I mean, I really assumed disengaging would work... The reading for the disengage in the basic rules is as unclear as it could be on how it works. It just says that the creature doesn't suffer attacks of opportunity. It's not avoiding attacks from oponents they can see, it just doesn't trigger attacks of opportunity to begin with.
Of course, if that doesn't cut it, the best command to use was to let the goat stay in place, and prepare to dodge. It wouldn't know what it'd be dodging from until it was freed from the illusion.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
The 1st gorgon attacks the goat (which doesn't see it coming) with its hooves Attack: 18 Damage: 14. He tramples the goat to death, pawing the ground getting ready to charge.
The second gorgon breathes out a green gas in a 30 feet cone on the diagonal going northeast starting in Z12. Corvin, Tallis, Xavier, and Baik make DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, you begins to turn to stone and are restrained. You must repeat the saving throw at the end of your next turn.
(Gonna wait to see Xavier's con save before I take my turn. Could affect my turn since if he fails, I could re-cast Bless to let him get the +1d4 to the second con save.)
(Question: how did the Gorgon get past me to attack the goat? Thought I teleported to W-14, right between them?)
It attacked on the diagonal, but I had forgotten you were there, so it will attack you instead. I am changing the attack as you are taller than the goat and it would have used it gore attack.
The first gorgon attacks Eiren with it's horns Attack: 23 Damage: 12 (wow, almost the same rolls)
Grishkar Darkmoor, Necromancer of Nerull the Despiser Kelvin Rabbitfoot, Diviner, con artist, always hunting for a good sale Bründir Halfshield, Valor Bard, three-time Sheercleft Drinking Competition Champion, Hometown hero
(Oh I see the confusion. I didn't notice till now the letters are kinda mashed up, and the "W" actually covers almost two verticals. I thought the Gorgon1 was at U/V-14/15, and that I was putting myself at W-14, literally between the goat and the gorgon. But now looking at the map the goat is also in a "W" vertical, albeit 5 feet diagonally from what I was calling W-14. Functionally, I thought that the goat would have been in X-13 since I was at W-14. Any clarification would be splendid!)
(Oh I see the confusion. I didn't notice till now the letters are kinda mashed up, and the "W" actually covers almost two verticals. I thought the Gorgon1 was at U/V-14/15, and that I was putting myself at W-14, literally between the goat and the gorgon. But now looking at the map the goat is also in a "W" vertical, albeit 5 feet diagonally from what I was calling W-14. Functionally, I thought that the goat would have been in X-13 since I was at W-14. Any clarification would be splendid!)
Yes that W row is really 2 rows. I had thought I fixed it and it wasn't until a day later I realized it was going to be a problem. Mentally I think if it as Wa and Wb
You are right about Gorgon1 was at U/V-14/15 and what happened is when I moved G1, I made it (by accident) spill over into the Wa row. I didn't realize that until just now. So I thought you teleported to just under the goat. I will fix this after Xavier takes his turn.
I looked on the computer last night when I got home and the 12 was 5 + 7. Since you Con save is only +3 I figured you added the +2 from bless and the +3 together to make the +5. If that is not the case please let me know where the extra +2 is coming from.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM for the Shackled City
DM for Dead in Thay
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Tallis loses two arrows but both miss. (They are both standing now)
G1 Dex save 13. The big stone bull is momentarily engulfed in flames.
Velmine, did you want to tell the goat something else, before it gets ripped to shredded?
I mean, I really assumed disengaging would work... The reading for the disengage in the basic rules is as unclear as it could be on how it works. It just says that the creature doesn't suffer attacks of opportunity. It's not avoiding attacks from oponents they can see, it just doesn't trigger attacks of opportunity to begin with.
Of course, if that doesn't cut it, the best command to use was to let the goat stay in place, and prepare to dodge. It wouldn't know what it'd be dodging from until it was freed from the illusion.
(She/Her)
Velmine - Tiefling, Rogue (9), Swashbuckler - Dead in Thay
Riris Swiftwhistle - Halfling, Bard (4), College of Swords - Lost Mines of Phandelver
Rellahne Vanderboren - Half-Elf, Wizard (4), School of Abjuration - The Shackled City
Ann Hidrizo - Human, Fighter (2) - Amphail Adventures
Sha - Firbolg, Cleric (3), Twilight Domain - Hunt for the Wish Dragon
Ok, Velmine tells the goat to stay where it is and get ready to move.
