I don't know if it's a bug or a misinterpretation of the rules, but here's the situation;
A character in my campaign is a lvl 5 sorcerer (wild) and lvl 1 bard. She now goes up to another lvl of Bard. According to the Spellcasting feature of the bard:
The Spells Known column of the Bard table shows when you learn more bard spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the table. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.
So if I'm correct, a multiclass sorcerer/bard should be able to get a 4th level spell, according to the multiclass spell slot table. So they should be able to choose a 3rd or even 4th level spell when they go up to 2nd level bard right? Am I missing something or is it a bug?
Conveniently, you posted the link to the answer so I didn't have to look it up:
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
Level 1 bards do not have 3rd level slots, so bard 1/sorc 5 can't have level 3 bard spells.
If a cleric, druid, wizard multiclass could learn and prepare any spell of any level from all 3 classes, why would anyone not do that?
Conveniently, you posted the link to the answer so I didn't have to look it up:
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
Level 1 bards do not have 3rd level slots, so bard 1/sorc 5 can't have level 3 bard spells.
If a cleric, druid, wizard multiclass could learn and prepare any spell of any level from all 3 classes, why would anyone not do that?
I see, I've read past that part a couple of times and thought it would work that way. But I doubted about the "general vs specific" of multiclassing vs bard.
But yeah, it makes sense that it works the way you describe it. So basically only a wizard/full caster multiclass would have access to lvl 9 wizard spells with use of a spell book?
thanks for the replies, I find it confusing how that works, since the text in the classes simply refer to "spell slots" and not to "Wizard spell slots" or something.
I guess i'll have to read the multiclass text again so I better understand it :) thanks all
thanks for the replies, I find it confusing how that works, since the text in the classes simply refer to "spell slots" and not to "Wizard spell slots" or something.
I guess i'll have to read the multiclass text again so I better understand it :) thanks all
Funny enough, it actually used to, but that caused confusion because multiclassed spell slots aren't class slots so the errata'd it.
It comes down to what I said in my first comment. If you couldn't learn a spell without multiclassing, you can't learn it multiclassed.
thanks for the replies, I find it confusing how that works, since the text in the classes simply refer to "spell slots" and not to "Wizard spell slots" or something.
I guess i'll have to read the multiclass text again so I better understand it :) thanks all
Important to note that "spells known/prepared", and "spell slots" are separate. You use your spell slots to cast spells, and those are pooled between your classes with the Spellcasting feature, imagine these as representing the scope of your arcane power and not knowledge. The spells you can learn or prepare is the esoteric knowledge your class has -- so that is determined by your level in an individual class :)
Hey guys,
I don't know if it's a bug or a misinterpretation of the rules, but here's the situation;
A character in my campaign is a lvl 5 sorcerer (wild) and lvl 1 bard. She now goes up to another lvl of Bard. According to the Spellcasting feature of the bard:
So if I'm correct, a multiclass sorcerer/bard should be able to get a 4th level spell, according to the multiclass spell slot table. So they should be able to choose a 3rd or even 4th level spell when they go up to 2nd level bard right? Am I missing something or is it a bug?
Thanks in advance
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Conveniently, you posted the link to the answer so I didn't have to look it up:
Level 1 bards do not have 3rd level slots, so bard 1/sorc 5 can't have level 3 bard spells.
If a cleric, druid, wizard multiclass could learn and prepare any spell of any level from all 3 classes, why would anyone not do that?
I see, I've read past that part a couple of times and thought it would work that way. But I doubted about the "general vs specific" of multiclassing vs bard.
But yeah, it makes sense that it works the way you describe it. So basically only a wizard/full caster multiclass would have access to lvl 9 wizard spells with use of a spell book?
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
If you are a level 17 Wizard, you can learn level 9 wizard spells.
The higher level spell slots are most often only usable when higher level casting a lower level spell.
To learn a spell, your single class level must be high enough that you have access to that level of spell
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
thanks for the replies, I find it confusing how that works, since the text in the classes simply refer to "spell slots" and not to "Wizard spell slots" or something.
I guess i'll have to read the multiclass text again so I better understand it :) thanks all
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Funny enough, it actually used to, but that caused confusion because multiclassed spell slots aren't class slots so the errata'd it.
It comes down to what I said in my first comment. If you couldn't learn a spell without multiclassing, you can't learn it multiclassed.
Important to note that "spells known/prepared", and "spell slots" are separate. You use your spell slots to cast spells, and those are pooled between your classes with the Spellcasting feature, imagine these as representing the scope of your arcane power and not knowledge. The spells you can learn or prepare is the esoteric knowledge your class has -- so that is determined by your level in an individual class :)