oh and lastly by the item's own description "you regain one expended spell slot..." regardless of the level or if a higher converts down to 3rd, it still has to be an expended slot to regain. if you have no expended 3rd level or lower slots, you regain NOTHING.
man after 20 years of DMing, it still amazes me at the level of effort to manipulate the rules to effectively cheat.
Then how does this help a 7th level warlock? At 7th level they only have 4th level spell slots, when they cast a spell they expend a 4th level slot, they have no 3rd level spell slots at all. How is the re-wording of the spell "Warlock friendly"?
well first off the attitude come from you being told the same thing by 2-3 different people multiple times only to keep circling around to an invalid argument.
I believe you're the only one in this thread that's explicitly disagreed with that interpretation of the item's description. Disagreeing does not constitute an invalid argument.
you don't have have the wording "(if able to)" because it states clearly the limitations of spell slots under the section for magic.
In the Players Handbook, on Page 7, there's a section on 'Specific beats General', which explains that a specific rule beats a general one. Quote (emphasis mine):
'many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works.' (PHB, P7)
you're clearly only reading what you to as a means to effectively cheat the system.
I don't need to cheat the system. I'm a DM. I'm reading the item's description, exactly as written. I won't patronise you by quoting it again. I'd ask you don't patronise me by assuming I'm a player trying to cheat.
you've been told 3 times by 2 different people that the errata about 4th level slots ONLY pertains to Warlocks, being that they stop having lower level slots. you're still stubbornly ignoring that fact.
Can you please remind me where I've been told that this only pertains to Warlocks? Posts in this thread explain how it applies to Warlocks, sure - but also that it (of course) applies to all classes. The errata itself makes no mention of Warlocks, and Jeremy Crawford merely mentions that it's now 'Warlock friendly'. Am I missing something?
so the bottom line, as i'm done with having a circular argument because all you want is someone to back you up on your false interpretations of the rules, is if that if you can find a DM to actually side with your wording, i guess go you. but i'm willing to bet 90% of DMs are gonna follow whats being stated to you here. more so from the fact that in arguing with you, i've looked up this question on other forums and they all say the same thing I, Wysperra, and TexasDevin.
I think you've got me confused with a player trying to 'game' the system again. Go ahead and rule whatever you like at your table, that's your prerogative as a DM. There are plenty of people here that interpret the description in the same way I do.
oh and lastly by the item's own description "you regain one expended spell slot..." regardless of the level or if a higher converts down to 3rd, it still has to be an expended slot to regain. if you have no expended 3rd level or lower slots, you regain NOTHING.
man after 20 years of DMing, it still amazes me at the level of effort to manipulate the rules to effectively cheat.
Oh, I wasn't going to quote the description again, but if it'll help you see my interpretation, here we go.
'You can use an action to speak it's Command Word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slotis of 4th level of higher, the new slot is 3rd level'
So let's break it down.
1) You can regain one expended spell slot. I choose to regain an expended 4th level spell slot.
2) Because I chose to regain a 4th level spell slot, the new slot I regain is 3rd level.
The expended slot you are recovering is 4th level or higher. But it becomes a 3rd level slot. It makes no mention of requiring an expended 3rd level slot, because that's not the slot it's recovering.
You may decide that you don't like that interpretation of the rule. That's fine; as a DM, you can rule as you see best. Perhaps we'll see some further errata that clarifies the items description. Until then, I'll read it as I see it.
As you no longer want to chew the fat over this, we'll leave it there. Happy adventuring.
This book contains rules, especially in parts 2 and 3, that govern how the game plays. That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abili ties, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contra dicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.
This means an item like pearl of power can create a 3rd level spell slot even if you haven’t used any 3rd level spells.
Then how does this help a 7th level warlock? At 7th level they only have 4th level spell slots, when they cast a spell they expend a 4th level slot, they have no 3rd level spell slots at all. How is the re-wording of the spell "Warlock friendly"?
I believe you're the only one in this thread that's explicitly disagreed with that interpretation of the item's description. Disagreeing does not constitute an invalid argument.
In the Players Handbook, on Page 7, there's a section on 'Specific beats General', which explains that a specific rule beats a general one. Quote (emphasis mine):
'many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works.' (PHB, P7)
I don't need to cheat the system. I'm a DM. I'm reading the item's description, exactly as written. I won't patronise you by quoting it again. I'd ask you don't patronise me by assuming I'm a player trying to cheat.
Can you please remind me where I've been told that this only pertains to Warlocks? Posts in this thread explain how it applies to Warlocks, sure - but also that it (of course) applies to all classes. The errata itself makes no mention of Warlocks, and Jeremy Crawford merely mentions that it's now 'Warlock friendly'. Am I missing something?
I think you've got me confused with a player trying to 'game' the system again. Go ahead and rule whatever you like at your table, that's your prerogative as a DM. There are plenty of people here that interpret the description in the same way I do.
Oh, I wasn't going to quote the description again, but if it'll help you see my interpretation, here we go.
'You can use an action to speak it's Command Word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot is of 4th level of higher, the new slot is 3rd level'
So let's break it down.
1) You can regain one expended spell slot. I choose to regain an expended 4th level spell slot.
2) Because I chose to regain a 4th level spell slot, the new slot I regain is 3rd level.
The expended slot you are recovering is 4th level or higher. But it becomes a 3rd level slot. It makes no mention of requiring an expended 3rd level slot, because that's not the slot it's recovering.
You may decide that you don't like that interpretation of the rule. That's fine; as a DM, you can rule as you see best. Perhaps we'll see some further errata that clarifies the items description. Until then, I'll read it as I see it.
As you no longer want to chew the fat over this, we'll leave it there. Happy adventuring.
It's funny how a single class can mess stuff up so solidly.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
PHB. Page 7
This book contains rules, especially in parts 2 and 3, that govern how the game plays. That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abili ties, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contra dicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.
This means an item like pearl of power can create a 3rd level spell slot even if you haven’t used any 3rd level spells.
Maybe Pearls of Power just aren't great items for Warlocks beyond level 6.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
As to the rules, I’d just go with what it says on page 7 of the phb and read the item as is.
This has fulfilled its purpose, however, it has been used for personal attacks.
We appreciate the contribution of the community to clarification an hope you'll continue to do so in other threads.