Yes, you would (or to actually have the component on hand). Take for example the Mark of Finding
Nature’s Voice. When you reach 3rd level you gain the ability to cast locate animals or plants, but only as a ritual.
Locate animals or plants has a material component: * - (a bit of fur from a bloodhound)
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
You cannot use an Arcane Focus unless you have a Spellcasting feature that allows you to use it. Since Aberrant Dragonmark takes spells from the Sorcerer spell list, you would need the Sorcerer Spellcasting feature to use an Arcane Focus for these Sorcerer spells.
You can, however, use a Component Pouch or the described Material component.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
With Dragonmarks do you still need an arcane focus or other item?
I'm planning on taking the Aberrant Dragonmark feat and just for clerical reasons want to make sure the mark is all I need to cast the magic.
Yes, you would (or to actually have the component on hand). Take for example the Mark of Finding
Nature’s Voice. When you reach 3rd level you gain the ability to cast locate animals or plants, but only as a ritual.
Locate animals or plants has a material component: * - (a bit of fur from a bloodhound)
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
Yes and no.
You cannot use an Arcane Focus unless you have a Spellcasting feature that allows you to use it. Since Aberrant Dragonmark takes spells from the Sorcerer spell list, you would need the Sorcerer Spellcasting feature to use an Arcane Focus for these Sorcerer spells.
You can, however, use a Component Pouch or the described Material component.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Ahh that’s right I was miss remembering what the arcane focus did. I only resently looked a month ago.
Thanks