Anyone else use this spell with a mainly melee ranger build? Throwing a dagger, javelin, or spear? Even a rock would work. Hand axe on your belt in a pinch.
I realize this comment is from over a year ago, but it seems the thread is still active. I don’t think this would work. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons, which the spell specifies. Thrown weapons are melee weapons you can throw, not ranged per se.
A dart, I think, is the only exception. So, it could work with one of those.
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Anyone else use this spell with a mainly melee ranger build? Throwing a dagger, javelin, or spear? Even a rock would work. Hand axe on your belt in a pinch.
I realize this comment is from over a year ago, but it seems the thread is still active. I don’t think this would work. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons, which the spell specifies. Thrown weapons are melee weapons you can throw, not ranged per se.
A dart, I think, is the only exception. So, it could work with one of those.
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Anyone else use this spell with a mainly melee ranger build? Throwing a dagger, javelin, or spear? Even a rock would work. Hand axe on your belt in a pinch.
I realize this comment is from over a year ago, but it seems the thread is still active. I don’t think this would work. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons, which the spell specifies. Thrown weapons are melee weapons you can throw, not ranged per se.
A dart, I think, is the only exception. So, it could work with one of those.
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Anyone else use this spell with a mainly melee ranger build? Throwing a dagger, javelin, or spear? Even a rock would work. Hand axe on your belt in a pinch.
I realize this comment is from over a year ago, but it seems the thread is still active. I don’t think this would work. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons, which the spell specifies. Thrown weapons are melee weapons you can throw, not ranged per se.
A dart, I think, is the only exception. So, it could work with one of those.
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Anyone else use this spell with a mainly melee ranger build? Throwing a dagger, javelin, or spear? Even a rock would work. Hand axe on your belt in a pinch.
I realize this comment is from over a year ago, but it seems the thread is still active. I don’t think this would work. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons, which the spell specifies. Thrown weapons are melee weapons you can throw, not ranged per se.
A dart, I think, is the only exception. So, it could work with one of those.
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Mmm... The spell seems to contradict itself in this regard.
What does “melee weapon attack” mean: a melee attack with a weapon or an attack with a melee weapon?
It means a melee attack with a weapon. Similarly, “ranged weapon attack” means a ranged attack with a weapon. Some attacks count as a melee or ranged weapon attack even if a weapon isn’t involved, as specified in the text of those attacks. For example, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon.
Here’s a bit of wording minutia: we would write “melee-weapon attack” (with a hyphen) if we meant an attack with a melee weapon.
The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition.
So the spell and sage advice tell us a thrown weapon can work, but the spell also uses a term, "...ranged weapon...", so the spell contradicts itself.
If this is truly meant to work with only like a bow, that isn't much of a loss. But I don't see why a thrown dagger or hand axe wouldn't work, either mechanically or thematically.
I know this is a little out of date but on this spell, the way it reads it's a one time hit "The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition. " is this the case? If they use the spell is it supposed to apply to each ranged attack during the minute?
I think you're correct. It states:
"...this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition".
And thrown weapons (except for dart) are not ranged weapons or ammunition.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
And the net too technically.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Now that would be entertaining.
If you can nail two sources of restrained it means both would have to be broken before the Target could function normally. I love that combo.
Mmm... The spell seems to contradict itself in this regard.
Sage Advice says...
What does “melee weapon attack” mean: a melee attack with a weapon or an attack with a melee weapon?
It means a melee attack with a weapon. Similarly, “ranged weapon attack” means a ranged attack with a weapon. Some attacks count as a melee or ranged weapon attack even if a weapon isn’t involved, as specified in the text of those attacks. For example, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon.
Here’s a bit of wording minutia: we would write “melee-weapon attack” (with a hyphen) if we meant an attack with a melee weapon.
And the spell says...
The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition.
So the spell and sage advice tell us a thrown weapon can work, but the spell also uses a term, "...ranged weapon...", so the spell contradicts itself.
If this is truly meant to work with only like a bow, that isn't much of a loss. But I don't see why a thrown dagger or hand axe wouldn't work, either mechanically or thematically.
I suppose it is written that way. Not a big deal, but a little disappointing.
I know this is a little out of date but on this spell, the way it reads it's a one time hit "The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition. " is this the case? If they use the spell is it supposed to apply to each ranged attack during the minute?
Just once. Think of it like a mini fireball.