"While this pearl is on your person, you can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level. Once you use the pearl, it can't be used again until the next dawn."
Perhaps a dumb question but does this literally mean you get one spell slot lower than what you wish for? If I spend a 3rd level slot and only have a 3rd level slot missing and use this what happens? Do I get a temporary extra 2nd level slot or do I waste the use? Very weird item...
You regain a spell slot spent - the spell slot you regain can never be higher than 3rd level. If I have only used a 2nd level slot, and then use the Pearl, I get a 2nd level spell slot back. If I have used a 4th level spell and use the pearl, I get a 3rd level spell slot back.
the wording "If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level" has been mainly done for warlocks . IN case of warlocks, at 7th level you have only 4th level spell slots. With the pearls you regain 1 spell slots, but it is a 3rd level spell slot.
As filcat said. The confusion is due to the original wording, which was more or less "You can use an action to speak this pearl's command word and regain one expended spell slot of up to 3rd level. "
As it was, you couldn't use it at if you didn't have expended slots of 3rd level or lower, and Warlocks after 7th level had no 3rd level slots at all.
With the errata, the pearl can be used if you've expended a slot of any level, but the returned slot will be no higher than 3rd, even if you've expended a 9th level slot. It helps other classes a little too, technically (in the rare case that you've only expended spell slots of 4th level or higher), but it shouldn't even register in most non-Warlock cases.
What's the impact if you have not used any 3rd level slots, but you use the pearl to restore a spent 4th+ lvl spell? Do you go over your usual amount of 3rd level slots? I.E, you are a 7th level wizard who has 1 4th level slot and 3 3rd-level slots and you cast the 4th lvl and then use the pearl, do you wind up with 4 3rd level slots? Or can you just not use the Pearl? I'm leaning heavily on the former (Sorcerers can do this with SPs, so why not an item), but it's not 100% clear...
Thanks everyone! Somehow it is very clear in the wording once you explained it. I can not believe I did not catch that you can not regain a slots past 3rd level. I just thought they were giving an example...thanks again.
you don't gain a surplus of spell slots. if you had no spent spell slots of 3rd level or lower, but you had 1 4th level spell slot spent, you couldn't use the pearl. it regains an "expended" spell slot of 3rd level or lower. if you had all of your slots remaining, you haven't expended anything.
you don't gain a surplus of spell slots. if you had no spent spell slots of 3rd level or lower, but you had 1 4th level spell slot spent, you couldn't use the pearl. it regains an "expended" spell slot of 3rd level or lower. if you had all of your slots remaining, you haven't expended anything.
Not sure about this.
The wording doesn't suggest you're getting back a 3rd level spell slot, it suggests that the expended slot that you get back, if it's above 4th level, becomes a 3rd level slot for the purposes of the pearl.
"If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level"
you don't gain a surplus of spell slots. if you had no spent spell slots of 3rd level or lower, but you had 1 4th level spell slot spent, you couldn't use the pearl. it regains an "expended" spell slot of 3rd level or lower. if you had all of your slots remaining, you haven't expended anything.
Not sure about this.
The wording doesn't suggest you're getting back a 3rd level spell slot, it suggests that the expended slot that you get back, if it's above 4th level, becomes a 3rd level slot for the purposes of the pearl.
"If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level"
that's an errata specifically to clear up spell slots for warlocks. they eventually only have a certain level that ALL of their spells slots are.
you're only supposed to get up to 3rd level spell slots. that'd mean after 6th level a warlock could never use a Pearl of Power again. so they added that statement so as to allow them to still use it.
so.. say you're a 7th level wizard. all you've cast is 1 4th level spell. you can't use the pearl. you actually have no expended 3rd level slots or lower.
if you're a 7th level warlock, ALL of your spells slots are 4th level, so if you use a pearl it gives you back a spell slot cause it "lowers" it down to 3rd level. It's terrible wording that all they had to do was add in "in case of pact magic, you regain 1 used spell slot"
regardless, in the end you can never have more spell slots of a level than your class chart states. in that above wizard example, you can't use a pearl to have 4 3rd level spell slots since your cap at that level is 3 spell slots of that level.
on a side note, i come across these various rule questions while looking for something else related, and i personally don't understand how these things are misunderstood or even debated
In the end it probably doesn't matter if a character gets a spell slot back even if it puts them over their regular limit.
it DOES matter. like it has been done in every addition of dnd, as well as pretty much every rpg, you can't over a limit set in place. so sure, i guess you could use it and waste the power for the day, but you don't get to have a reserve.
again, as i mentioned before, I really can't fathom how people see how this is questionable. read the chapter on magic. it clearly defines what spell slots are and how they are limited by your level per day. its one of those issues where "well it DOESN'T say i can't do this, so i can right?" no.. cause it already says what you CAN do, and that's all you need to read.
on a side note, i come across these various rule questions while looking for something else related, and i personally don't understand how these things are misunderstood or even debated
And yet here we are, debating! Aren't forums fun?
