When using the Blessing of the Raven Queen, can a player take someone else with them? What happens if they teleport while holding another person? Or if two people are each holding one end of a rope and one teleports, what happens?
You cannot teleport with another creature, only with objects you are wearing/carrying. Some spells specifically mention when a creature can be teleported with you, such as Thunder Step and Dimension Door. I'd say that in the case of the rope, the rope would go with you, but not the person on the other end.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Sorry to resurrect this, but I have another question about this ability. Could a shadar-kai barbarian use this ability while raging? Strictly speaking, it does not say "cast misty step", it says you teleport. That seems to be a very lawyer-y interpretation though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Sorry to resurrect this, but I have another question about this ability. Could a shadar-kai barbarian use this ability while raging? Strictly speaking, it does not say "cast misty step", it says you teleport. That seems to be a very lawyer-y interpretation though.
Since the ability does not refer to casting a spell, you can use it. So RAW you can use Blessing of the Raven Queen provided you have a bonus action and haven't used it yet. This is often intentional because of abilities such as rage that disable spells. Note that it still is considered "magical" since it's in the text, so in an antimagic field it would not work.
Now with this ability, if you are grappled or are grappling something does the creature teleport with you or does it break the grapple?
That was covered correctly already above, in the second post in this thread. Unless a rule says otherwise, when you teleport, you don't take any creatures with you. Assuming we're discussing the Shadar-Kai racial teleport, neither the MTF nor MPMM version has a rule saying otherwise. Per the definition of grappled, leaving reach will break a grapple, including via teleportation.
So, am I correct in thinking that because Blessing of the Raven Queen is not a spell, whereas Mysty Step is, then one could teleport via BOLRQ and then cast a spell using a bonus action followed by an action?!
So, am I correct in thinking that because Blessing of the Raven Queen is not a spell, whereas Mysty Step is, then one could teleport via BOLRQ and then cast a spell using a bonus action followed by an action?!
No. You'll have already used your bonus action on Blessing of the Raven Queen, so you don't have a bonus action left to cast a spell. You absolutely can use Blessing of the Raven Queen and then cast a spell with your main action (or do anything else with your main action).
Quick question. Using Blessing of the Raven Queen gives resistance to all types of damages so basically the next attack is halfed. What if you also have the Ring of Shared suffering does that then half the already halfed damage?
Quick question. Using Blessing of the Raven Queen gives resistance to all types of damages so basically the next attack is halfed. What if you also have the Ring of Shared suffering does that then half the already halfed damage?
The incoming damage would be halved, then halved again with both wearer's each taking what is in effect a quarter of the original damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When using the Blessing of the Raven Queen, can a player take someone else with them? What happens if they teleport while holding another person? Or if two people are each holding one end of a rope and one teleports, what happens?
You cannot teleport with another creature, only with objects you are wearing/carrying. Some spells specifically mention when a creature can be teleported with you, such as Thunder Step and Dimension Door. I'd say that in the case of the rope, the rope would go with you, but not the person on the other end.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Sorry to resurrect this, but I have another question about this ability. Could a shadar-kai barbarian use this ability while raging? Strictly speaking, it does not say "cast misty step", it says you teleport. That seems to be a very lawyer-y interpretation though.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Since the ability does not refer to casting a spell, you can use it. So RAW you can use Blessing of the Raven Queen provided you have a bonus action and haven't used it yet. This is often intentional because of abilities such as rage that disable spells. Note that it still is considered "magical" since it's in the text, so in an antimagic field it would not work.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Can you use trance to restore the blessing of the raven queen
You get it back when you finish a long rest. Trance isn’t relevant per se, only by virtue of it being how elves usually finish a long rest.
Can Blessing of the Raven Queen be counterspelled?
No, since it is an ability and not a spell.
No, counterspell only works against spells, and as noted earlier the Blessing of the Raven Queen ability is a magical ability, not a spell.
Now with this ability, if you are grappled or are grappling something does the creature teleport with you or does it break the grapple?
That was covered correctly already above, in the second post in this thread. Unless a rule says otherwise, when you teleport, you don't take any creatures with you. Assuming we're discussing the Shadar-Kai racial teleport, neither the MTF nor MPMM version has a rule saying otherwise. Per the definition of grappled, leaving reach will break a grapple, including via teleportation.
Cool, thanks for the clarification, either way I think it is a strong movement ability that I'm excited to try out.
So, am I correct in thinking that because Blessing of the Raven Queen is not a spell, whereas Mysty Step is, then one could teleport via BOLRQ and then cast a spell using a bonus action followed by an action?!
No. You'll have already used your bonus action on Blessing of the Raven Queen, so you don't have a bonus action left to cast a spell. You absolutely can use Blessing of the Raven Queen and then cast a spell with your main action (or do anything else with your main action).
Thanks Saga, I worded my question poorly but you answered it anyway :)
Quick question. Using Blessing of the Raven Queen gives resistance to all types of damages so basically the next attack is halfed. What if you also have the Ring of Shared suffering does that then half the already halfed damage?
The incoming damage would be halved, then halved again with both wearer's each taking what is in effect a quarter of the original damage.
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.