I just started playing an artificer last night. I'm still at level one. The artificer Spellcasting says that I can use an artisan's tool or an infused item (available level 2) to cast a spell. I take it this means I need a free hand to cast spells at level 1? So using a sword & shield would stop me from casting spells until I can I fuse one of them at level 2?
Once I have an infused item at level 2, can I then cast all my spells using it, even if they don't have a material component? I think I read for paladins that they need the warcaster feat to cast spells that have only somatic components and no material components if they're using a sword and shield. With the artificer, should I assume that all spells have an implied material component, meaning that I don't need warcaster (at least not to enable casting while using an infused sword & shield)?
Would that mean I can use cure wounds without a free hand? I guess some healing needles eject from my I fused sword or something similar.
It is really up to the DM. I am serious when I say this, persuade your DM with logical choices. I mostly use a Magic Crossbow. So I have a free hand technically. Sometimes I use a shield and a Blacksmith Hammer. (I use throwing hammer stats.) So when I use Shield spell, think like Thor spinning his hammer for the Somatic component. I believe there is an awesome thread here: Flavoring Artificer Spells with list of spell ideas for Artificers. I have not checked on it in quite some time. I am enjoying 4th level, and have come up with most of my Spells with logical (albeit fantasy created) uses. I do not pick spells unless I think there is an almost real-world possibility to explain how I could do it without magic. For Feather Fall I have wings that slow my fall but can not fly with. They pop open like a parachute almost. Dancing Lights- A phosphorous moss I shoot from my magic crossbow. Shocking Grasp, Absorb Elements- easy ones. I have a Kyber crystal power source for many of my spells. I do not technically have an Ironman like suit, more like a mix of tinkered gear. My shield helps with Absorb Elements, Gauntlets for Shocking Grasp. Cure wounds-Is not magic, I have an alchemist salve. Heroism is a Drug I give. I have not used that one because I made it addictive. Every time it is used the character has to roll a constitution check. Low DC first time used. It goes up 2 each time. MY allies do not know this yet, lol. Our group are criminals, so it makes sense in my mind...lol. Have fun and feel free to throw ideas my way and look at the above-linked source. It is where you want to ask this question if you did not see it already....
I just started playing an artificer last night. I'm still at level one. The artificer Spellcasting says that I can use an artisan's tool or an infused item (available level 2) to cast a spell. I take it this means I need a free hand to cast spells at level 1? So using a sword & shield would stop me from casting spells until I can I fuse one of them at level 2?
Once I have an infused item at level 2, can I then cast all my spells using it, even if they don't have a material component? I think I read for paladins that they need the warcaster feat to cast spells that have only somatic components and no material components if they're using a sword and shield. With the artificer, should I assume that all spells have an implied material component, meaning that I don't need warcaster (at least not to enable casting while using an infused sword & shield)?
Would that mean I can use cure wounds without a free hand? I guess some healing needles eject from my I fused sword or something similar.
As a paladin or cleric, you can engrave your shield with the emblem of your deity and use that as a focus while using your shield as stated on the Holy Symbol paragraph on page 151 of the PHB. So Warcaster isn't necessary as you're still using it.
Using RAW, currently at level 1 using a sword and shield will stop you from casting spells. But at level 2, you can use your infusions for this as long as you're currently equipped with an infused weapon/shield. So you can use cure wounds without a free hand, if you're holding your infusions. Such as a shield that ejects healing salves when using cure wounds. However if you are playing an alchemist, be warned that your level 5 feature won't work that way unless you hold alchemist supplies.
I just started playing an artificer last night. I'm still at level one. The artificer Spellcasting says that I can use an artisan's tool or an infused item (available level 2) to cast a spell. I take it this means I need a free hand to cast spells at level 1? So using a sword & shield would stop me from casting spells until I can I fuse one of them at level 2?
Once I have an infused item at level 2, can I then cast all my spells using it, even if they don't have a material component? I think I read for paladins that they need the warcaster feat to cast spells that have only somatic components and no material components if they're using a sword and shield. With the artificer, should I assume that all spells have an implied material component, meaning that I don't need warcaster (at least not to enable casting while using an infused sword & shield)?
Would that mean I can use cure wounds without a free hand? I guess some healing needles eject from my I fused sword or something similar.
