Right it clarify context because if you read RAW PHB spellcasting, its not possible. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip as written doesn't let you possibility to cast non-cantrip spell, Action Surge or not.
Right it clarify context because if you read RAW PHB spellcasting, its not possible. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip as written doesn't let you possibility to cast non-cantrip spell, Action Surge or not.
The PHB specifically says that only applies when using your bonus action. That's why it's under the heading of Bonus Action.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
That rule only applies to casting a spell with a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies this and explains if you are not casting as a bonus action, then no limitation is applied so something like Action Surge will let you cast 2 levelled spells in a turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Of course if you don't use bonus action then no limitation is in effect you can cast two spells using both acion. But if you use a bonus action spell, then any other action spells have to be cantrip. I was under the impression SAC last sentence was implying that you didn't have to.
Of course if you don't use bonus action then no limitation is in effect you can cast two spells using both acion. But if you use a bonus action spell, then any other action spells have to be cantrip. I was under the impression SAC last sentence was implying that you didn't have to.
The SAC line is just providing an example that without using a bonus action spell, you are not limited on the spells you cast using actions - including an extra action from Action Surge.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The PHB doesn't need to say that, both the PHB and XGtE let you cast as many cantrip as you possibly can along with bonus action spell by saying you can't cast, except ...
Then what's the issue? You claimed that the PHB was restrictive but now you say it isn't. Where is the contradiction? I agree with CoirOfFire, the PHB and the SAC says the same thing, if you see a contradiction it's likely you have misunderstood the SAC.
The contradiction is SAC claiming that if you take Action Surge you can cast something other than a cantrip when PHB says You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip .
The SAC isn't saying that at all. Here's the text again, with {my commentary in curly brackets}:
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn? {Nobody asked that, Jeremy.} There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn {yes, we know, that's why nobody asked that, Jeremy}, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn. If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. {Yes. That's what the rule literally says. We don't need you for this, we can read.} For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge {as in, your only other spell was from your first action}, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it. {That's great, but that doesn't answer the question Plaguescarred has: if you cast a spell as a bonus action, cast a cantrip as an action, and then use Action Surge, what can you cast with that additional action? You don't need to answer that -- it's evident from the text, but that didn't stop you a moment ago, so I'm a little surprised you didn't chime in.}
It's no wonder Jeremy thinks so little of us, considering his brain instinctively transforms any question stemming from understandable confusion over a legitimately busted rule, into a reading comprehension failure, in order to protect his ego. Through his transformational lens, he must think we're all a bunch of morons.
{That's great, but that doesn't answer the question Plaguescarred has: if you cast a spell as a bonus action, cast a cantrip as an action, and then use Action Surge, what can you cast with that additional action? You don't need to answer that -- it's evident from the text, but that didn't stop you a moment ago, so I'm a little surprised you didn't chime in.}
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I sometimes wonder if the constant confusion on this topic has more to do with folks fundamental confusion about the term “bonus action” than it does this rule.
There’s no contradiction. Casting a spell with an action, and another spell with another action from Action Surge, and another spell with a Reaction, is all fine. It is only casting a spell with a “Bonus Action” that drops a fly in the soup and imposes action/cantrip rules on other spells that turn.
Right then no contradiction sorry y'all for the confusion i thought SAC was saying you could bypass BA limitation with Action Surge. I'm not english native so i was duped by JC's instinctively transforming lens ability i guess loll
I sometimes wonder if the constant confusion on this topic has more to do with folks fundamental confusion about the term “bonus action” than it does this rule.
It's possible. You see a bit of confusion around two-weapon fighting, also. But I don't think it's because of the term "bonus action." Plenty of bonus action stuff is perfectly understood.
It is only casting a spell with a “Bonus Action” that drops a fly in the soup and imposes action/cantrip rules on other spells that turn.
I think it's the prerequisite/restriction that's the source of confusion. You see it also with Shield Master, but for some reason not with Flurry of Blows.
