As a paladin can I cast reaction spells like shield or counter spell that have somatic but not material requirements while I'm holding both a shield and a weapons?
Assuming you are talking about a paladin/sorcerer or something that would have access to those spells, no. Unless you take warcaster you need a free hand.
The paladin spell list doesn't have any spells with a casting time of 1 Reaction. You would have to multiclass or take a feat, such as Magic Initiate (Sorcerer), to learn two cantrips and a 1st-level spell, such as absorb elements or shield. Just note that you would only be able to cast such a spell once per long rest. You cannot expend spell slots to cast it again.
But to answer the meat of your question, no. If a spell has a somatic (S) component, but no material (M) component, you must have a free hand to cast the spell. Casting such spells with a weapon in-hand and shield on-arm is impossible. Unless, of course, you have the War Caster feat. And there are six such 1st-level spells available to paladins; just to give you something to start with.
I believe that in this case, they are talking about the oath of the watchers and oath of redemption paladins that get counterspell prepared automatically.
Like has been said, you need the warcaster feat to do that or do the whole drop your weapon then pick it up again ordeal. But yeah otherwise you need a free hand to do it.
Thanks. That's what I thought. Guess I'll have to change my spell list around some.
It was a Paladin/Warlock btw.
The class doesn't matter. Even as with, I assume, a Hexblade patron, you still have the same limitations. If you have a weapon and shield equipped, you cannot cast spells with a somatic (S) component and no material (M) component without dropping or sheathing your weapon. You need a free hand. War Caster is the specific exception to that rule, but it's also a feat.
Yep, meaning that having reactions spells wouldn't be practical without War Caster since you wouldn't be able to drop your weapon as part of your reaction.
It's not a problem if you're only wielding one weapon. You don't need two hands to carry it, just to attack with it. A paladin or warlock who rests their great weapon on their shoulder when not attacking has a free hand for reactions. And if you need a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, an amulet works just fine.
You wanna do it? Here's how! First, make sure you have proficiency in Arcana, then follow the rules found in Xanathar's for making your own scrolls. Making a whole bunch of 1st lvl scrolls that are nothin but shield is a real cool way to make the most out of your spell casting. Best part? Using a scroll like shield can be done as part of a reaction, and don't require ANY components including somatic, so no worries about being loaded up with a sword and shield.
or you can buy the scrolls. Either way's fine! Imagine all the 1st lvl slots you get to free up with scroll abuse!
You wanna do it? Here's how! First, make sure you have proficiency in Arcana, then follow the rules found in Xanathar's for making your own scrolls. Making a whole bunch of 1st lvl scrolls that are nothin but shield is a real cool way to make the most out of your spell casting. Best part? Using a scroll like shield can be done as part of a reaction, and don't require ANY components including somatic, so no worries about being loaded up with a sword and shield.
or you can buy the scrolls. Either way's fine! Imagine all the 1st lvl slots you get to free up with scroll abuse!
No, that doesn't work. Activating a spell scroll only removes the need for material components. You still need to meet the other components. And you need to be able to handle and manipulate the scroll; since it requires reading.
I don't know where you got that idea from, but it's no good.
You could also talk with your DM about it. The rules about material + somatic versus somatic alone are unintuitive and borderline arbitrary. I mean you literally have a shield strapped to your arm but you can't use it to make the somatic gesture for Shield?
You wanna do it? Here's how! First, make sure you have proficiency in Arcana, then follow the rules found in Xanathar's for making your own scrolls. Making a whole bunch of 1st lvl scrolls that are nothin but shield is a real cool way to make the most out of your spell casting. Best part? Using a scroll like shield can be done as part of a reaction, and don't require ANY components including somatic, so no worries about being loaded up with a sword and shield.
or you can buy the scrolls. Either way's fine! Imagine all the 1st lvl slots you get to free up with scroll abuse!
No, that doesn't work. Activating a spell scroll only removes the need for material components. You still need to meet the other components. And you need to be able to handle and manipulate the scroll; since it requires reading.
I don't know where you got that idea from, but it's no good.
As written, it doesn't say you're required to bring verbal or somatic either, soooooo
You wanna do it? Here's how! First, make sure you have proficiency in Arcana, then follow the rules found in Xanathar's for making your own scrolls. Making a whole bunch of 1st lvl scrolls that are nothin but shield is a real cool way to make the most out of your spell casting. Best part? Using a scroll like shield can be done as part of a reaction, and don't require ANY components including somatic, so no worries about being loaded up with a sword and shield.
or you can buy the scrolls. Either way's fine! Imagine all the 1st lvl slots you get to free up with scroll abuse!