As a paladin or cleric, you can engrave your shield with the emblem of your deity and use that as a focus while using your shield as stated on the Holy Symbol paragraph on page 151 of the PHB. So Warcaster isn't necessary as you're still using it.
Using RAW, currently at level 1 using a sword and shield will stop you from casting spells. But at level 2, you can use your infusions for this as long as you're currently equipped with an infused weapon/shield. So you can use cure wounds without a free hand, if you're holding your infusions. Such as a shield that ejects healing salves when using cure wounds. However if you are playing an alchemist, be warned that your level 5 feature won't work that way unless you hold alchemist supplies.
Thanks for this reply. I thought the issue with paladin/cleric was that they can use the holy symbol to replace material components, but if the spell requires only verbal and somatic then they need warcaster to cast that spell. It seems that artificer with an infused weapon or shield is not restricted in this way. So warcaster is a somewhat weaker feat for artificers compared to other casters?
I think I get it now, just one last question. I have the booming blade cantrip, due to being an elf. I would need a free offhand to cast that spell as a level 1 artificer, since I need to have tools in hand, even though the spell itself only requires a weapon as material component?
I guess this balances out the fact that artificer gets access to spells at level 1, earlier than other half caster classes.
Which also means. As a sidennote taht Alchemist and Artilriist lv 5 features don't apply to spells you get from race, magic initiate, and spell slinger.
though there is an argument for spell slinger working. In that, it-unlike the other magic gaining feats--requires you to have pre-established casthing method. And it uses "you learn" While stuff like magic initiate uses "you learn to cast" Or well wording simliar anyway, I don't remember the exact wording off hand. Did a few days ago though.
So.. There is potential for one to ask a GM to allow it. Mine did thankfully because I really wanted Chill Touch for an Alchemist. I really hated that firestrike was the only option for my alchemist
Which also means. As a sidennote taht Alchemist and Artilriist lv 5 features don't apply to spells you get from race, magic initiate, and spell slinger.
though there is an argument for spell slinger working. In that, it-unlike the other magic gaining feats--requires you to have pre-established casthing method. And it uses "you learn" While stuff like magic initiate uses "you learn to cast" Or well wording simliar anyway, I don't remember the exact wording off hand. Did a few days ago though.
So.. There is potential for one to ask a GM to allow it. Mine did thankfully because I really wanted Chill Touch for an Alchemist. I really hated that firestrike was the only option for my alchemist
What is Spell Slinger? I am caught off guard every once in a while by UA or previous edition rules but DnDBeyond only has it in Xanathar's as another name for Wizard. It is a feat? I can not find it in the feat section.
Ah. Damn. No that is my bad. For some reason I've ALWAYS called "SPELL SNIPER" wrong. I meant Sniper, not slinger. The feat that increases your range, helps with cover, and lets you learn 1 cantrip.
I'll quote the bits below that I meant. It probably isn't what they meant. but there is space to argue the wording and pre-req means you're casting it with your spellcasting ability--just using a different Casting Stat if you pick it up from a different one.
it probably wasn't written with concerns to spellcasting methods, since I dont think there was any in Players Handbook era when it came out. but hey, might as well ask your GM if they'll let it go. I wouldn't try this in the Adventerur's League though
My GM let it work for Alchemist's Alchemical Savant because that abiltiy only requires me to use Alchemical Tool Focus to gain the bonus- this reads that you're casting it same as the prereq method. But. Would not work for Artilirist (I assume) because Artilirist specifies On the Artificer Spell List. Which this doesn't call out.
Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the wizard spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this cantrip is (CASTING STAT DEPENDENT ON WHICH VERSION)
Ah. Damn. No that is my bad. For some reason I've ALWAYS called "SPELL SNIPER" wrong. I meant Sniper, not slinger. The feat that increases your range, helps with cover, and lets you learn 1 cantrip.
I'll quote the bits below that I meant. It probably isn't what they meant. but there is space to argue the wording and pre-req means you're casting it with your spellcasting ability--just using a different Casting Stat if you pick it up from a different one.
it probably wasn't written with concerns to spellcasting methods, since I dont think there was any in Players Handbook era when it came out. but hey, might as well ask your GM if they'll let it go. I wouldn't try this in the Adventerur's League though
My GM let it work for Alchemist's Alchemical Savant because that abiltiy only requires me to use Alchemical Tool Focus to gain the bonus- this reads that you're casting it same as the prereq method. But. Would not work for Artilirist (I assume) because Artilirist specifies On the Artificer Spell List. Which this doesn't call out.
Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the wizard spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this cantrip is (CASTING STAT DEPENDENT ON WHICH VERSION)
No worries! I started to think you meant Spell Sniper, but there is so much out there in Unearthed Arcana and so many players that have played the past 20 years straight, while I went from stop playing in the 1980's, to nearly 40 years later picking up with 5e. I am one of the rare old-timer players who is glad "THACO" has gone bye-bye!!!
I just started playing an artificer last night. I'm still at level one. The artificer Spellcasting says that I can use an artisan's tool or an infused item (available level 2) to cast a spell. I take it this means I need a free hand to cast spells at level 1? So using a sword & shield would stop me from casting spells until I can I fuse one of them at level 2?
Once I have an infused item at level 2, can I then cast all my spells using it, even if they don't have a material component? I think I read for paladins that they need the warcaster feat to cast spells that have only somatic components and no material components if they're using a sword and shield. With the artificer, should I assume that all spells have an implied material component, meaning that I don't need warcaster (at least not to enable casting while using an infused sword & shield)?
Would that mean I can use cure wounds without a free hand? I guess some healing needles eject from my I fused sword or something similar.
As a paladin or cleric, you can engrave your shield with the emblem of your deity and use that as a focus while using your shield as stated on the Holy Symbol paragraph on page 151 of the PHB. So Warcaster isn't necessary as you're still using it.
Using RAW, currently at level 1 using a sword and shield will stop you from casting spells. But at level 2, you can use your infusions for this as long as you're currently equipped with an infused weapon/shield. So you can use cure wounds without a free hand, if you're holding your infusions. Such as a shield that ejects healing salves when using cure wounds. However if you are playing an alchemist, be warned that your level 5 feature won't work that way unless you hold alchemist supplies.
I don't think this works. If your hands are full (even with a focus) you cannot cast Cure Wounds without warcaster. Here's the rule for material components:
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Nothing in the artificer rules changes how a focus works. Any focus replaces material components all of the time, but does not replace somatic components unless there is also a material component. This discussion gives a good rundown.
This rule annoying AF, and stupid. The work around is to "drop" your shield and then pick it up with your free action, which is apparently legitimate according to Jeremy Crawford.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just started playing an artificer last night. I'm still at level one. The artificer Spellcasting says that I can use an artisan's tool or an infused item (available level 2) to cast a spell. I take it this means I need a free hand to cast spells at level 1? So using a sword & shield would stop me from casting spells until I can I fuse one of them at level 2?
Once I have an infused item at level 2, can I then cast all my spells using it, even if they don't have a material component? I think I read for paladins that they need the warcaster feat to cast spells that have only somatic components and no material components if they're using a sword and shield. With the artificer, should I assume that all spells have an implied material component, meaning that I don't need warcaster (at least not to enable casting while using an infused sword & shield)?
Would that mean I can use cure wounds without a free hand? I guess some healing needles eject from my I fused sword or something similar.
It is really up to the DM. I am serious when I say this, persuade your DM with logical choices. I mostly use a Magic Crossbow. So I have a free hand technically. Sometimes I use a shield and a Blacksmith Hammer. (I use throwing hammer stats.) So when I use Shield spell, think like Thor spinning his hammer for the Somatic component. I believe there is an awesome thread here: Flavoring Artificer Spells with list of spell ideas for Artificers. I have not checked on it in quite some time. I am enjoying 4th level, and have come up with most of my Spells with logical (albeit fantasy created) uses. I do not pick spells unless I think there is an almost real-world possibility to explain how I could do it without magic. For Feather Fall I have wings that slow my fall but can not fly with. They pop open like a parachute almost. Dancing Lights- A phosphorous moss I shoot from my magic crossbow. Shocking Grasp, Absorb Elements- easy ones. I have a Kyber crystal power source for many of my spells. I do not technically have an Ironman like suit, more like a mix of tinkered gear. My shield helps with Absorb Elements, Gauntlets for Shocking Grasp. Cure wounds-Is not magic, I have an alchemist salve. Heroism is a Drug I give. I have not used that one because I made it addictive. Every time it is used the character has to roll a constitution check. Low DC first time used. It goes up 2 each time. MY allies do not know this yet, lol. Our group are criminals, so it makes sense in my mind...lol. Have fun and feel free to throw ideas my way and look at the above-linked source. It is where you want to ask this question if you did not see it already....