Allow me to bring out the old visual aid. I feel like this really does simplify things and answer a lot of questions and account for just about all situations.
This is RAW. I have seen nothing to give me the impression it is not also RAI.
No? You can cast as many cantrips as you have actions and spell slots or abilities to casts spells.
So you can fireball twice and counter spell as a fighter multiclass with action surge, but you can't cast *any* spell as a bonus action that turn... Quickened, healing word or otherwise.
No? You can cast as many cantrips as you have actions and spell slots or abilities to casts spells.
So you can fireball twice and counter spell as a fighter multiclass with action surge, but you can't cast *any* spell as a bonus action that turn... Quickened, healing word or otherwise.
Returning to my original points, this is the essence behind why I'm questioning needing to take 2 levels in fighter, where I consider it would be perfectly reasonable ingame assumption as a practiced magic user to be able to perform an equivalent activity without needing to dip into fighting skills, and I don't necessarily take such a pedantic approach to the rules as being general guidance rather than firm statements that must be obeyed dogmatically despite being contradicted and counter-contradicted - as another forum user pointed out if the rule needs such a detailed level of explanation, then its probably broken.
Natively, the Sorcerer has the 'Quickened' ability, but I'm obviously reading it as its written kinda like 'Expeditious Retreat' has probably more use in advancing towards the enemy than running away from them. The purpose of my post was to offer an alternative workable explanation for other forums users that they might decide to adopt in their own games, as something that suits their train of logic.
This is what I realized recently, the movement actions for a sorcerer, especially disengage, are very useful, and if you can cast an AOE spell after, very strong
Clarification for the guy in the really dumb, cheap section
Metamagic adapt: When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.
So for example:
Wizard with Metamagic adapt feat casts Fireball, then immediately casts it again thanks to metamagic bonus action. Possible?
Or does it have to be Ray of Frost followed by Fireball as metamagic bonus action
Clarification for the guy in the really dumb, cheap section
Metamagic adapt: When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.
So for example:
Wizard with Metamagic adapt feat casts Fireball, then immediately casts it again thanks to metamagic bonus action. Possible?
Or does it have to be Ray of Frost followed by Fireball as metamagic bonus action
If you cast any bonus action spell on your turn, you cannot use your action to cast any spell but a cantrip. No two fireballs on a turn if one is made into a bonus action somehow.
To use metamagic you need to cast a spell. Without an available spell slot this reduces the options.
You can cast cantrips without a spell slot, so you can always use metamagic on cantrips if you have the sorcery points to do so.
You can cast a spell without a spell slot using a feature that allows you to cast in such a way (like racial spells, or spells granted by a feat like Magic Initiate).
You can cast a spell from magic items without needing spell slots.
And that's it.
So "yes you can" but "in certain and specific circumstances only".
Metamagic doesn't replace casting the spell - it is something you "add" when you do cast a spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Right it clarify context because if you read RAW PHB spellcasting, its not possible. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip as written doesn't let you possibility to cast non-cantrip spell, Action Surge or not.
The PHB specifically says that only applies when using your bonus action. That's why it's under the heading of Bonus Action.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
That rule only applies to casting a spell with a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies this and explains if you are not casting as a bonus action, then no limitation is applied so something like Action Surge will let you cast 2 levelled spells in a turn.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Of course if you don't use bonus action then no limitation is in effect you can cast two spells using both acion. But if you use a bonus action spell, then any other action spells have to be cantrip. I was under the impression SAC last sentence was implying that you didn't have to.
