Martial Arts states that simple melee weapons are Monk weapons. Do you still replace the damage die of simple melee weapons that are thrown (such as a dagger).
If I throw as dagger as a level 5 monk, is the damage a d8 or still a d4?
QUICK ANSWER If it has the thrown property, the die will change. If it does not have thrown property, then DM judgement applies.
Longer and more detailed
You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table. --- What does this mean? Simple melee weapons that are thrown still do count and as such, the changed die would affect the thrown weapon.
Martial Arts
"At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property."
Anything within these parameters can be classed as a monk weapon. If that weapon so happens to be able to be thrown such as the Dagger, then the thrown attack would get the die change too!
However, if it does not have the thrown property then it's up to the DM. It's reasonable to assume your martial arts training would include throwing daggers, butthrowing sickles and clubs is a whole different ballgame as throwing isn't what they are designed for.
As Monk has always been themed East Asian, and while they do try and dial back the regional inspirations of Monk, it is impossible to divorce it completely. If you then go and watch a bunch of Kung Fu films. Throwing Daggers is very much a part of how a Martial Artist can and does fight in those films.
So when looking at rules as written, and the source of inspiration, it seems to me if the weapon has the Thrown Property as a melee weapon, the dice does in fact change.
Martial Arts states that simple melee weapons are Monk weapons. Do you still replace the damage die of simple melee weapons that are thrown (such as a dagger).
If I throw as dagger as a level 5 monk, is the damage a d8 or still a d4?
QUICK ANSWER
If it has the thrown property, the die will change.
If it does not have thrown property, then DM judgement applies.
Longer and more detailed
---
What does this mean?
Simple melee weapons that are thrown still do count and as such, the changed die would affect the thrown weapon.
Martial Arts
"At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property."
Anything within these parameters can be classed as a monk weapon. If that weapon so happens to be able to be thrown such as the Dagger, then the thrown attack would get the die change too!However, if it does not have the thrown property then it's up to the DM. It's reasonable to assume your martial arts training would include throwing daggers, but throwing sickles and clubs is a whole different ballgame as throwing isn't what they are designed for.
I'm the Fish guy
I would preface this, with...
As Monk has always been themed East Asian, and while they do try and dial back the regional inspirations of Monk, it is impossible to divorce it completely. If you then go and watch a bunch of Kung Fu films. Throwing Daggers is very much a part of how a Martial Artist can and does fight in those films.
So when looking at rules as written, and the source of inspiration, it seems to me if the weapon has the Thrown Property as a melee weapon, the dice does in fact change.