Is there a way to have dndbeyond character sheets to reflect the range change when used in combination with the Spell Sniper feat? I know it is still cast on self but the range doesnt appear to change to 10 feet once the character has attained the Feat.
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have a range of Self. Doubling the range of Self still makes it Self. It does not give your weapon +5ft reach if that is what you are asking.
If you select the Spell Sniper Feat you get both those spells as a choice. You have to choose the Bard, Warlock, Sorcerer Version. I see no restriction to "Self" spells listed for the Spell Sniper Feat.
If you select the Spell Sniper Feat you get both those spells as a choice. You have to choose the Bard, Warlock, Sorcerer Version. I see no restriction to "Self" spells listed for the Spell Sniper Feat.
you cannot use crawfords words as backup as the guy continously says stuff that is inaccurate, the only official way to look at RAI is SAC, and no, spells with a range of self do not work wiith this, this sort of thing was also the point of the changes so it couldnt be used with distant spell
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have a range of Self. Doubling the range of Self still makes it Self. It does not give your weapon +5ft reach if that is what you are asking.
If you're not using the version from Tasha's? These spells didn't originate in that book and their prior version were simply 5ft. Not everyone ups and retcons active characters and their abilities when a splatbook comes out.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
If you select the Spell Sniper Feat you get both those spells as a choice. You have to choose the Bard, Warlock, Sorcerer Version. I see no restriction to "Self" spells listed for the Spell Sniper Feat.
Right, but the range of the spell is self. So, there is no range to extend for that spell with that feat. These cantrips do indeed require an attack roll, which makes them valid choices to gain from the feat, but the rest of the feat (under the current rules) cannot affect a spell of range: self.
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have a range of Self. Doubling the range of Self still makes it Self. It does not give your weapon +5ft reach if that is what you are asking.
If you're not using the version from Tasha's? These spells didn't originate in that book and their prior version were simply 5ft. Not everyone ups and retcons active characters and their abilities when a splatbook comes out.
This isn't legacy content like some races have been changed to. This was fixed in errata; SCAG has been updated as well. Sure, no one is required to play the game using the rules, but that really is what you're recommending here. There is no reason for the game's toolset to support old, broken content.
Actually the range says Self/5Feet. Its shows it specifically in the dndbeyond description, it specifically allows you to choose that spell option with that Feat selection.. You cast it on your self and your next attack at 5feet or with Spell Sniper 10 feet. The description for Spell Caster Feat is:
You have learned techniques to enhance your attacks with certain kinds of spells, gaining the following benefits:
When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell's range is doubled.
Your ranged spell attacks ignore half cover and three-quarters cover.
You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the bard, sorcerer, or warlock spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this cantrip is Charisma.
Note that Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade are both cast on yourself and have a Range of 5 Feet. The 5 Feet is specifically Listed in the spells description:
Booming Blade
"You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you."
If this is not the case then why did Dndbeyond add those spell selections as part of the Feats spell selection?? If it only meant to apply to the fact that you cast this spell on yourself and the 5 feet range is ignored then those spells should not be selectable when choosing the feat.
If Tashas is RAW then those spells should be removed from the Feat selection.
Honestly: The booming blade spell has a range of Self (5-foot radius), and I can see no reason why this can't be doubled to Self (10-foot radius) like any other spell.
You misunderstand. You can select the spell based solely on it requiring an attack roll (bullet point 3 of the feat), which these spells do. But the increase in range depends on the range of those spells (from bullet point 1), and that is entirely separate from selecting the spell provided by point 3 of the feat. Having an attack roll has nothing to do with a spell's range.
For example, shocking grasp is a valid selection for the feat as well, but it has a range of touch, which also cannot be doubled.
Range: Self (5ft.) essentially means Range: 0ft (Area of Effect within 5ft of you). A spell with Range: Self means that you are the point of origin. Doubling a range of 0ft is still 0ft. This applies to the Distant Spell metamagic as well. The number in parentheses after Self is the area of effect, not a range. This means that the effect of the spell extends outward from you to any one target within the area 5ft around you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Ok, so thinking about spreading this new rule around my table and it dawned on me, that if all this is correct then the use of Booming blade with any weapon of Reach would not work. I guess you can probably choose any target at 5 feet to attack and the "reach" function is an optional function of the weapon, however if I chose to use the polearm on a target at 10 feet then the booming blade spell would fail? Meaning its use with a Whip would also fail?
Now I am more confused. I just took a look at Green-flame blade and it has a range of Self, without the (5 feet) classification. I get it cant be used with Spell Sniper but it makes me wonder now if The Tashas change to Booming Blade was specifically to break the use of Spell Sniper with Reach Weapons??
Ok, so thinking about spreading this new rule around my table and it dawned on me, that if all this is correct then the use of Booming blade with any weapon of Reach would not work. I guess you can probably choose any target at 5 feet to attack and the "reach" function is an optional function of the weapon, however if I chose to use the polearm on a target at 10 feet then the booming blade spell would fail? Meaning its use with a Whip would also fail?
