I did some searching but did not come across an answer. Maybe I needed to search more, but to save some more time I thought I would ask.
When a creature has multiattack, does that mean it can use each attack once or that it can double up?
So for example, a Coldlight Walker has multiattack. Stat block says it has a slam attack and the cold ray.
With multiattack, does that mean it can slam twice, ray twice or do one of each.....or...****y do one of each? Or if I guess it chose to, only do one thing...
In the case of the Coldlight Waller, its multiattack states it can make two attacks. Both of the actions listed in its statblock are attacks. Slam, which is a melee weapon attack and Cold Ray, which is a ranged spell attack. That means it could use either one twice or mix and match. If one of its actions wasn't an attack, it wouldn't be able to use that with its version of multiattack and it would take its whole action to use this theoretical ability. Some creatures have actions that they can use as part of their multiattack that aren't attacks at all and just require saving throws. Some limit their multiattack to specific actions. This only had the restriction of attacks. It should be noted that this doesn't limit itself to attacks listed in the statblock, but any attack. Grapple is a special attack that uses the attack action but no attack roll and it could apply here. A magic item that allows you to make an attack would also apply of you as the DM gave this creature magic item that did so. Any attack this creature is capable of making qualifies for Multiattack.
Thanks! That is what I figured and it seems if you just follow the definition of attack and since there is no defined limit in the stat block (other than 2 attacks for the CW) a creature can do things however they want.
The generic rule is that for a monster/NPC you can choose ONE of the entries in the Actions section of its stat block.
It might be that one of those entries is "multiattack", which specifically allows you to pick one or more of the listed other actions and perform each one or more times.
Multiattack let's the creature or player take the attack action twice. Basically, if someone is dualwielding shortswords than they can attack twice, once for each sword. Multiattack let's them attack again, doing a total of 4 attacks. It is the same for the cold light walker. They do have multiple attack options, but multiattack just lets them attack twice.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past, I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone, there will be nothing. Only I will remain.
Multiattack let's the creature or player take the attack action twice. Basically, if someone is dualwielding shortswords than they can attack twice, once for each sword. Multiattack let's them attack again, doing a total of 4 attacks. It is the same for the cold light walker. They do have multiple attack options, but multiattack just lets them attack twice.
Monsters don't ever take the Attack action. They only ever take one of the actions listed in the Actions section of their stat block, or cast a spell, or use a listed special ability which says it uses an action.
Specifically for the Coldlight Walker, the wording is not specific, so if you choose the "Multiattack" option from the Attacks section, you can slam twice, cold ray twice, or do each once.
Most other monsters say which of their other attack options will be used as part of their multiattack option.
Multiattack let's the creature or player take the attack action twice. Basically, if someone is dualwielding shortswords than they can attack twice, once for each sword. Multiattack let's them attack again, doing a total of 4 attacks.
Aside from monsters not taking Attack actions, that's not how two-weapon fighting works:
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Multiattack is an action that lets the monster do whatever is given in the stat block for the power. Commonly this is "attack with two different abilities", but sometimes it includes using an ability more than once, using abilities that aren't even attacks (e.g. adult red dragon), or a choice of abilities (e.g. scout).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I did some searching but did not come across an answer. Maybe I needed to search more, but to save some more time I thought I would ask.
When a creature has multiattack, does that mean it can use each attack once or that it can double up?
So for example, a Coldlight Walker has multiattack. Stat block says it has a slam attack and the cold ray.
With multiattack, does that mean it can slam twice, ray twice or do one of each.....or...****y do one of each? Or if I guess it chose to, only do one thing...
Thanks!!
It normally states in the monster stat block
It does for some creatures...but as an example again, it provides no clarity for a Coldlight Walker. So if it does not say is there a default????
In the case of the Coldlight Waller, its multiattack states it can make two attacks. Both of the actions listed in its statblock are attacks. Slam, which is a melee weapon attack and Cold Ray, which is a ranged spell attack. That means it could use either one twice or mix and match. If one of its actions wasn't an attack, it wouldn't be able to use that with its version of multiattack and it would take its whole action to use this theoretical ability. Some creatures have actions that they can use as part of their multiattack that aren't attacks at all and just require saving throws. Some limit their multiattack to specific actions. This only had the restriction of attacks. It should be noted that this doesn't limit itself to attacks listed in the statblock, but any attack. Grapple is a special attack that uses the attack action but no attack roll and it could apply here. A magic item that allows you to make an attack would also apply of you as the DM gave this creature magic item that did so. Any attack this creature is capable of making qualifies for Multiattack.
Thanks! That is what I figured and it seems if you just follow the definition of attack and since there is no defined limit in the stat block (other than 2 attacks for the CW) a creature can do things however they want.
The response was very useful!
Thanks again!
The generic rule is that for a monster/NPC you can choose ONE of the entries in the Actions section of its stat block.
It might be that one of those entries is "multiattack", which specifically allows you to pick one or more of the listed other actions and perform each one or more times.
Multiattack let's the creature or player take the attack action twice. Basically, if someone is dualwielding shortswords than they can attack twice, once for each sword. Multiattack let's them attack again, doing a total of 4 attacks. It is the same for the cold light walker. They do have multiple attack options, but multiattack just lets them attack twice.
I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past, I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone, there will be nothing. Only I will remain.
- Litany Against Fear, Frank Herbert
Monsters don't ever take the Attack action. They only ever take one of the actions listed in the Actions section of their stat block, or cast a spell, or use a listed special ability which says it uses an action.
Specifically for the Coldlight Walker, the wording is not specific, so if you choose the "Multiattack" option from the Attacks section, you can slam twice, cold ray twice, or do each once.
Most other monsters say which of their other attack options will be used as part of their multiattack option.
Aside from monsters not taking Attack actions, that's not how two-weapon fighting works:
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Player Characters never get Multiattack. They get the Extra Attack ability instead.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Multiattack is an action that lets the monster do whatever is given in the stat block for the power. Commonly this is "attack with two different abilities", but sometimes it includes using an ability more than once, using abilities that aren't even attacks (e.g. adult red dragon), or a choice of abilities (e.g. scout).