Do you give players the radius from their square or do you factor the space of the square thy occupy into the radius?
If you measure the radius from the edge of the square at the middle of the spell then the actual diameter is always going to be 5ft bigger. This might not seem like much but the bigger the radius the more area this extra 5ft is going to cover.
Yeah, but the PCs do get to choose the point their spells are cast on. I'm more specifically talking about things like auras or spirit guardians where the origin would be the PC.
Yeah, but the PCs do get to choose the point their spells are cast on. I'm more specifically talking about things like auras or spirit guardians where the origin would be the PC.
Effects like that do not have a point-like origin; Spirit Guardians affects every creature within 15' of the space of the caster, so it's a 35' diameter when cast by a medium character but a 45' diameter when cast by a Huge character.
However, unless it really matters, I'll interpret the situation in the player's favor. (Such as in the case of a player targeting a specific enemy with a bead of fireball). If there are so many enemies that placement makes a significant difference to the encounter, then my players are probably supposed to be mowing through them like candy, in which case, I can arbitrarily add more mobs to keep the pressure up.
Yeah, but the PCs do get to choose the point their spells are cast on. I'm more specifically talking about things like auras or spirit guardians where the origin would be the PC.
Effects like that do not have a point-like origin; Spirit Guardians affects every creature within 15' of the space of the caster, so it's a 35' diameter when cast by a medium character but a 45' diameter when cast by a Huge character.
Where are you getting the "affects every creature within 15' of the space of the caster" from?
It also says in the text 'They flit around you to a distance of 15'. A distance from the caster is always measured from the edge of the caster's space.
The description is in conflict with the listed spell mechanics.
Self - Sphere 15' radius
A sphere with a fixed radius can't be variable.
Compare this to Sword Burst, which says "All other creatures within 5 feet of you..." and does not specify a sphere.
The listed area of Spirit Guardians is not sphere. It is "Range: Self (15-foot radius)". Which is not defined as any type of area and is in fact the same as Sword Burst.
It does seem to be the case that DNDBeyond uses different notation than the books. However, "radius" still has a meaning, which precludes a variable area. Radius applies to geometric shapes such as spheres, cones, and cylinders. Obviously it's not a cone, cylinder, or other such shape, which leaves a sphere by default.
Do you give players the radius from their square or do you factor the space of the square thy occupy into the radius?
If you measure the radius from the edge of the square at the middle of the spell then the actual diameter is always going to be 5ft bigger. This might not seem like much but the bigger the radius the more area this extra 5ft is going to cover.
Our group assumes 5 ft radius is all adjacent squares. We would 15 ft as 3 squares out from the target, so yes it would include an extra 2.5 feet in each direction.
As long as the party isn't deliberately abusing it, allowing Spirit Guardians to expand with the player is probably the more fun interpretation. A 2.5ft radius bump really isn't worth arguing over at the table and gives the party something to feel excited about.
As long as the party isn't deliberately abusing it, allowing Spirit Guardians to expand with the player is probably the more fun interpretation. A 2.5ft radius bump really isn't worth arguing over at the table and gives the party something to feel excited about.
Yeah, I agree, but honestly it's just something that is kind of there that bogs down combat with multiple roles ever round rather than something that is exciting.
I do feel like as a 35ft diameter it is crazy powerful. -It can move, and it causes damage at the start of the turn or when a creature enters it. This means that the cleric can just move around and hit anything with it, the bigger it is the more it can hit, and the easier it is to stay away from opportunity attacks as they do. (this is how it works according to sage advice.) -It's difficult terrain, so having 15ft to just get to the cleric or get out and around the aoe becomes a bigger issue with the extra radius. -The damage happens at the start of the turn, not the end of it so its unavoidable. Unlike something like flame sphere or other moveable aoe, there isn't a chance to move out of it.
Specifically in my game it's on a forge cleric that has 23ac and fire resistance and war caster, so it's stupid hard to hit him.
-It can move, and it causes damage at the start of the turn or when a creature enters it. This means that the cleric can just move around and hit anything with it, the bigger it is the more it can hit, and the easier it is to stay away from opportunity attacks as they do. (this is how it works according to sage advice.)
No it isn't. Sage advice specifically says. "Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn’t count.". The cleric can move so the creature will be subject to damage when its turn comes up, but he can't run around tagging a bunch of people.
-It can move, and it causes damage at the start of the turn or when a creature enters it. This means that the cleric can just move around and hit anything with it, the bigger it is the more it can hit, and the easier it is to stay away from opportunity attacks as they do. (this is how it works according to sage advice.)