Now I am more confused. I just took a look at Green-flame blade and it has a range of Self, without the (5 feet) classification. I get it cant be used with Spell Sniper but it makes me wonder now if The Tashas change to Booming Blade was specifically to break the use of Spell Sniper with Reach Weapons??
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have a range of Self. Doubling the range of Self still makes it Self. It does not give your weapon +5ft reach if that is what you are asking.
If you're not using the version from Tasha's? These spells didn't originate in that book and their prior version were simply 5ft. Not everyone ups and retcons active characters and their abilities when a splatbook comes out.
This isn't legacy content like some races have been changed to. This was fixed in errata; SCAG has been updated as well. Sure, no one is required to play the game using the rules, but that really is what you're recommending here. There is no reason for the game's toolset to support old, broken content.
This site supports homebrew. IDK what to tell you. It is one of the huge draws for some people.
The OP was asking for help with a dndbeyond character sheet. Not for lectures about following the 5e rules.
Ok, thanks everyone for the feedback. Its a sad synergy loss but I would rather stick to RAW.
You'd be better off asking again in the homebrew subforum if you change your mind and want to get your original question answered. they're very helpful there.
Ok, so thinking about spreading this new rule around my table and it dawned on me, that if all this is correct then the use of Booming blade with any weapon of Reach would not work. I guess you can probably choose any target at 5 feet to attack and the "reach" function is an optional function of the weapon, however if I chose to use the polearm on a target at 10 feet then the booming blade spell would fail? Meaning its use with a Whip would also fail?
Now I am more confused. I just took a look at Green-flame blade and it has a range of Self, without the (5 feet) classification. I get it cant be used with Spell Sniper but it makes me wonder now if The Tashas change to Booming Blade was specifically to break the use of Spell Sniper with Reach Weapons??
We stick to the original version at my table for this and several other reasons. Many of the Self(Xft) spells don't work as advertised according to Crawford and we've just handwaved the controversy away but making them make actual sense. 5ft range, by itself, is what makes sense for this spell. Get Spell Sniper, use it with your Glaive, have fun. Homebrew is a great option when you run into a fun-limitation in the rules.
I'd answer myself but I'm not sure how to do it, only that there should be a way to do it. And there are helpful people on that subforum who would know.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I mean, it can be homebrewed very easily by just using Booming Blade as a template and changing the Range field.
People already answered the question on why it didn't change from Self (5ft) to Self (10ft) with the feat.
The question was "Is there a way". Not "Why didn't it".
Thank you for answering it, though. I think you might be right, I was playing around with options, too, and seems this is the easiest way. Homebrew a copy of the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I mean, it can be homebrewed very easily by just using Booming Blade as a template and changing the Range field.
People already answered the question on why it didn't change from Self (5ft) to Self (10ft) with the feat.
The question was "Is there a way". Not "Why didn't it".
Thank you for answering it, though. I think you might be right, I was playing around with options, too, and seems this is the easiest way. Homebrew a copy of the spell.
Well, the original question was framed in a way that the user seemed to expect it to, and took several tries to explain why you could even select the spell with the feat given the range failing to change.
And the answer is, as you pointed out: homebrew. The rule has been changed, and as you so wonderfully pointed out (after I reminded you that there is no other official version of this spell, unlike some races), when you don't like the official rules, homebrew your own.
But it would be a good idea to homebrew it into something that actually works for what you want. If the spell acts on you or the weapon and augments an attack, the range really should be self (see paladin smites). If you make the range 5', then you have made an incomprehensible spell that needs to be fixed (hence the errata).
I mean, it can be homebrewed very easily by just using Booming Blade as a template and changing the Range field.
People already answered the question on why it didn't change from Self (5ft) to Self (10ft) with the feat.
The question was "Is there a way". Not "Why didn't it".
Thank you for answering it, though. I think you might be right, I was playing around with options, too, and seems this is the easiest way. Homebrew a copy of the spell.
The question was asked in the Rules & Game Mechanics subforum, not the homebrew or support forums. Given that and the fact that the question was posed with expectation of how it should work, the question was answered as such. Plus, the OP also stated they want to play by RAW after the question had been answered.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Is there a way to have dndbeyond character sheets to reflect the range change when used in combination with the Spell Sniper feat? I know it is still cast on self but the range doesnt appear to change to 10 feet once the character has attained the Feat.
The spells have a range of Self, so Spell Sniper won't increase their range since the feat doesn't say that "self" range is changed.
Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have a range of Self. Doubling the range of Self still makes it Self. It does not give your weapon +5ft reach if that is what you are asking.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
Since the release of Tashas this is no longer true.
you cannot use crawfords words as backup as the guy continously says stuff that is inaccurate, the only official way to look at RAI is SAC, and no, spells with a range of self do not work wiith this, this sort of thing was also the point of the changes so it couldnt be used with distant spell
If you're not using the version from Tasha's? These spells didn't originate in that book and their prior version were simply 5ft. Not everyone ups and retcons active characters and their abilities when a splatbook comes out.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Right, but the range of the spell is self. So, there is no range to extend for that spell with that feat. These cantrips do indeed require an attack roll, which makes them valid choices to gain from the feat, but the rest of the feat (under the current rules) cannot affect a spell of range: self.
