Simple question. Does the bonus attack with the butt of the polearm granted by PAM also have reach? It does not specify and my DM had an issue when I tried to also take the this bonus attack granted by PAM also as a reach attack - his argument is that it since it uses the butt of the weapon that it can't be reach since you would have to flip the polearm end over end to hit the enemy that is 10 feet away with the butt of the weapon. I see his point kind of but they call it pole arm MASTER for a reason right? The rules as stated in my opinion 100% allow it to be a reach attack so....thoughts?
Simple question. Does the bonus attack with the butt of the polearm granted by PAM also have reach? It does not specify and my DM had an issue when I tried to also take the this bonus attack granted by PAM also as a reach attack - his argument is that it since it uses the butt of the weapon that it can't be reach since you would have to flip the polearm end over end to hit the enemy that is 10 feet away with the butt of the weapon. I see his point kind of but they call it pole arm MASTER for a reason right? The rules as stated in my opinion 100% allow it to be a reach attack so....thoughts?
If the weapon has reach, it has reach for both attacks.
You can show your DM this tweet from Jeremy Crawford: https://www.sageadvice.eu/glaives-and-halberds-can-the-bonus-attack-from-polearm-master-be-taken-at-10-feet-reach/
@ninjakirby1322 Question about glaives and halberds: Can the bonus attack from Polearm Master be taken at 10 feet reach as well?
@JeremyECrawford The bonus attack of Polearm Master can use the weapon's reach. The feat would tell you if it couldn't.
The bonus action on the DDB character sheet has some technical limitations so it doesn't customize according what polearm you have equipped.
In fact, the bonus action will show as is when you are empty handed because of these limitations.
Good to know thank you!
Thanks!! Your awesome!
When in doubt: Rules > DDB character sheet.