No it isn't. Sage advice specifically says. "Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn’t count.". The cleric can move so the creature will be subject to damage when its turn comes up, but he can't run around tagging a bunch of people.
Specifically talking about this spell, here it is https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/03/16/spirit-guardian/ So yeah, if you ever need good evidence to show your players that sometimes sage advice should be ignored, this is a great exhibit A.
How do you guys handle radius?
Do you give players the radius from their square or do you factor the space of the square thy occupy into the radius?
If you measure the radius from the edge of the square at the middle of the spell then the actual diameter is always going to be 5ft bigger. This might not seem like much but the bigger the radius the more area this extra 5ft is going to cover.
When using a grid, you should center an AoE on an intersection of grid lines, not a square. e.g, on the map below, you want A, not B.
Note that area A is 4 squares, while B could be, depending on your choices, any of 1, 5, and 9 squares.
Yeah, but the PCs do get to choose the point their spells are cast on.
I'm more specifically talking about things like auras or spirit guardians where the origin would be the PC.
Effects like that do not have a point-like origin; Spirit Guardians affects every creature within 15' of the space of the caster, so it's a 35' diameter when cast by a medium character but a 45' diameter when cast by a Huge character.
+1 for grid intersections, where applicable.
However, unless it really matters, I'll interpret the situation in the player's favor. (Such as in the case of a player targeting a specific enemy with a bead of fireball). If there are so many enemies that placement makes a significant difference to the encounter, then my players are probably supposed to be mowing through them like candy, in which case, I can arbitrarily add more mobs to keep the pressure up.
Where are you getting the "affects every creature within 15' of the space of the caster" from?
There is an AoE. That AoE is called out to be 15ft away from the caster.
Is there some rule that you are looking at that says this. That says 15ft "from the caster"? All I see is the range says "self -15ft radius"
https://twitter.com/chrisperkinsdnd/status/703645131308576768?lang=en
It also says in the text 'They flit around you to a distance of 15'. A distance from the caster is always measured from the edge of the caster's space.
The description is in conflict with the listed spell mechanics.
Self - Sphere 15' radius
A sphere with a fixed radius can't be variable.
Compare this to Sword Burst, which says "All other creatures within 5 feet of you..." and does not specify a sphere.
Yeah, I was thinking that the description is more flavor text than mechanics.
The listed area of Spirit Guardians is not sphere. It is "Range: Self (15-foot radius)". Which is not defined as any type of area and is in fact the same as Sword Burst.
Note the difference in notation as shown below. The spherical shape beside the (15ft ) is the defined type of area. Compare to Cone of Cold.
That's a transcription error by DDB. The actual text does not include sphere.
It does seem to be the case that DNDBeyond uses different notation than the books. However, "radius" still has a meaning, which precludes a variable area. Radius applies to geometric shapes such as spheres, cones, and cylinders. Obviously it's not a cone, cylinder, or other such shape, which leaves a sphere by default.
Our group assumes 5 ft radius is all adjacent squares. We would 15 ft as 3 squares out from the target, so yes it would include an extra 2.5 feet in each direction.
As long as the party isn't deliberately abusing it, allowing Spirit Guardians to expand with the player is probably the more fun interpretation. A 2.5ft radius bump really isn't worth arguing over at the table and gives the party something to feel excited about.
Yeah, I agree, but honestly it's just something that is kind of there that bogs down combat with multiple roles ever round rather than something that is exciting.
I do feel like as a 35ft diameter it is crazy powerful.
-It can move, and it causes damage at the start of the turn or when a creature enters it. This means that the cleric can just move around and hit anything with it, the bigger it is the more it can hit, and the easier it is to stay away from opportunity attacks as they do. (this is how it works according to sage advice.)
-It's difficult terrain, so having 15ft to just get to the cleric or get out and around the aoe becomes a bigger issue with the extra radius.
-The damage happens at the start of the turn, not the end of it so its unavoidable. Unlike something like flame sphere or other moveable aoe, there isn't a chance to move out of it.
Specifically in my game it's on a forge cleric that has 23ac and fire resistance and war caster, so it's stupid hard to hit him.
No it isn't. Sage advice specifically says. "Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn’t count.". The cleric can move so the creature will be subject to damage when its turn comes up, but he can't run around tagging a bunch of people.
Specifically talking about this spell, here it is
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/03/16/spirit-guardian/
So yeah, if you ever need good evidence to show your players that sometimes sage advice should be ignored, this is a great exhibit A.