This isn't legacy content like some races have been changed to. This was fixed in errata; SCAG has been updated as well. Sure, no one is required to play the game using the rules, but that really is what you're recommending here. There is no reason for the game's toolset to support old, broken content.
Actually the range says Self/5Feet. Its shows it specifically in the dndbeyond description, it specifically allows you to choose that spell option with that Feat selection.. You cast it on your self and your next attack at 5feet or with Spell Sniper 10 feet. The description for Spell Caster Feat is:
You have learned techniques to enhance your attacks with certain kinds of spells, gaining the following benefits:
Note that Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade are both cast on yourself and have a Range of 5 Feet. The 5 Feet is specifically Listed in the spells description:
Booming Blade
"You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you."
If this is not the case then why did Dndbeyond add those spell selections as part of the Feats spell selection?? If it only meant to apply to the fact that you cast this spell on yourself and the 5 feet range is ignored then those spells should not be selectable when choosing the feat.
If Tashas is RAW then those spells should be removed from the Feat selection.
Honestly: The booming blade spell has a range of Self (5-foot radius), and I can see no reason why this can't be doubled to Self (10-foot radius) like any other spell.
You misunderstand. You can select the spell based solely on it requiring an attack roll (bullet point 3 of the feat), which these spells do. But the increase in range depends on the range of those spells (from bullet point 1), and that is entirely separate from selecting the spell provided by point 3 of the feat. Having an attack roll has nothing to do with a spell's range.
For example, shocking grasp is a valid selection for the feat as well, but it has a range of touch, which also cannot be doubled.
Range: Self (5ft.) essentially means Range: 0ft (Area of Effect within 5ft of you). A spell with Range: Self means that you are the point of origin. Doubling a range of 0ft is still 0ft. This applies to the Distant Spell metamagic as well. The number in parentheses after Self is the area of effect, not a range. This means that the effect of the spell extends outward from you to any one target within the area 5ft around you.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Ok, thanks everyone for the feedback. Its a sad synergy loss but I would rather stick to RAW.
Ok, so thinking about spreading this new rule around my table and it dawned on me, that if all this is correct then the use of Booming blade with any weapon of Reach would not work. I guess you can probably choose any target at 5 feet to attack and the "reach" function is an optional function of the weapon, however if I chose to use the polearm on a target at 10 feet then the booming blade spell would fail? Meaning its use with a Whip would also fail?
Now I am more confused. I just took a look at Green-flame blade and it has a range of Self, without the (5 feet) classification. I get it cant be used with Spell Sniper but it makes me wonder now if The Tashas change to Booming Blade was specifically to break the use of Spell Sniper with Reach Weapons??
Green-Flame Blade is also range Self (5ft). Were you maybe looking at a different Blade spell, like Flame Blade or Shadow Blade?
I'm not sure if the change was made for breaking use of Spell Sniper with Reach weapons, but it's possible.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
This site supports homebrew. IDK what to tell you. It is one of the huge draws for some people.
The OP was asking for help with a dndbeyond character sheet. Not for lectures about following the 5e rules.
You'd be better off asking again in the homebrew subforum if you change your mind and want to get your original question answered. they're very helpful there.
We stick to the original version at my table for this and several other reasons. Many of the Self(Xft) spells don't work as advertised according to Crawford and we've just handwaved the controversy away but making them make actual sense. 5ft range, by itself, is what makes sense for this spell. Get Spell Sniper, use it with your Glaive, have fun. Homebrew is a great option when you run into a fun-limitation in the rules.
I'd answer myself but I'm not sure how to do it, only that there should be a way to do it. And there are helpful people on that subforum who would know.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I mean, it can be homebrewed very easily by just using Booming Blade as a template and changing the Range field.
People already answered the question on why it didn't change from Self (5ft) to Self (10ft) with the feat.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The question was "Is there a way". Not "Why didn't it".
Thank you for answering it, though. I think you might be right, I was playing around with options, too, and seems this is the easiest way. Homebrew a copy of the spell.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Well, the original question was framed in a way that the user seemed to expect it to, and took several tries to explain why you could even select the spell with the feat given the range failing to change.
And the answer is, as you pointed out: homebrew. The rule has been changed, and as you so wonderfully pointed out (after I reminded you that there is no other official version of this spell, unlike some races), when you don't like the official rules, homebrew your own.
But it would be a good idea to homebrew it into something that actually works for what you want. If the spell acts on you or the weapon and augments an attack, the range really should be self (see paladin smites). If you make the range 5', then you have made an incomprehensible spell that needs to be fixed (hence the errata).
The question was asked in the Rules & Game Mechanics subforum, not the homebrew or support forums. Given that and the fact that the question was posed with expectation of how it should work, the question was answered as such. Plus, the OP also stated they want to play by RAW after the question had been answered.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
The range is (5ft) self is point of origin. Per Jeremy Crawford spells with a range of self(xyz) self=point of origin and (xyz) = range