No, it doesn't. When you cast Sorcerous Burst, you only throw energy at a target. The spell doesn't allow you to make a weapon attack and then add the damage of Sorcerous Burst. Sorcerous Burst is its own attack, which is part of the spell's effect. Weapon attacks are not included or allowed in it at all.
"You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder."
RAW, I need to make a ranged attack. As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release. Also, they aren't any material needed in it' so I only need 1 hand for Somatic and a hand crossbow or pistol seem to fit the condition.
And yes, usually they clearly indicate that we use a weapon like in True Strike. However, usually they also indicate "ranged spell attack" not range attack like in Eldritch Blast. So, I don't know.
"You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder."
RAW, I need to make a ranged attack. As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release. Also, they aren't any material needed in it' so I only need 1 hand for Somatic and a hand crossbow or pistol seem to fit the condition.
And yes, usually they clearly indicate that we use a weapon like in True Strike. However, usually they also indicate "ranged spell attack" not range attack like in Eldritch Blast. So, I don't know.
The fact that it says "ranged attack" instead of "ranged spell attack" does not mean that you get to make a weapon attack as part of it. Spells that involve making a weapon attack always explicitly say that, and this one doesn't.
The fact that the spell doesn't have a material component is not relevant. Having a hand free doesn't suddenly allow you to take two actions at the same time.
"You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder."
RAW, I need to make a ranged attack. As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release. Also, they aren't any material needed in it' so I only need 1 hand for Somatic and a hand crossbow or pistol seem to fit the condition.
And yes, usually they clearly indicate that we use a weapon like in True Strike. However, usually they also indicate "ranged spell attack" not range attack like in Eldritch Blast. So, I don't know.
Casting a spell requires you to take the Magic action. Making a weapon attack requires you to take the Attack action. You can't do both actions as part of the same action. That's very clearly against the rules. If a spell allows you to cast a spell AND make a weapon attack at the same time, then it will very clearly say so. If it doesn't say so, then you can't.
Or let me ask you something. You said "As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release". If you want to cast Sorcerous Burst but you don't have any ranged weapons with you, can you even cast the spell? The way you're wording it, you would need to make a separate ranged attack for the "spell effect to release". So then you actually require a ranged weapon in order to cast Sorcerous Burst? Otherwise you don't fulfill the "spell request" that you're mentioning.
What ranged attack roll is used? Do you add your usual to hit bonus?
When you make an attack as part of a spell, the modifier is equal to your proficiency bonus plus your spellcasting ability modifier. This is usually called your spell attack bonus, and it’s the same for any spell that uses an attack roll.
"You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder."
RAW, I need to make a ranged attack. As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release. Also, they aren't any material needed in it' so I only need 1 hand for Somatic and a hand crossbow or pistol seem to fit the condition.
And yes, usually they clearly indicate that we use a weapon like in True Strike. However, usually they also indicate "ranged spell attack" not range attack like in Eldritch Blast. So, I don't know.
It also doesn't state "ranged weapon attack"; in only states "ranged attack" and since this descriptions falls under a spell (cantrip) description then it should be inferred that this of a ranged spell attack type.
The section on Ranged Attacks is not limited to describing ranged weapon attacks and discusses that there are some spells that qualify as ranged attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"Make a ranged attack roll against the target."
Does it stacks with the weapon damage ?
Does innate magic stack ? Which could create great combo with a ranged champion.
No, it doesn't. When you cast Sorcerous Burst, you only throw energy at a target. The spell doesn't allow you to make a weapon attack and then add the damage of Sorcerous Burst. Sorcerous Burst is its own attack, which is part of the spell's effect. Weapon attacks are not included or allowed in it at all.
"You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder."
RAW, I need to make a ranged attack. As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release. Also, they aren't any material needed in it' so I only need 1 hand for Somatic and a hand crossbow or pistol seem to fit the condition.
And yes, usually they clearly indicate that we use a weapon like in True Strike. However, usually they also indicate "ranged spell attack" not range attack like in Eldritch Blast. So, I don't know.
The fact that it says "ranged attack" instead of "ranged spell attack" does not mean that you get to make a weapon attack as part of it. Spells that involve making a weapon attack always explicitly say that, and this one doesn't.
The fact that the spell doesn't have a material component is not relevant. Having a hand free doesn't suddenly allow you to take two actions at the same time.
pronouns: he/she/they
Casting a spell requires you to take the Magic action. Making a weapon attack requires you to take the Attack action. You can't do both actions as part of the same action. That's very clearly against the rules. If a spell allows you to cast a spell AND make a weapon attack at the same time, then it will very clearly say so. If it doesn't say so, then you can't.
Or let me ask you something. You said "As I see it, the spell request to make a range attack so the spell effect is release". If you want to cast Sorcerous Burst but you don't have any ranged weapons with you, can you even cast the spell? The way you're wording it, you would need to make a separate ranged attack for the "spell effect to release". So then you actually require a ranged weapon in order to cast Sorcerous Burst? Otherwise you don't fulfill the "spell request" that you're mentioning.
What ranged attack roll is used? Do you add your usual to hit bonus?
When you make an attack as part of a spell, the modifier is equal to your proficiency bonus plus your spellcasting ability modifier. This is usually called your spell attack bonus, and it’s the same for any spell that uses an attack roll.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thanks
It also doesn't state "ranged weapon attack"; in only states "ranged attack" and since this descriptions falls under a spell (cantrip) description then it should be inferred that this of a ranged spell attack type.
The section on Ranged Attacks is not limited to describing ranged weapon attacks and discusses that there are some spells that qualify as ranged attacks.