The 1st gorgon attacks the goat (which doesn't see it coming) with its hooves Attack: 18 Damage: 14. He tramples the goat to death, pawing the ground getting ready to charge.The second gorgon breathes out a green gas in a 30 feet cone on the diagonal going northeast starting in Z12. Corvin, Tallis, Xavier, and Baik make DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, you begins to turn to stone and are restrained. You must repeat the saving throw at the end of your next turn.
G1 recharge roll 2
Con save: (3)18
(Forgot I didn't bless myself this time. Still a 15, so I'm good)
Con save 21
Rockcrusher lvl 2 Goliath Barbarian Horde of the Dragon Queen
Taggart lvl 6 Air Genasi Blood Hunter Tomb of Annihilation
Shadow lvl 3 variant feral tiefling rogue Shackled City
(Gonna wait to see Xavier's con save before I take my turn. Could affect my turn since if he fails, I could re-cast Bless to let him get the +1d4 to the second con save.)
Bless(1) Con:11
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
(Who's turn is it?)
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
(Question: how did the Gorgon get past me to attack the goat? Thought I teleported to W-14, right between them?)
DM - Storm King's Thunder PbP | Yet Another Storm King's Thunder PbP
Current: Eogard Duramastar, Human Twilight Cleric/Star Druid | Eiren Lathrana, Shadar-Kai Eldritch Knight/Bladesinger | Arugula, Rabbitfolk Armorer
Survivor: CrispyDM's Saltmarsh as Syltra | SarcasticFury's Strahd as Hadrian Frozenspark | Forge of Fury as The DM
It attacked on the diagonal, but I had forgotten you were there, so it will attack you instead. I am changing the attack as you are taller than the goat and it would have used it gore attack.
The first gorgon attacks Eiren with it's horns Attack: 23 Damage: 12 (wow, almost the same rolls)
After Tallis makes his Con Save, Xavier and Qu'oth will be up.
(CON save: 20+4. Wow....ok)
Characters:
Grishkar Darkmoor, Necromancer of Nerull the Despiser
Kelvin Rabbitfoot, Diviner, con artist, always hunting for a good sale
Bründir Halfshield, Valor Bard, three-time Sheercleft Drinking Competition Champion, Hometown hero
Tallis and Baik start turning into stone.
Xavier and Qu'oth can act.
(figures. the two people I blessed to give bonuses on their saves fail them, and the one that isn't blessed did just fine)
(Oh I see the confusion. I didn't notice till now the letters are kinda mashed up, and the "W" actually covers almost two verticals. I thought the Gorgon1 was at U/V-14/15, and that I was putting myself at W-14, literally between the goat and the gorgon. But now looking at the map the goat is also in a "W" vertical, albeit 5 feet diagonally from what I was calling W-14. Functionally, I thought that the goat would have been in X-13 since I was at W-14. Any clarification would be splendid!)
DM - Storm King's Thunder PbP | Yet Another Storm King's Thunder PbP
Current: Eogard Duramastar, Human Twilight Cleric/Star Druid | Eiren Lathrana, Shadar-Kai Eldritch Knight/Bladesinger | Arugula, Rabbitfolk Armorer
Survivor: CrispyDM's Saltmarsh as Syltra | SarcasticFury's Strahd as Hadrian Frozenspark | Forge of Fury as The DM
No.. Bless gave me 2. I rolled 12. 12+2=14
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
Yes that W row is really 2 rows. I had thought I fixed it and it wasn't until a day later I realized it was going to be a problem. Mentally I think if it as Wa and Wb
You are right about Gorgon1 was at U/V-14/15 and what happened is when I moved G1, I made it (by accident) spill over into the Wa row. I didn't realize that until just now. So I thought you teleported to just under the goat. I will fix this after Xavier takes his turn.
I looked on the computer last night when I got home and the 12 was 5 + 7. Since you Con save is only +3 I figured you added the +2 from bless and the +3 together to make the +5. If that is not the case please let me know where the extra +2 is coming from.