Whatever the original intention was, the errata states that if you use the pearl to recover a 4th level slot or above, that new slot is 3rd level.
As written, that means you recover your expended 4th (or above) slot, but it becomes a 3rd level slot when you do.
you...cant... recover.. something.. not.. spent. why is this hard for you to understand?
it doesn't matter what it converts to, it matters that when it converts to 3rd level, if you have ZERO expended 3rd level slots, nothing happens, congrats you just wasted your pearl of power until the next dawn.
you're again not reading what's being typed to you, the errata is specifically for Warlocks, not for the other classes. that's why it says "4th level or higher converts to a 3rd level slot" because warlocks stop having 3rd level spell slots after 6th level. its a clarification so people know that warlocks can still use them after 6th level, nothing more.
sorry, you can't over charge your 3rd levels spells as a trick to bypass the rules, no matter how you try to "interpret" it.
According to you the errata is Warlock specific due to the fact that the wording needed to be changed in order for Warlocks of higher levels to be able to use it.
Now if we take the statement made by Crawford the errata makes it Warlock friendly. In order for something to become "Warlock friendly" it would mean that the item had to exclude the Warlock in the first place.
With that, it could be interpreted that the errata was for the Warlock only, however:
---
The first sentence is now two sentences: “While this pearl is on your person, you can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level.”
Where in this errata does it call out the Warlock? Where in here does it say "If you are a Warlock"? Where in here does it create exclusivity?
you...cant... recover.. something.. not.. spent. why is this hard for you to understand?
it doesn't matter what it converts to, it matters that when it converts to 3rd level, if you have ZERO expended 3rd level slots, nothing happens, congrats you just wasted your pearl of power until the next dawn.
you're again not reading what's being typed to you, the errata is specifically for Warlocks, not for the other classes. that's why it says "4th level or higher converts to a 3rd level slot" because warlocks stop having 3rd level spell slots after 6th level. its a clarification so people know that warlocks can still use them after 6th level, nothing more.
sorry, you can't over charge your 3rd levels spells as a trick to bypass the rules, no matter how you try to "interpret" it.
This argument invalidates itself on its own merit. You can not, by your own words, gain a 3rd level slot if you have not spent a 3rd level slot.
A warlock of 7th level has no 3rd level spell slots. The Pearl is still worthless to them, you can't gain a 3rd level slot not spent.
It does not say "If you are a Warlock, you gain a 3rd level slot", it is not exclusive to the Warlock in its description.
Thus it is not a Warlock exclusive item/effect.
Leading to the result: Any caster who uses this item, after having cast a 4th level spell or higher, gains a 3rd level slot regardless of how many available slots there are.
you...cant... recover.. something.. not.. spent. why is this hard for you to understand?
Firstly, I don't appreciate the attitude: we're all here to discuss in a rational and respectful manner. It's not worth riling yourself up over.
Secondly, as written, you're not recovering a 3rd level spell slot if you use it to recover a spell slot of 4th (or higher) level. The slot you recover becomes a 3rd level spell slot: 'If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, that new slot is 3rd level '.
You'd be correct if the wording was: 'If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, you recover a 3rd level spell slot (if able) instead.' But that's not what it says.
it doesn't matter what it converts to, it matters that when it converts to 3rd level, if you have ZERO expended 3rd level slots, nothing happens, congrats you just wasted your pearl of power until the next dawn.
That's not what it says, as written. It says that if you use the Pearl to recover an expended slot of 4th level, or higher, it becomes a 3rd level spell slot.
you're again not reading what's being typed to you, the errata is specifically for Warlocks, not for the other classes. that's why it says "4th level or higher converts to a 3rd level slot" because warlocks stop having 3rd level spell slots after 6th level. its a clarification so people know that warlocks can still use them after 6th level, nothing more.
If I'm missing the part about Warlocks in the item description or subsequent errata, please point it out. As it stands, I'm reading exactly what is written, exactly as it is written. Of course, it was written with Warlocks in mind, but that doesn't change the fact - the item's description makes no mention of class.
well first off the attitude come from you being told the same thing by 2-3 different people multiple times only to keep circling around to an invalid argument.
you don't have have the wording "(if able to)" because it states clearly the limitations of spell slots under the section for magic.
you're clearly only reading what you to as a means to effectively cheat the system. you've been told 3 times by 2 different people that the errata about 4th level slots ONLY pertains to Warlocks, being that they stop having lower level slots. you're still stubbornly ignoring that fact.
so the bottom line, as i'm done with having a circular argument because all you want is someone to back you up on your false interpretations of the rules, is if that if you can find a DM to actually side with your wording, i guess go you. but i'm willing to bet 90% of DMs are gonna follow whats being stated to you here. more so from the fact that in arguing with you, i've looked up this question on other forums and they all say the same thing I, Wysperra, and TexasDevin.
oh and lastly by the item's own description "you regain one expended spell slot..." regardless of the level or if a higher converts down to 3rd, it still has to be an expended slot to regain. if you have no expended 3rd level or lower slots, you regain NOTHING.
man after 20 years of DMing, it still amazes me at the level of effort to manipulate the rules to effectively cheat.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"While this pearl is on your person, you can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level. Once you use the pearl, it can't be used again until the next dawn."
Perhaps a dumb question but does this literally mean you get one spell slot lower than what you wish for? If I spend a 3rd level slot and only have a 3rd level slot missing and use this what happens? Do I get a temporary extra 2nd level slot or do I waste the use? Very weird item...
You regain a spell slot spent - the spell slot you regain can never be higher than 3rd level. If I have only used a 2nd level slot, and then use the Pearl, I get a 2nd level spell slot back. If I have used a 4th level spell and use the pearl, I get a 3rd level spell slot back.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
the wording "If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level" has been mainly done for warlocks . IN case of warlocks, at 7th level you have only 4th level spell slots. With the pearls you regain 1 spell slots, but it is a 3rd level spell slot.
But, of course, the rule stays for every class.
As filcat said. The confusion is due to the original wording, which was more or less "You can use an action to speak this pearl's command word and regain one expended spell slot of up to 3rd level. "
As it was, you couldn't use it at if you didn't have expended slots of 3rd level or lower, and Warlocks after 7th level had no 3rd level slots at all.
With the errata, the pearl can be used if you've expended a slot of any level, but the returned slot will be no higher than 3rd, even if you've expended a 9th level slot. It helps other classes a little too, technically (in the rare case that you've only expended spell slots of 4th level or higher), but it shouldn't even register in most non-Warlock cases.
What's the impact if you have not used any 3rd level slots, but you use the pearl to restore a spent 4th+ lvl spell? Do you go over your usual amount of 3rd level slots? I.E, you are a 7th level wizard who has 1 4th level slot and 3 3rd-level slots and you cast the 4th lvl and then use the pearl, do you wind up with 4 3rd level slots? Or can you just not use the Pearl? I'm leaning heavily on the former (Sorcerers can do this with SPs, so why not an item), but it's not 100% clear...
Yes, in that case, it is like you over-accumulate 3rd level spell slots.
Thanks everyone! Somehow it is very clear in the wording once you explained it. I can not believe I did not catch that you can not regain a slots past 3rd level. I just thought they were giving an example...thanks again.
you don't gain a surplus of spell slots. if you had no spent spell slots of 3rd level or lower, but you had 1 4th level spell slot spent, you couldn't use the pearl. it regains an "expended" spell slot of 3rd level or lower. if you had all of your slots remaining, you haven't expended anything.
Not sure about this.
The wording doesn't suggest you're getting back a 3rd level spell slot, it suggests that the expended slot that you get back, if it's above 4th level, becomes a 3rd level slot for the purposes of the pearl.
"If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level"
But if you haven’t used any of your 3rd level spell slots to begin with, why even use the pearl yet?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Because you'd be able to convert an expended 4th (or higher) spell slot into an additional 3rd level spell slot.
Its use in this way is limited, but there's no downside to giving yourself an additional 3rd level slot each day.
In the end it probably doesn't matter if a character gets a spell slot back even if it puts them over their regular limit.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
that's an errata specifically to clear up spell slots for warlocks. they eventually only have a certain level that ALL of their spells slots are.
you're only supposed to get up to 3rd level spell slots. that'd mean after 6th level a warlock could never use a Pearl of Power again. so they added that statement so as to allow them to still use it.
so.. say you're a 7th level wizard. all you've cast is 1 4th level spell. you can't use the pearl. you actually have no expended 3rd level slots or lower.
if you're a 7th level warlock, ALL of your spells slots are 4th level, so if you use a pearl it gives you back a spell slot cause it "lowers" it down to 3rd level. It's terrible wording that all they had to do was add in "in case of pact magic, you regain 1 used spell slot"
regardless, in the end you can never have more spell slots of a level than your class chart states. in that above wizard example, you can't use a pearl to have 4 3rd level spell slots since your cap at that level is 3 spell slots of that level.
on a side note, i come across these various rule questions while looking for something else related, and i personally don't understand how these things are misunderstood or even debated
it DOES matter. like it has been done in every addition of dnd, as well as pretty much every rpg, you can't over a limit set in place. so sure, i guess you could use it and waste the power for the day, but you don't get to have a reserve.
again, as i mentioned before, I really can't fathom how people see how this is questionable. read the chapter on magic. it clearly defines what spell slots are and how they are limited by your level per day. its one of those issues where "well it DOESN'T say i can't do this, so i can right?" no.. cause it already says what you CAN do, and that's all you need to read.
