If a dragonborn is holding two scimitars, could they attack with one of them, then replace the bonus action attack with an exhalation of their breath weapon?
Related question: Could a dragonborn monk replace their bonus action attack with a breath weapon exhalation?
No. Rules text says, you need to take the attack action and replace one of the attacks with the breath weapon.
Furthermore, in order to benefit from the two-weapon-fighting, you need to actually make a melee weapon attack with your main hand, before you can make an off-hand attack with a bonus action.
So, for a two-weapon-fighting dragonborn you need at least extra attack for a main hand, breath, off-hand combo.
But they would be taking the attack action. They take the attack action, hit with their scimitar, then replace the bonus action attack with a breath weapon attack.
No, you take the attack action and replace one of the attacks of the attack action with the breath. Additionally, you take the bonus action to make another attack, if possible. That are two different action types.
It is "one of the attacks" not just "an attack" you replace.
I can see how the wording here is less precise than it could be, but based on how similar things work it should be replacing an attack that comes from the Attack action. Ultimately if you're using your action and bonus action to make three attacks and replacing one of them with a breath weapon, it doesn't really matter which one you're replacing. The outcome is the same.
I think it does matter to a degree, if a level 5 fighter with 20 str (doesn't take TWF style) attacks with main hand scimitar that's ((1d6+5)X2) cause of extra attack then swaps their offhand attack that would be just 1d6 (No Mod) for the now 2d10 fire damage (Fizban's Dragonborn) i see a big difference. I'd say because the wording is a little loose, if a person was allowed to there's still significant draw back like having 2 weapons being held so No shield bonus or other items available, got to drop them or use your once per turn item interaction just for it. Overall allowing it would grant more power, but they only have 2 hands (Unless there a monster then go ham).
If a dragonborn is holding two scimitars, could they attack with one of them, then replace the bonus action attack with an exhalation of their breath weapon?
No it can't because Breath Weapon let you replace one of your attacks with a breath attack when you take the Attack action and Two-Weapon Fighting is only used when you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon. If you have Extra Attack and attack once, then you could.
Could a dragonborn monk replace their bonus action attack with a breath weapon exhalation?
No for basically the same reasons mentioned above.
Breath Weapon let you replace one of your attacks with a breath attack when you take the Attack action and Martial Art is only used when you take the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Basically the title.
If a dragonborn is holding two scimitars, could they attack with one of them, then replace the bonus action attack with an exhalation of their breath weapon?
Related question: Could a dragonborn monk replace their bonus action attack with a breath weapon exhalation?
No. Rules text says, you need to take the attack action and replace one of the attacks with the breath weapon.
Furthermore, in order to benefit from the two-weapon-fighting, you need to actually make a melee weapon attack with your main hand, before you can make an off-hand attack with a bonus action.
So, for a two-weapon-fighting dragonborn you need at least extra attack for a main hand, breath, off-hand combo.
But they would be taking the attack action. They take the attack action, hit with their scimitar, then replace the bonus action attack with a breath weapon attack.
No, you take the attack action and replace one of the attacks of the attack action with the breath. Additionally, you take the bonus action to make another attack, if possible. That are two different action types.
It is "one of the attacks" not just "an attack" you replace.
I can see how the wording here is less precise than it could be, but based on how similar things work it should be replacing an attack that comes from the Attack action. Ultimately if you're using your action and bonus action to make three attacks and replacing one of them with a breath weapon, it doesn't really matter which one you're replacing. The outcome is the same.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
I think it does matter to a degree, if a level 5 fighter with 20 str (doesn't take TWF style) attacks with main hand scimitar that's ((1d6+5)X2) cause of extra attack then swaps their offhand attack that would be just 1d6 (No Mod) for the now 2d10 fire damage (Fizban's Dragonborn) i see a big difference. I'd say because the wording is a little loose, if a person was allowed to there's still significant draw back like having 2 weapons being held so No shield bonus or other items available, got to drop them or use your once per turn item interaction just for it. Overall allowing it would grant more power, but they only have 2 hands (Unless there a monster then go ham).
No it can't because Breath Weapon let you replace one of your attacks with a breath attack when you take the Attack action and Two-Weapon Fighting is only used when you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon. If you have Extra Attack and attack once, then you could.
No for basically the same reasons mentioned above.
Breath Weapon let you replace one of your attacks with a breath attack when you take the Attack action and Martial Art is only used when you take the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon.