So, one of my players asked me if they could cast Hellish Rebuke as their action for a turn, and i had no idea if they could! Do you guys know about that?
No. the different casting times are not generally convertible. No up-conversion, and no down-conversion. There are exceptions (such as quickened spell) but those exceptions tell you how they work (and have other subtle peculiarities).
IIRC, there's only two ways to change the kind of action a spell takes to cast: 1) Quickened Spell (Sorcerer Metamagic). That feature lets a sorcerer change a spell that takes 1 Action to cast, and cast it with a bonus action. 2) Ritual casting a spell. Certain spells can be cast as a ritual which adds 10 minutes to the casting time (but doesn't take a slot)
Reaction spells require a trigger if that trigger occurs on your turn then you can cast the spell on your turn, however it still uses your reaction not you action.
Hellish rebuke has a casting time of one reaction "which you take in response to being damaged by a creature within 60 feet of you that you can see"
Say you start your turn within melee range of an enemy and move away from them; they use their reaction to take an opportunity attack, and hit you resulting in you taking damage. You have taken damage from a creature within 60ft as long as nothing is preventing you seeing the creature you can cast hellish rebuke, this uses your reaction so you wont be able to use it again until the start of your next turn. However it does not use your action so you can use that for something else.
There is also a rule that prevents you casting any spells other than a cantrip with a casting time of one action on the same turn as casting a bonus action so casting Hellish Rebuke in this way can only be done if you have not used your bonus action to cast a spell (and it casting Hellish Rubuke prevents you casting a spell with your bonus action later in your turn)
As others have said it the trigger doesn't occur on your turn you can not cast the spell.
Reaction spells require a trigger if that trigger occurs on your turn then you can cast the spell on your turn, however it still uses your reaction not you action.
Correct. And I think it's worth mentioning that your reaction "recharges" at the start of your turn. So even if you made an Opportunity Attack against an enemy just before your turn, you will have your reaction back again once your turn starts - so you can cast an Action spell and have your Reaction handy to cast Counterspell against anyone who tries to counter the spell you are currently casting.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, one of my players asked me if they could cast Hellish Rebuke as their action for a turn, and i had no idea if they could!
Do you guys know about that?
No. the different casting times are not generally convertible. No up-conversion, and no down-conversion. There are exceptions (such as quickened spell) but those exceptions tell you how they work (and have other subtle peculiarities).
You cannot. It can only be cast as the result of a specific trigger and that can only happen as a reaction in this case.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Short answer: No.
IIRC, there's only two ways to change the kind of action a spell takes to cast:
1) Quickened Spell (Sorcerer Metamagic). That feature lets a sorcerer change a spell that takes 1 Action to cast, and cast it with a bonus action.
2) Ritual casting a spell. Certain spells can be cast as a ritual which adds 10 minutes to the casting time (but doesn't take a slot)
Reaction spells require a trigger if that trigger occurs on your turn then you can cast the spell on your turn, however it still uses your reaction not you action.
Hellish rebuke has a casting time of one reaction "which you take in response to being damaged by a creature within 60 feet of you that you can see"
Say you start your turn within melee range of an enemy and move away from them; they use their reaction to take an opportunity attack, and hit you resulting in you taking damage. You have taken damage from a creature within 60ft as long as nothing is preventing you seeing the creature you can cast hellish rebuke, this uses your reaction so you wont be able to use it again until the start of your next turn. However it does not use your action so you can use that for something else.
There is also a rule that prevents you casting any spells other than a cantrip with a casting time of one action on the same turn as casting a bonus action so casting Hellish Rebuke in this way can only be done if you have not used your bonus action to cast a spell (and it casting Hellish Rubuke prevents you casting a spell with your bonus action later in your turn)
As others have said it the trigger doesn't occur on your turn you can not cast the spell.
Correct. And I think it's worth mentioning that your reaction "recharges" at the start of your turn. So even if you made an Opportunity Attack against an enemy just before your turn, you will have your reaction back again once your turn starts - so you can cast an Action spell and have your Reaction handy to cast Counterspell against anyone who tries to counter the spell you are currently casting.