I'm sure this has been addressed a thousand times, but I can't find the exact clarification I'm looking for (seems the results are more about details of the other features of the feats). My hexblade warlock has the Polearm Master and Great Weapon Master feats and wields their pact weapon as a halberd. (ya know, traditional pamlock build). So if I'm reading this correctly, since I have reach 10', and I can make an opportunity attack when something enters my reach, if I take sentinel, can I essentially stop a creature without reach from attacking me at melee range?
Example - Creature without reach enters my range two squares away, I attack them with the opportunity attack at range, and on a hit, reduce their movement to zero. Since there is a 5' empty square between us still and they don't have reach, they would have to resort attacking with a ranged weapon, spell, etc? Is that correct?
I'm sure this has been addressed a thousand times, but I can't find the exact clarification I'm looking for (seems the results are more about details of the other features of the feats). My hexblade warlock has the Polearm Master and Great Weapon Master feats and wields their pact weapon as a halberd. (ya know, traditional pamlock build). So if I'm reading this correctly, since I have reach 10', and I can make an opportunity attack when something enters my reach, if I take sentinel, can I essentially stop a creature without reach from attacking me at melee range?
Example - Creature without reach enters my range two squares away, I attack them with the opportunity attack at range, and on a hit, reduce their movement to zero. Since there is a 5' empty square between us still and they don't have reach, they would have to resort attacking with a ranged weapon, spell, etc? Is that correct?
Yes that is correct. You will find the relevant rules for an attack of opportunity under Opportunity Attacks in the Combat section of the PHB, as well as the specific rules in the description of the relevant feats (Sentinel & Polearm Master). I'm on my phone atm so I can't quote the specific rulings
I'm sure this has been addressed a thousand times, but I can't find the exact clarification I'm looking for (seems the results are more about details of the other features of the feats). My hexblade warlock has the Polearm Master and Great Weapon Master feats and wields their pact weapon as a halberd. (ya know, traditional pamlock build). So if I'm reading this correctly, since I have reach 10', and I can make an opportunity attack when something enters my reach, if I take sentinel, can I essentially stop a creature without reach from attacking me at melee range?
Example - Creature without reach enters my range two squares away, I attack them with the opportunity attack at range, and on a hit, reduce their movement to zero. Since there is a 5' empty square between us still and they don't have reach, they would have to resort attacking with a ranged weapon, spell, etc? Is that correct?
Yes, Sentinel + PAM means you can make an OA when a creature goes from 15 feet away to 10, and on a hit, its speed becomes 0 for the rest of its turn, usually meaning it cannot then become 5 feet from you.
Note that a lot of things have reach or ranged attacks, and a frustrated DM might gravitate towards exclusively using those types of creatures. You also only have one Reaction, and by the time this kind of thing comes online a lot of builds have access to some other pretty good Reactions so it can be tough deciding when you want to burn it.
Just throwing it out there because I have seen people disappointed that this combo wasn't the unassailable iron wall they assumed it would be.
Building on what scatterbraind said. You only have one reaction, so even if you do use it the first time something approaches you, the second creature that approaches you gets to stroll right up.
I'm sure this has been addressed a thousand times, but I can't find the exact clarification I'm looking for (seems the results are more about details of the other features of the feats). My hexblade warlock has the Polearm Master and Great Weapon Master feats and wields their pact weapon as a halberd. (ya know, traditional pamlock build). So if I'm reading this correctly, since I have reach 10', and I can make an opportunity attack when something enters my reach, if I take sentinel, can I essentially stop a creature without reach from attacking me at melee range?
Example - Creature without reach enters my range two squares away, I attack them with the opportunity attack at range, and on a hit, reduce their movement to zero. Since there is a 5' empty square between us still and they don't have reach, they would have to resort attacking with a ranged weapon, spell, etc? Is that correct?
Yes that is correct. You will find the relevant rules for an attack of opportunity under Opportunity Attacks in the Combat section of the PHB, as well as the specific rules in the description of the relevant feats (Sentinel & Polearm Master). I'm on my phone atm so I can't quote the specific rulings
Yes, Sentinel + PAM means you can make an OA when a creature goes from 15 feet away to 10, and on a hit, its speed becomes 0 for the rest of its turn, usually meaning it cannot then become 5 feet from you.
Cool, I assumed as much, but wanted to verify. Appreciate it!
Yep. These 2 feats are a popular build for martial classes.
It is strong, but not broken.
Note that a lot of things have reach or ranged attacks, and a frustrated DM might gravitate towards exclusively using those types of creatures. You also only have one Reaction, and by the time this kind of thing comes online a lot of builds have access to some other pretty good Reactions so it can be tough deciding when you want to burn it.
Just throwing it out there because I have seen people disappointed that this combo wasn't the unassailable iron wall they assumed it would be.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Building on what scatterbraind said. You only have one reaction, so even if you do use it the first time something approaches you, the second creature that approaches you gets to stroll right up.
Yeah, agreed. I ended up going with something more in line thematically anyways... lol.