And yet here we are, debating! Aren't forums fun?
Whatever the original intention was, the errata states that if you use the pearl to recover a 4th level slot or above, that new slot is 3rd level.
As written, that means you recover your expended 4th (or above) slot, but it becomes a 3rd level slot when you do.
you...cant... recover.. something.. not.. spent. why is this hard for you to understand?
it doesn't matter what it converts to, it matters that when it converts to 3rd level, if you have ZERO expended 3rd level slots, nothing happens, congrats you just wasted your pearl of power until the next dawn.
you're again not reading what's being typed to you, the errata is specifically for Warlocks, not for the other classes. that's why it says "4th level or higher converts to a 3rd level slot" because warlocks stop having 3rd level spell slots after 6th level. its a clarification so people know that warlocks can still use them after 6th level, nothing more.
sorry, you can't over charge your 3rd levels spells as a trick to bypass the rules, no matter how you try to "interpret" it.
According to you the errata is Warlock specific due to the fact that the wording needed to be changed in order for Warlocks of higher levels to be able to use it.
Now if we take the statement made by Crawford the errata makes it Warlock friendly. In order for something to become "Warlock friendly" it would mean that the item had to exclude the Warlock in the first place.
With that, it could be interpreted that the errata was for the Warlock only, however:
---
Where in this errata does it call out the Warlock? Where in here does it say "If you are a Warlock"? Where in here does it create exclusivity?
----
This argument invalidates itself on its own merit. You can not, by your own words, gain a 3rd level slot if you have not spent a 3rd level slot.
A warlock of 7th level has no 3rd level spell slots. The Pearl is still worthless to them, you can't gain a 3rd level slot not spent.
It does not say "If you are a Warlock, you gain a 3rd level slot", it is not exclusive to the Warlock in its description.
Thus it is not a Warlock exclusive item/effect.
Leading to the result: Any caster who uses this item, after having cast a 4th level spell or higher, gains a 3rd level slot regardless of how many available slots there are.
Firstly, I don't appreciate the attitude: we're all here to discuss in a rational and respectful manner. It's not worth riling yourself up over.
Secondly, as written, you're not recovering a 3rd level spell slot if you use it to recover a spell slot of 4th (or higher) level. The slot you recover becomes a 3rd level spell slot: 'If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, that new slot is 3rd level '.
You'd be correct if the wording was: 'If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, you recover a 3rd level spell slot (if able) instead.' But that's not what it says.
That's not what it says, as written. It says that if you use the Pearl to recover an expended slot of 4th level, or higher, it becomes a 3rd level spell slot.
If I'm missing the part about Warlocks in the item description or subsequent errata, please point it out. As it stands, I'm reading exactly what is written, exactly as it is written. Of course, it was written with Warlocks in mind, but that doesn't change the fact - the item's description makes no mention of class.
No apology needed. If you want to rule that you can't have an additional 3rd level spell slot at your table - go for it.
well first off the attitude come from you being told the same thing by 2-3 different people multiple times only to keep circling around to an invalid argument.
you don't have have the wording "(if able to)" because it states clearly the limitations of spell slots under the section for magic.
you're clearly only reading what you to as a means to effectively cheat the system. you've been told 3 times by 2 different people that the errata about 4th level slots ONLY pertains to Warlocks, being that they stop having lower level slots. you're still stubbornly ignoring that fact.
so the bottom line, as i'm done with having a circular argument because all you want is someone to back you up on your false interpretations of the rules, is if that if you can find a DM to actually side with your wording, i guess go you. but i'm willing to bet 90% of DMs are gonna follow whats being stated to you here. more so from the fact that in arguing with you, i've looked up this question on other forums and they all say the same thing I, Wysperra, and TexasDevin.
oh and lastly by the item's own description "you regain one expended spell slot..." regardless of the level or if a higher converts down to 3rd, it still has to be an expended slot to regain. if you have no expended 3rd level or lower slots, you regain NOTHING.
man after 20 years of DMing, it still amazes me at the level of effort to manipulate the rules to effectively cheat.