Hi all. Can a Shadow Magic Sorcerer in a single round, use their bonus action to summon Hound of ill Omen (and make it appear in a space next to their enemy, thus giving the enemy disadvantage on their save versus your spells) and THEN (on the same turn) use their action to cast a spell (like Hold Person)?
I suppose what I am asking is, can you summon as your bonus action then cast a spell with your action?
Also, when you summon the Hound of ill Omen, does it immediately take it's turn (attack), then take its turn just before you in the initiative order in each subsequent round, or does it wait a round before it gets to act and you roll its initiative to determine when in the next round (and future rounds) it will act?
Yes. The only thing that preclude casting a spell with your action would be casting a spell with your bonus action, which summoning the hound of ill omen is not.
Also, when you summon the Hound of ill Omen, does it immediately take it's turn (attack), then take its turn just before you in the initiative order in each subsequent round, or does it wait a round before it gets to act and you roll its initiative to determine when in the next round (and future rounds) it will act?
It literally says "roll initiative or the hound". So, you roll initiative. Place hound in the turn order as appropriate for the number rolled.
E.g.:
Barbarian 19 Cleric 13 Sorc 15 Rogue 12 Enemy A 18 Enemy B 9
The turn order would be:
19. Barbarian 18 Enemy A 15 Sorc 13 Cleric 12 Rogue 9 Enemy B
Sorc uses the Hound and for its initiative rolls 16. That would put it between Enemy A and Sorc , so you're waiting nearly a round before it gets a turn. But if instead you rolled the initative and got 14, it would be taking its turn right after Sorc's.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
This doesn't really make sense to me, that rolling a high initiative in your scenario means the hound has to effectively miss its turn and wait until the next round to act. I think I will house rule that when the Hound of ill Omen gets summoned, it is placed at that position in the initiative order, so gets to attack immediately and then takes its turn directly before you in subsequent rounds.
We use this same houserule. Any kind of summoned creature goes immediately after their summoner. It's easier to track, more consistent, and doesn't require the player to assess the battlefield twice every round.
It's a bit stronger that way, but it applies to monsters too.
Hi all. Can a Shadow Magic Sorcerer in a single round, use their bonus action to summon Hound of ill Omen (and make it appear in a space next to their enemy, thus giving the enemy disadvantage on their save versus your spells) and THEN (on the same turn) use their action to cast a spell (like Hold Person)?
I suppose what I am asking is, can you summon as your bonus action then cast a spell with your action?
Also, when you summon the Hound of ill Omen, does it immediately take it's turn (attack), then take its turn just before you in the initiative order in each subsequent round, or does it wait a round before it gets to act and you roll its initiative to determine when in the next round (and future rounds) it will act?
Thanks to anyone who takes the time to respond.
Richard.
Yes. The only thing that preclude casting a spell with your action would be casting a spell with your bonus action, which summoning the hound of ill omen is not.
It literally says "roll initiative or the hound". So, you roll initiative. Place hound in the turn order as appropriate for the number rolled.
E.g.:
Barbarian 19
Cleric 13
Sorc 15
Rogue 12
Enemy A 18
Enemy B 9
The turn order would be:
19. Barbarian
18 Enemy A
15 Sorc
13 Cleric
12 Rogue
9 Enemy B
Sorc uses the Hound and for its initiative rolls 16. That would put it between Enemy A and Sorc , so you're waiting nearly a round before it gets a turn. But if instead you rolled the initative and got 14, it would be taking its turn right after Sorc's.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Hi Saga Tympana.
Thank you very much for your response. That helps me a lot.
Richard
Hi Cyb3rM1nd.
This doesn't really make sense to me, that rolling a high initiative in your scenario means the hound has to effectively miss its turn and wait until the next round to act. I think I will house rule that when the Hound of ill Omen gets summoned, it is placed at that position in the initiative order, so gets to attack immediately and then takes its turn directly before you in subsequent rounds.
Thanks for your thoughts.
Richard
We use this same houserule. Any kind of summoned creature goes immediately after their summoner. It's easier to track, more consistent, and doesn't require the player to assess the battlefield twice every round.
It's a bit stronger that way, but it applies to monsters too.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm