I don't think that what you are claiming here is established fact according to RAW. Component rules say that "A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus". Nothing in the item description for a holy symbol specifically overrides the need to touch or hold a material component or focus with a free hand...
The description of the Holy Symbol in Chapter 5 explicitly says the following:
"Holy Symbol. A holy symbol is a representation of a god or pantheon. It might be an amulet depicting a symbol representing a deity, the same symbol carefully engraved or inlaid as an emblem on a shield, or a tiny box holding a fragment of a sacred relic. Appendix B lists the symbols commonly associated with many gods in the multiverse. A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield."
The specific rules for holy symbols allow a cleric or paladin to use them as a spellcasting focus by holding it in hand, wearing it visibly or bearing it on a shield. This is a case of the specific rules for holy symbols superceding the general rules for other spellcasting foci. So a cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol that is worn or embossed on a shield as a spellcasting foci. They can still hold it if they like but they are given two additional specific options for actual USE.
Yes, I read that sentence too, but it doesn't actually specifically override the requirement for a free hand. It lists the three places where the symbol can be located in order to be used - the symbol can't be hidden in your pocket to be used, nor worn on your undergarments or on the inside of your helmet. The object description does not say that you no longer need a hand free for Material spell casting.
I don't think that what you are claiming here is established fact according to RAW. Component rules say that "A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus". Nothing in the item description for a holy symbol specifically overrides the need to touch or hold a material component or focus with a free hand...
The description of the Holy Symbol in Chapter 5 explicitly says the following:
"Holy Symbol. A holy symbol is a representation of a god or pantheon. It might be an amulet depicting a symbol representing a deity, the same symbol carefully engraved or inlaid as an emblem on a shield, or a tiny box holding a fragment of a sacred relic. Appendix B lists the symbols commonly associated with many gods in the multiverse. A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield."
The specific rules for holy symbols allow a cleric or paladin to use them as a spellcasting focus by holding it in hand, wearing it visibly or bearing it on a shield. This is a case of the specific rules for holy symbols superceding the general rules for other spellcasting foci. So a cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol that is worn or embossed on a shield as a spellcasting foci. They can still hold it if they like but they are given two additional specific options for actual USE.
Yes, I read that sentence too, but it doesn't actually specifically override the requirement for a free hand. It lists the three places where the symbol can be located in order to be used - the symbol can't be hidden in your pocket to be used, nor worn on your undergarments or on the inside of your helmet. The object description does not say that you no longer need a hand free for Material spell casting.
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
Well no, the Material rules say that you must have a hand free to either hold a spell focus or to access the components - and that those components can be replaced by either a pouch or a focus. So you can have an empty hand that touches the component or pouch or focus, or else you have a hand that holds a focus. That hand can also perform somatic components. Those are the things required when casting a material spell.
The text of the holy symbol object lists only the actions required to use the holy symbol - that it must be held, worn visibly or on shield. That does not override the need to either hold or touch a material component. Indeed the only answer in the Sage Advice Compendium regarding material components states: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component".
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
Well no, the Material rules say that you must have a hand free to either hold a spell focus or to access the components - and that those components can be replaced by either a pouch or a focus. So you can have an empty hand that touches the component or pouch or focus, or else you have a hand that holds a focus. That hand can also perform somatic components. Those are the things required when casting a material spell.
The text of the holy symbol object lists only the actions required to use the holy symbol - that it must be held, worn visibly or on shield. That does not override the need to either hold or touch a material component. Indeed the only answer in the Sage Advice Compendium regarding material components states: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component".
The wording of the item is more specific than in Chapter 10, indeed it calls out Chapter 10 so that it can modify those rules for this specific item.
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
Well no, the Material rules say that you must have a hand free to either hold a spell focus or to access the components - and that those components can be replaced by either a pouch or a focus. So you can have an empty hand that touches the component or pouch or focus, or else you have a hand that holds a focus. That hand can also perform somatic components. Those are the things required when casting a material spell
The rules do not say anything about touching a focus; only holding it. Otherwise, none of that contradicts what I said; indeed, it reiterates it, so I'm not sure what you mean by "well no."
I don't fully understand the interaction between this latest tangent and the question asked in the thread, but whether you need to touch a casting focus or not, you can certainly take one hand off your glaive and perform whatever task is necessary to cast a spell with it just as easily as you can raise a hand resting at your side and perform whatever task is necessary to cast a spell with it.
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
Well no, the Material rules say that you must have a hand free to either hold a spell focus or to access the components - and that those components can be replaced by either a pouch or a focus. So you can have an empty hand that touches the component or pouch or focus, or else you have a hand that holds a focus. That hand can also perform somatic components. Those are the things required when casting a material spell
The rules do not say anything about touching a focus; only holding it. Otherwise, none of that contradicts what I said; indeed, it reiterates it, so I'm not sure what you mean by "well no."
The rules say that you can hold a focus or you can touch the material components - and you can replace the material components with a focus or a component pouch. In order to cast a material spell, therefore, you have four options:
-Hold a focus
-Empty hand to touch the components
-Empty hand to touch a component pouch
-Empty hand to touch a focus
Sage Advice Compendium confirms: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component".
All of this calls for holding, accessing, touching and/or handling. The rules for holy symbols do not specifically remove that requirement, they specifically say that in order to use a holy symbol at all it must be located in one of three places: in your hand, on your shield, or visibly on your clothes. If the holy symbol is not in those places then you cannot use it. I can understand why you believe that this sentence overrides the material casting rules, but that is not an interpretation that is supported by any Sage Advice I have seen - rather the SAC reaffirms the requirement for handling the focus during casting.
You're just repeating yourself. Everything you've said is either 1) not actually in the rules or 2) just what I already said. TexasDevin is right, this is a weird tangent, and you're not even coming at it in good faith, so I'm done.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yes, I read that sentence too, but it doesn't actually specifically override the requirement for a free hand. It lists the three places where the symbol can be located in order to be used - the symbol can't be hidden in your pocket to be used, nor worn on your undergarments or on the inside of your helmet. The object description does not say that you no longer need a hand free for Material spell casting.
The component rules say you need a free hand specifically to hold a focus. The holy symbol rules say you can use them without holding them. Holding the focus is the only thing the component rules require a free hand for, so if you don't need to hold it, you don't need a free hand.
Well no, the Material rules say that you must have a hand free to either hold a spell focus or to access the components - and that those components can be replaced by either a pouch or a focus. So you can have an empty hand that touches the component or pouch or focus, or else you have a hand that holds a focus. That hand can also perform somatic components. Those are the things required when casting a material spell.
The text of the holy symbol object lists only the actions required to use the holy symbol - that it must be held, worn visibly or on shield. That does not override the need to either hold or touch a material component. Indeed the only answer in the Sage Advice Compendium regarding material components states: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component".
The wording of the item is more specific than in Chapter 10, indeed it calls out Chapter 10 so that it can modify those rules for this specific item.
The rules do not say anything about touching a focus; only holding it. Otherwise, none of that contradicts what I said; indeed, it reiterates it, so I'm not sure what you mean by "well no."
I don't fully understand the interaction between this latest tangent and the question asked in the thread, but whether you need to touch a casting focus or not, you can certainly take one hand off your glaive and perform whatever task is necessary to cast a spell with it just as easily as you can raise a hand resting at your side and perform whatever task is necessary to cast a spell with it.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The rules say that you can hold a focus or you can touch the material components - and you can replace the material components with a focus or a component pouch. In order to cast a material spell, therefore, you have four options:
-Hold a focus
-Empty hand to touch the components
-Empty hand to touch a component pouch
-Empty hand to touch a focus
Sage Advice Compendium confirms: "If a spell has a material component, you need to handle that component when you cast the spell. The same rule applies if you’re using a spellcasting focus as the material component".
All of this calls for holding, accessing, touching and/or handling. The rules for holy symbols do not specifically remove that requirement, they specifically say that in order to use a holy symbol at all it must be located in one of three places: in your hand, on your shield, or visibly on your clothes. If the holy symbol is not in those places then you cannot use it. I can understand why you believe that this sentence overrides the material casting rules, but that is not an interpretation that is supported by any Sage Advice I have seen - rather the SAC reaffirms the requirement for handling the focus during casting.
You're just repeating yourself. Everything you've said is either 1) not actually in the rules or 2) just what I already said. TexasDevin is right, this is a weird tangent, and you're not even coming at it in good faith, so I'm done.