This is not a huge deal, but can you help me figure out this text for a Wild Magic Sorcerer?
Tides of Chaos
Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. Once you do so, you must finish a long rest before you can use this feature again.
Any time before you regain the use of this feature, the DM can have you roll on the Wild Magic Surge table immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. You then regain the use of this feature.
I understand the gaining advantage part. I think I understand the long rest part (maybe).
But for the next bit, it talks about rolling on the Wild Magic Surge table after casting a Lvl 1+ spell. Isn't that always the case? Or does it mean that once you've used Tides of Chaos, the DM can bypass the requirement of getting a 1 on a d20 to actually roll against the Wild Magic Surge table?
When it goes on to say "you then regain the use of the feature," does that mean that you get it back immediately if you're forced to roll against the Wild Magic Surge table (which seems contradictory to the "you get it back on a long rest" part), or does mean that you don't get it back at all (even with a long rest) unless you've rolled against the WMS Table?
Sorry, I feel like I'm missing something obvious, but thanks.
Whenever you cast a leveled spell, your DM can ask you to roll a D20. On a 1, you roll on the Surge Table.
Now, Tides of Chaos adds another wrinkle:
Once per long rest, you can gain advantage on a roll. Anytime after that, your DM can tell you to roll on the Surge Table when you cast a leveled spell (skipping the d20 roll). If he or she does, then you regain the ability to gain advantage, and the cycle continues.
I'd recommend passing some type of token back and forth, because effectively this is a situation where the ball is either in the DM's court, or your court. That will help you both to remember whose turn it is to do the thing (gain advantage or force a Surge, respectively).
EddyJ is correct, and the advice about the token is good. However, I'd have a discussion with the DM in regards to the ability before selecting this sorcerous origin. If your DM is ok, I would take the DM discretion out entirely as such:
Tides of Chaos
Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. Once you do so, you must finish a long rest before you can use this feature again.
Any time before you regain the use of this feature, the DM can have you roll on the Wild Magic Surge table immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. You then regain the use of this feature.
I'm pretty sure my DM wants me to use Wild Magic more than I do, so he'll have no problem reminding me :)
If that's the case, seriously consider discussing with the DM removing "the DM can have you" clause from the feature. It will be less book keeping for the DM and more control for you.
I'm pretty sure my DM wants me to use Wild Magic more than I do, so he'll have no problem reminding me :)
If that's the case, seriously consider discussing with the DM removing "the DM can have you" clause from the feature. It will be less book keeping for the DM and more control for you.
And more advantage.
if you, and your party, can live with the surges. Sometimes it can happen 6-7 times a day.
That's all true, but by removing the DM discretion, it gives the player the prerogative of if and when the surges occur. The surge affects are already random, so no need to add random (DM's discretion) on top of random.
Yeah, we've basically made it automatic at this point (rolling the d20 after a spell). I was just a little confused on the Tides rules, but I've got it now.
This is not a huge deal, but can you help me figure out this text for a Wild Magic Sorcerer?
I understand the gaining advantage part. I think I understand the long rest part (maybe).
But for the next bit, it talks about rolling on the Wild Magic Surge table after casting a Lvl 1+ spell. Isn't that always the case? Or does it mean that once you've used Tides of Chaos, the DM can bypass the requirement of getting a 1 on a d20 to actually roll against the Wild Magic Surge table?
When it goes on to say "you then regain the use of the feature," does that mean that you get it back immediately if you're forced to roll against the Wild Magic Surge table (which seems contradictory to the "you get it back on a long rest" part), or does mean that you don't get it back at all (even with a long rest) unless you've rolled against the WMS Table?
Sorry, I feel like I'm missing something obvious, but thanks.
Here's how it works:
Whenever you cast a leveled spell, your DM can ask you to roll a D20. On a 1, you roll on the Surge Table.
Now, Tides of Chaos adds another wrinkle:
Once per long rest, you can gain advantage on a roll. Anytime after that, your DM can tell you to roll on the Surge Table when you cast a leveled spell (skipping the d20 roll). If he or she does, then you regain the ability to gain advantage, and the cycle continues.
I'd recommend passing some type of token back and forth, because effectively this is a situation where the ball is either in the DM's court, or your court. That will help you both to remember whose turn it is to do the thing (gain advantage or force a Surge, respectively).
Partway through the quest for absolute truth.
EddyJ is correct, and the advice about the token is good. However, I'd have a discussion with the DM in regards to the ability before selecting this sorcerous origin. If your DM is ok, I would take the DM discretion out entirely as such:
Aye, this subclass depends almost entirely on your DM asking you to make the Wild Magic Surge rolls.
If he doesn't, welp, whatcha gonna do? It's kinda sucky, if you ask me.
Cool, thanks for the feedback. That makes sense.
I'm pretty sure my DM wants me to use Wild Magic more than I do, so he'll have no problem reminding me :)
If that's the case, seriously consider discussing with the DM removing "the DM can have you" clause from the feature. It will be less book keeping for the DM and more control for you.
And more advantage.
if you, and your party, can live with the surges. Sometimes it can happen 6-7 times a day.
Blank
That's all true, but by removing the DM discretion, it gives the player the prerogative of if and when the surges occur. The surge affects are already random, so no need to add random (DM's discretion) on top of random.
Yeah, we've basically made it automatic at this point (rolling the d20 after a spell). I was just a little confused on the Tides rules, but I've got it now.
Yeah, if you and your DM use Tides correctly, you can essentially roll Wild Magic almost every turn (not roll *for* wild magic, roll wild magic!)