so I have a player who insists that if you put glyph of warding on a scroll you can carry it wherever you wish, even though the spell specifically list that you cant move it more than 10 ft from where you cast the spell, so he's walking around with the scrolls in his bagpack then breaks the scroll to cast spells, combat tends to go like this: 1.- break scroll with haste 2.- cast X spell
on the next turn
3.- break scroll with flying 4.- cast another spell
he argues he can do haste and flying and other concentration spells at the same time because "Im not casting the spell, the scroll is"
I might be on the wrong, but it doesn't seem like that's how the spell is supposed to work from what I'm understanding from it, could someone help me?
Well, technically he's right, since the spell stuck in the scroll has already been cast. However, he should not be able to transport the glyph of warding via the scroll. Glyph of warding specifically states:
If the surface or object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered.
You need to talk with this player, one-on-one, and explain to him explicitly that this does not work.
Also, haste takes an action to cast, so he shouldn't be able to do both break the scroll and cast another spell, since both of those take actions and he only gets one additional action from haste.
so I have a player who insists that if you put glyph of warding on a scroll you can carry it wherever you wish, even though the spell specifically list that you cant move it more than 10 ft from where you cast the spell, so he's walking around with the scrolls in his bagpack then breaks the scroll to cast spells, combat tends to go like this: 1.- break scroll with haste 2.- cast X spell
on the next turn
3.- break scroll with flying 4.- cast another spell
he argues he can do haste and flying and other concentration spells at the same time because "Im not casting the spell, the scroll is"
I might be on the wrong, but it doesn't seem like that's how the spell is supposed to work from what I'm understanding from it, could someone help me?
Unless he's a bladesinger (in which case there's a whole debate still raging about it), the RAW clearly states he can't cast a spell with his haste action, period. Is he a bladesinger and you're letting him cast cantrips due to haste?
Miles is right, if you cast a glyph onto a scroll, you can't then move the scroll. This style of combat is 100% doable, but you have to do it without moving the glyph, so the general solution is to have a pocket dimension, such as a demiplane, genielock lamp, or bag of holding (you'll need to solve the air problem), and cast your glyphs in the pocket dimension. You begin fights by hopping into your pocket dimension, whereupon you tell the glyphs to fire (only a newb makes spellglyphs require an action to fire - the pro move is give every set of glyphs you want manual control over a single-syllable word they react to, so you can just speak what amounts to a short sentence and get the buffs you wanted), and then you hop back out.
Bear in mind, without multiclassing to fix it, only a wizard, cleric, or artificer has access to the spell and can use a spellglyph. Just to make sure you know, Bards have the spell, but can only use the explosive runes part (unless they multiclass into one of the 5 classes that can use spellglyph). I hope this player isn't a bard.
his argument is that, the scroll is casting the spell not him, so it wouldn't take an action because he already used one to cast glpyh of warding on the scroll with the spell in it (in this case being haste) so he keeps breaking combat like that, and only says, "just use counterspell or dispel magic and stop whining" while I know that dispell would work, I just want to know how this spell works, I fear I could be wrong, he's one of those manipulative people who loves to gaslight until you start buying it
You know you can view the rules for glyph of warding here, on this website, where you are trying to find a ruling against a player who is abusing glyph of warding? just read the spell
I might be on the wrong, but it doesn't seem like that's how the spell is supposed to work from what I'm understanding from it, could someone help me?
He's right that you can trigger any number of glyphs in one turn, assuming the trigger does not require an object interaction (such as 'reading'), but he's wrong that you can carry them around in a backpack; it ends when you move 10' from where you cast the spell. Also, it's reasonably expensive in material components.
his argument is that, the scroll is casting the spell not him, so it wouldn't take an action because he already used one to cast glpyh of warding on the scroll with the spell in it (in this case being haste) so he keeps breaking combat like that, and only says, "just use counterspell or dispel magic and stop whining" while I know that dispell would work, I just want to know how this spell works, I fear I could be wrong, he's one of those manipulative people who loves to gaslight until you start buying it
Look, RAW, he's cheating, and we've explained this to you in this thread. Do you have any additional questions we haven't already answered? You know he can't move the scrolls without the glyph evaporating.
I also assume you aren't giving him 400 gp worth of powdered diamond needed to cast 2 glyphs after each battle? Yeah, in addition to not being able to move them, they also cost money to prepare.
The only thing he got right is that he doesn't need to concentrate on spells cast by glyph, everything else he is lying and cheating to avoid all the balancing of some of the most useful spells.
This makes it sound like they were casting it with a single action, you know glyph of warding takes an hour to cast right?
They said it was being pre-cast into scrolls and carried around. Which, as the rest of the people pointed out, explicitly doesn't work. Can't move the scrolls more than 10 feet away without the Glyph breaking.
