"You touch one object that is no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. The light can be colored as you like. Completely covering the object with something opaque blocks the light. The spell ends if you cast it again or dismiss it as an action. If you target an object held or worn by a Hostile creature, that creature must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw to avoid the spell."
My question is: can you cast light on yourself? You are not an "object" and yet you are able to cast it on a "creature." Can you cast it on yourself and make yourself glow?
You cannot cast the spell targeting a creature. You can, however, target an object it is holding or wearing, like a part of their clothing or a piece of their armor.
Not on yourself... but I have had my characters cast it on their shields, helmets, boots and my favorite... a dagger. With a dagger you can sheathe it if needed or stick it into something else to hold it in place... slide it down a hall, whatever. The same is true of Darkness for a fun time with a Warlock and Devil's Sight.
RAW no, but I like the rule of cool and as long as you aren't being an idiot I will often go along with it - such as casting it on your characters horns in one game. I do't see how that breaks the game and it is certainly pretty awesome.
In my last D&D session one of my group cast that several times on a fighter's shield allowing him to see into the tunnels they were travelling because he didn't have darkvision but everyone else did. So they'd check with nightvision to see what they could, then he'd wander down the tunnel first lighting the way haha.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Whatisthebigbuttonatthebottomofthekeyboardfor?
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The description of light reads as follows:
"You touch one object that is no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. The light can be colored as you like. Completely covering the object with something opaque blocks the light. The spell ends if you cast it again or dismiss it as an action.
If you target an object held or worn by a Hostile creature, that creature must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw to avoid the spell."
My question is: can you cast light on yourself? You are not an "object" and yet you are able to cast it on a "creature." Can you cast it on yourself and make yourself glow?
You cannot cast the spell targeting a creature. You can, however, target an object it is holding or wearing, like a part of their clothing or a piece of their armor.
Or your own clothing or armor...
You can on your amor/clothes/gear.
SAUCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not on yourself... but I have had my characters cast it on their shields, helmets, boots and my favorite... a dagger. With a dagger you can sheathe it if needed or stick it into something else to hold it in place... slide it down a hall, whatever. The same is true of Darkness for a fun time with a Warlock and Devil's Sight.
You can't cast the spell on a creature
That's not how the spell is used
RAW no, but I like the rule of cool and as long as you aren't being an idiot I will often go along with it - such as casting it on your characters horns in one game. I do't see how that breaks the game and it is certainly pretty awesome.
In my last D&D session one of my group cast that several times on a fighter's shield allowing him to see into the tunnels they were travelling because he didn't have darkvision but everyone else did. So they'd check with nightvision to see what they could, then he'd wander down the tunnel first lighting the way haha.
Whatisthebigbuttonatthebottomofthekeyboardfor?