When one interpretation doesn't make any sense. it's not really "valid"
It does make sense, that's the thing. Your inability to read it in a different way doesn't change that it can be parsed in two different ways.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
When one interpretation doesn't make any sense. it's not really "valid"
It does make sense, that's the thing. Your inability to read it in a different way doesn't change that it can be parsed in two different ways.
Yes: the sentence itself works with both interpretations. One has to look at other uses of the wording to divine the intention.
e.g. From the PHB - Warlock, Eldritch Invocations:
Repelling Blast
When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push that creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line.
I don’t think anyone interprets this as only working when the creature is within 10 feet of the Warlock, so I think we can extend that reading to Telekinetic Reprisal.
When one interpretation doesn't make any sense. it's not really "valid"
It does make sense, that's the thing. Your inability to read it in a different way doesn't change that it can be parsed in two different ways.
Not from a game perspective it doesn't
"Hey, here's an ability that does absolutely nothing" is not a 'valid' interpretation, no matter how much it might make grammatical sense
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I do agree that, although grammatically both interpretations make sense, RAI it most likely means that the creature can be pushed ten feet from where it started.
On a related point, what happens if I'm fighting, say a swarm or air elemental, which is occupying my space. When I use this ability in response to an attack, which way do they go?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
Both 1 and 2 mean the exact same thing. Putting little boxes around different parts of the sentence in no way changes the meaning of the said sentence.
No, they don't. That you can't tell the difference between red and orange doesn't mean there is no difference - it means you can't perceive the difference. That's a very different situation.
Neither are red and orange. They are both saying the same thing. You are just trying to twist the meaning based on the word order to suit your own purpose. Remember, this was written to be played and understood by kids whose ages are in the single digits. So the language is basic, and simple. [REDACTED]
I do agree that, although grammatically both interpretations make sense, RAI it most likely means that the creature can be pushed ten feet from where it started.
On a related point, what happens if I'm fighting, say a swarm or air elemental, which is occupying my space. When I use this ability in response to an attack, which way do they go?
Presumably, since all directions would be away from you, you can choose the direction in which you push them.
I do agree that, although grammatically both interpretations make sense, RAI it most likely means that the creature can be pushed ten feet from where it started.
On a related point, what happens if I'm fighting, say a swarm or air elemental, which is occupying my space. When I use this ability in response to an attack, which way do they go?
Presumably, since all directions would be away from you, you can choose the direction in which you push them.
Swarms have a lot of immunities. They may be immune to the effect.
I do agree that, although grammatically both interpretations make sense, RAI it most likely means that the creature can be pushed ten feet from where it started.
On a related point, what happens if I'm fighting, say a swarm or air elemental, which is occupying my space. When I use this ability in response to an attack, which way do they go?
Presumably, since all directions would be away from you, you can choose the direction in which you push them.
Swarms have a lot of immunities. They may be immune to the effect.
None of those Immunities (charmed, frightened, grappled, paralysed, petrified, prone, restrained, stunned) would apply here.
When one interpretation doesn't make any sense. it's not really "valid"
It does make sense, that's the thing. Your inability to read it in a different way doesn't change that it can be parsed in two different ways.
Yes: the sentence itself works with both interpretations. One has to look at other uses of the wording to divine the intention.
e.g. From the PHB - Warlock, Eldritch Invocations:
Repelling Blast
When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push that creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line.
I don’t think anyone interprets this as only working when the creature is within 10 feet of the Warlock, so I think we can extend that reading to Telekinetic Reprisal.
This...the wording is used throughout the rules text and consistently means the same thing...that a creature at location x is pushed 10 feet away from location x, regardless of location y (you).
Looking at it another way, for it to mean its alternate interpretation, it would have said (pushed to a location within 10 feet from you), which is the standard text for implying a location a distance away from something in the rules. "Away" implies direction in relation to you, not a limit on distance. "Within" when used in these rules, implies a limit on distance.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It does make sense, that's the thing. Your inability to read it in a different way doesn't change that it can be parsed in two different ways.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Yes: the sentence itself works with both interpretations. One has to look at other uses of the wording to divine the intention.
e.g. From the PHB - Warlock, Eldritch Invocations:
Repelling Blast
When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push that creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line.
I don’t think anyone interprets this as only working when the creature is within 10 feet of the Warlock, so I think we can extend that reading to Telekinetic Reprisal.
Not from a game perspective it doesn't
"Hey, here's an ability that does absolutely nothing" is not a 'valid' interpretation, no matter how much it might make grammatical sense
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I do agree that, although grammatically both interpretations make sense, RAI it most likely means that the creature can be pushed ten feet from where it started.
On a related point, what happens if I'm fighting, say a swarm or air elemental, which is occupying my space. When I use this ability in response to an attack, which way do they go?
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
Neither are red and orange. They are both saying the same thing. You are just trying to twist the meaning based on the word order to suit your own purpose. Remember, this was written to be played and understood by kids whose ages are in the single digits. So the language is basic, and simple. [REDACTED]
Presumably, since all directions would be away from you, you can choose the direction in which you push them.
Swarms have a lot of immunities. They may be immune to the effect.
The DM said today that it would be an addition 10' from me (or up to).
None of those Immunities (charmed, frightened, grappled, paralysed, petrified, prone, restrained, stunned) would apply here.
This...the wording is used throughout the rules text and consistently means the same thing...that a creature at location x is pushed 10 feet away from location x, regardless of location y (you).
Looking at it another way, for it to mean its alternate interpretation, it would have said (pushed to a location within 10 feet from you), which is the standard text for implying a location a distance away from something in the rules. "Away" implies direction in relation to you, not a limit on distance. "Within" when used in these rules, implies a limit on distance.