It's also debatable that casting them in a space such as a Bag of Holding would work, as nothing actually states the extraplanar space inside doesn't move with the Bag. As a DM, I'd absolutely rule that it moves when the item does.
I would understand putting a "glyph of warding on a scroll" to mean you set the trigger, for example explosive runes goes off if anyone other than the owner opens the scroll. In 5his case the spell ends if the scroll is moved more than 10 ft.
The player can create a scroll of glyph of warding, this can be moved but would take an hour to cast from the scroll.
A chronology wizard can do pretty much this with arcane abyance but I am not sure if EGTW was even out when this was posted.
so I have a player who insists that if you put glyph of warding on a scroll you can carry it wherever you wish, even though the spell specifically list that you cant move it more than 10 ft from where you cast the spell, so he's walking around with the scrolls in his bagpack then breaks the scroll to cast spells, combat tends to go like this:
1.- break scroll with haste
2.- cast X spell
on the next turn
3.- break scroll with flying
4.- cast another spell
he argues he can do haste and flying and other concentration spells at the same time because "Im not casting the spell, the scroll is"
I might be on the wrong, but it doesn't seem like that's how the spell is supposed to work from what I'm understanding from it, could someone help me?
Well, technically he's right, since the spell stuck in the scroll has already been cast. However, he should not be able to transport the glyph of warding via the scroll. Glyph of warding specifically states:
You need to talk with this player, one-on-one, and explain to him explicitly that this does not work.
Also, haste takes an action to cast, so he shouldn't be able to do both break the scroll and cast another spell, since both of those take actions and he only gets one additional action from haste.
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
Unless he's a bladesinger (in which case there's a whole debate still raging about it), the RAW clearly states he can't cast a spell with his haste action, period. Is he a bladesinger and you're letting him cast cantrips due to haste?
Miles is right, if you cast a glyph onto a scroll, you can't then move the scroll. This style of combat is 100% doable, but you have to do it without moving the glyph, so the general solution is to have a pocket dimension, such as a demiplane, genielock lamp, or bag of holding (you'll need to solve the air problem), and cast your glyphs in the pocket dimension. You begin fights by hopping into your pocket dimension, whereupon you tell the glyphs to fire (only a newb makes spellglyphs require an action to fire - the pro move is give every set of glyphs you want manual control over a single-syllable word they react to, so you can just speak what amounts to a short sentence and get the buffs you wanted), and then you hop back out.
Bear in mind, without multiclassing to fix it, only a wizard, cleric, or artificer has access to the spell and can use a spellglyph. Just to make sure you know, Bards have the spell, but can only use the explosive runes part (unless they multiclass into one of the 5 classes that can use spellglyph). I hope this player isn't a bard.
his argument is that, the scroll is casting the spell not him, so it wouldn't take an action because he already used one to cast glpyh of warding on the scroll with the spell in it (in this case being haste) so he keeps breaking combat like that, and only says, "just use counterspell or dispel magic and stop whining" while I know that dispell would work, I just want to know how this spell works, I fear I could be wrong, he's one of those manipulative people who loves to gaslight until you start buying it
You know you can view the rules for glyph of warding here, on this website, where you are trying to find a ruling against a player who is abusing glyph of warding? just read the spell
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
He's right that you can trigger any number of glyphs in one turn, assuming the trigger does not require an object interaction (such as 'reading'), but he's wrong that you can carry them around in a backpack; it ends when you move 10' from where you cast the spell. Also, it's reasonably expensive in material components.
Look, RAW, he's cheating, and we've explained this to you in this thread. Do you have any additional questions we haven't already answered? You know he can't move the scrolls without the glyph evaporating.
I also assume you aren't giving him 400 gp worth of powdered diamond needed to cast 2 glyphs after each battle? Yeah, in addition to not being able to move them, they also cost money to prepare.
The only thing he got right is that he doesn't need to concentrate on spells cast by glyph, everything else he is lying and cheating to avoid all the balancing of some of the most useful spells.
This makes it sound like they were casting it with a single action, you know glyph of warding takes an hour to cast right?
They said it was being pre-cast into scrolls and carried around. Which, as the rest of the people pointed out, explicitly doesn't work. Can't move the scrolls more than 10 feet away without the Glyph breaking.
It's also debatable that casting them in a space such as a Bag of Holding would work, as nothing actually states the extraplanar space inside doesn't move with the Bag. As a DM, I'd absolutely rule that it moves when the item does.
It is not clear what the player was doing.
A chronology wizard can do pretty much this with arcane abyance but I am not sure if EGTW was even out when this was posted.
I think this player just isn't good and you need to kick him off your table