As a paladin or cleric, you can engrave your shield with the emblem of your deity and use that as a focus while using your shield as stated on the Holy Symbol paragraph on page 151 of the PHB. So Warcaster isn't necessary as you're still using it.
Using RAW, currently at level 1 using a sword and shield will stop you from casting spells. But at level 2, you can use your infusions for this as long as you're currently equipped with an infused weapon/shield. So you can use cure wounds without a free hand, if you're holding your infusions. Such as a shield that ejects healing salves when using cure wounds. However if you are playing an alchemist, be warned that your level 5 feature won't work that way unless you hold alchemist supplies.
Thanks for this reply. I thought the issue with paladin/cleric was that they can use the holy symbol to replace material components, but if the spell requires only verbal and somatic then they need warcaster to cast that spell. It seems that artificer with an infused weapon or shield is not restricted in this way. So warcaster is a somewhat weaker feat for artificers compared to other casters?
I think I get it now, just one last question. I have the booming blade cantrip, due to being an elf. I would need a free offhand to cast that spell as a level 1 artificer, since I need to have tools in hand, even though the spell itself only requires a weapon as material component?
I guess this balances out the fact that artificer gets access to spells at level 1, earlier than other half caster classes.
A racial cantrip is not an artificer spell, and therefore doesn't require artificer tools to cast.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Right, of course. It's a separate spellcasting ability. Thanks!
Which also means. As a sidennote taht Alchemist and Artilriist lv 5 features don't apply to spells you get from race, magic initiate, and spell slinger.
though there is an argument for spell slinger working. In that, it-unlike the other magic gaining feats--requires you to have pre-established casthing method. And it uses "you learn" While stuff like magic initiate uses "you learn to cast" Or well wording simliar anyway, I don't remember the exact wording off hand. Did a few days ago though.
So.. There is potential for one to ask a GM to allow it.
Mine did thankfully because I really wanted Chill Touch for an Alchemist. I really hated that firestrike was the only option for my alchemist
What is Spell Slinger? I am caught off guard every once in a while by UA or previous edition rules but DnDBeyond only has it in Xanathar's as another name for Wizard. It is a feat? I can not find it in the feat section.
Ah. Damn. No that is my bad. For some reason I've ALWAYS called "SPELL SNIPER" wrong. I meant Sniper, not slinger.
The feat that increases your range, helps with cover, and lets you learn 1 cantrip.
I'll quote the bits below that I meant. It probably isn't what they meant. but there is space to argue the wording and pre-req means you're casting it with your spellcasting ability--just using a different Casting Stat if you pick it up from a different one.
it probably wasn't written with concerns to spellcasting methods, since I dont think there was any in Players Handbook era when it came out. but hey, might as well ask your GM if they'll let it go. I wouldn't try this in the Adventerur's League though
My GM let it work for Alchemist's Alchemical Savant because that abiltiy only requires me to use Alchemical Tool Focus to gain the bonus- this reads that you're casting it same as the prereq method. But. Would not work for Artilirist (I assume) because Artilirist specifies On the Artificer Spell List. Which this doesn't call out.
Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell
You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the wizard spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this cantrip is (CASTING STAT DEPENDENT ON WHICH VERSION)
No worries! I started to think you meant Spell Sniper, but there is so much out there in Unearthed Arcana and so many players that have played the past 20 years straight, while I went from stop playing in the 1980's, to nearly 40 years later picking up with 5e. I am one of the rare old-timer players who is glad "THACO" has gone bye-bye!!!
THACO?
I started with Pathfinder, Well actually I stared with Exalted and World of Darkness technically. but for d20's it was Pathfinder.
I don't think this works. If your hands are full (even with a focus) you cannot cast Cure Wounds without warcaster. Here's the rule for material components:
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Nothing in the artificer rules changes how a focus works. Any focus replaces material components all of the time, but does not replace somatic components unless there is also a material component. This discussion gives a good rundown.
This rule annoying AF, and stupid. The work around is to "drop" your shield and then pick it up with your free action, which is apparently legitimate according to Jeremy Crawford.