The SAC line is just providing an example that without using a bonus action spell, you are not limited on the spells you cast using actions - including an extra action from Action Surge.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The SAC isn't saying that at all. Here's the text again, with {my commentary in curly brackets}:
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn? {Nobody asked that, Jeremy.} There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn {yes, we know, that's why nobody asked that, Jeremy}, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn. If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. {Yes. That's what the rule literally says. We don't need you for this, we can read.} For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge {as in, your only other spell was from your first action}, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it. {That's great, but that doesn't answer the question Plaguescarred has: if you cast a spell as a bonus action, cast a cantrip as an action, and then use Action Surge, what can you cast with that additional action? You don't need to answer that -- it's evident from the text, but that didn't stop you a moment ago, so I'm a little surprised you didn't chime in.}
It's no wonder Jeremy thinks so little of us, considering his brain instinctively transforms any question stemming from understandable confusion over a legitimately busted rule, into a reading comprehension failure, in order to protect his ego. Through his transformational lens, he must think we're all a bunch of morons.
Wow ok that Sage Advice was then confusing me more than anything loll
PS Your commentary were funny thanks for the laught ☺
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/657260788122386432
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I sometimes wonder if the constant confusion on this topic has more to do with folks fundamental confusion about the term “bonus action” than it does this rule.
There’s no contradiction. Casting a spell with an action, and another spell with another action from Action Surge, and another spell with a Reaction, is all fine. It is only casting a spell with a “Bonus Action” that drops a fly in the soup and imposes action/cantrip rules on other spells that turn.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Right then no contradiction sorry y'all for the confusion i thought SAC was saying you could bypass BA limitation with Action Surge. I'm not english native so i was duped by JC's instinctively transforming lens ability i guess loll
It's possible. You see a bit of confusion around two-weapon fighting, also. But I don't think it's because of the term "bonus action." Plenty of bonus action stuff is perfectly understood.
I think it's the prerequisite/restriction that's the source of confusion. You see it also with Shield Master, but for some reason not with Flurry of Blows.
This is RAW. I have seen nothing to give me the impression it is not also RAI.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Have you cast a spell as a bonus action?
Yes? Then only cantrips for main actions.
No? You can cast as many cantrips as you have actions and spell slots or abilities to casts spells.
So you can fireball twice and counter spell as a fighter multiclass with action surge, but you can't cast *any* spell as a bonus action that turn... Quickened, healing word or otherwise.
Returning to my original points, this is the essence behind why I'm questioning needing to take 2 levels in fighter, where I consider it would be perfectly reasonable ingame assumption as a practiced magic user to be able to perform an equivalent activity without needing to dip into fighting skills, and I don't necessarily take such a pedantic approach to the rules as being general guidance rather than firm statements that must be obeyed dogmatically despite being contradicted and counter-contradicted - as another forum user pointed out if the rule needs such a detailed level of explanation, then its probably broken.
Natively, the Sorcerer has the 'Quickened' ability, but I'm obviously reading it as its written kinda like 'Expeditious Retreat' has probably more use in advancing towards the enemy than running away from them. The purpose of my post was to offer an alternative workable explanation for other forums users that they might decide to adopt in their own games, as something that suits their train of logic.
This is what I realized recently, the movement actions for a sorcerer, especially disengage, are very useful, and if you can cast an AOE spell after, very strong
Clarification for the guy in the really dumb, cheap section
Metamagic adapt: When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.
So for example:
Wizard with Metamagic adapt feat casts Fireball, then immediately casts it again thanks to metamagic bonus action. Possible?
Or does it have to be Ray of Frost followed by Fireball as metamagic bonus action
If you cast any bonus action spell on your turn, you cannot use your action to cast any spell but a cantrip. No two fireballs on a turn if one is made into a bonus action somehow.
Thanks :)
What do you honestly think?
To use metamagic you need to cast a spell. Without an available spell slot this reduces the options.
You can cast cantrips without a spell slot, so you can always use metamagic on cantrips if you have the sorcery points to do so.
You can cast a spell without a spell slot using a feature that allows you to cast in such a way (like racial spells, or spells granted by a feat like Magic Initiate).
You can cast a spell from magic items without needing spell slots.
And that's it.
So "yes you can" but "in certain and specific circumstances only".
Metamagic doesn't replace casting the spell - it is something you "add" when you do cast a spell.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Quickened spell to cast firewall behind the target
Eldritch blast to push your enemy through it... and then pull it through it...