No, that doesn't work. Activating a spell scroll only removes the need for material components. You still need to meet the other components. And you need to be able to handle and manipulate the scroll; since it requires reading.
I don't know where you got that idea from, but it's no good.
As written, it doesn't say you're required to bring verbal or somatic either, soooooo
It doesn’t need to say anything. The general rule is, when you cast a spell, you must provide any V, S or M as stated by the spell requirements. The specific rule for scrolls says you don’t need the material components. Since it doesn’t say anything about V or S components, it changes nothing about those components. Therefore the general rules apply and you need to provide any V or S components the spell would normally require.
And you still would need a free hand to hold the scroll.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As a paladin can I cast reaction spells like shield or counter spell that have somatic but not material requirements while I'm holding both a shield and a weapons?
Do paladins have any reaction spells?
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
Assuming you are talking about a paladin/sorcerer or something that would have access to those spells, no. Unless you take warcaster you need a free hand.
The paladin spell list doesn't have any spells with a casting time of 1 Reaction. You would have to multiclass or take a feat, such as Magic Initiate (Sorcerer), to learn two cantrips and a 1st-level spell, such as absorb elements or shield. Just note that you would only be able to cast such a spell once per long rest. You cannot expend spell slots to cast it again.
But to answer the meat of your question, no. If a spell has a somatic (S) component, but no material (M) component, you must have a free hand to cast the spell. Casting such spells with a weapon in-hand and shield on-arm is impossible. Unless, of course, you have the War Caster feat. And there are six such 1st-level spells available to paladins; just to give you something to start with.
I believe that in this case, they are talking about the oath of the watchers and oath of redemption paladins that get counterspell prepared automatically.
Like has been said, you need the warcaster feat to do that or do the whole drop your weapon then pick it up again ordeal. But yeah otherwise you need a free hand to do it.
Thanks. That's what I thought. Guess I'll have to change my spell list around some.
It was a Paladin/Warlock btw.
The class doesn't matter. Even as with, I assume, a Hexblade patron, you still have the same limitations. If you have a weapon and shield equipped, you cannot cast spells with a somatic (S) component and no material (M) component without dropping or sheathing your weapon. You need a free hand. War Caster is the specific exception to that rule, but it's also a feat.
Yep, meaning that having reactions spells wouldn't be practical without War Caster since you wouldn't be able to drop your weapon as part of your reaction.
It's not a problem if you're only wielding one weapon. You don't need two hands to carry it, just to attack with it. A paladin or warlock who rests their great weapon on their shoulder when not attacking has a free hand for reactions. And if you need a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, an amulet works just fine.
Yeah but my plan is a shield and one handed weapon. I'd rather have the extra AC and the shield evasion granted by Shield Master than reaction spells.
You wanna do it? Here's how! First, make sure you have proficiency in Arcana, then follow the rules found in Xanathar's for making your own scrolls. Making a whole bunch of 1st lvl scrolls that are nothin but shield is a real cool way to make the most out of your spell casting. Best part? Using a scroll like shield can be done as part of a reaction, and don't require ANY components including somatic, so no worries about being loaded up with a sword and shield.
or you can buy the scrolls. Either way's fine! Imagine all the 1st lvl slots you get to free up with scroll abuse!
Good idea.
No, that doesn't work. Activating a spell scroll only removes the need for material components. You still need to meet the other components. And you need to be able to handle and manipulate the scroll; since it requires reading.
I don't know where you got that idea from, but it's no good.
Agree with Jounichi. At the very least you’d need a hand to hold the scroll. You can’t read something stuffed in your pack.
You could also talk with your DM about it. The rules about material + somatic versus somatic alone are unintuitive and borderline arbitrary. I mean you literally have a shield strapped to your arm but you can't use it to make the somatic gesture for Shield?
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
As written, it doesn't say you're required to bring verbal or somatic either, soooooo
It doesn’t need to say anything. The general rule is, when you cast a spell, you must provide any V, S or M as stated by the spell requirements. The specific rule for scrolls says you don’t need the material components. Since it doesn’t say anything about V or S components, it changes nothing about those components. Therefore the general rules apply and you need to provide any V or S components the spell would normally require.
And you still would need a free hand to hold the scroll.