thanks. This was really helpful.
DDB isn't currently able to support "if your character already has [blank] do [blank]" features. Luckily there arent many. Always double check the rules if DDB doesn't let you do something (because it follows most rules), but DDB does not supersede rules. DDB does not always prevent you from breaking the rules and very rarely might prevent you from following them (as in this case).
5 cantrips at level 2 isn't bad. Sorcerers get 4 at level 1 by default and getting 1 or 2 from race isn't uncommon. I once made a character that had 10 cantrips at level 4. The variety is convenient, but it is not more powerful than it should be.
Yeah having more cantrip doesn't make you so much more powerful than more polyvalent, since each one of those can be known.