Don't be pedantic. Obviously, a sling and a sling stone count as a weapon(as neither serves it's purpose without the other).
Ammunitions are listed under adventuring gear table, not weapon table. They are sold seperatly and thus not part of the weapon.
If that is so, then the answer to OP's question is that the pebble is neither a weapon or an improvised one. If using a stone in a sling makes it only ammo, then throwing it could not possibly make it a weapon, could it?
Don't be pedantic. Obviously, a sling and a sling stone count as a weapon(as neither serves it's purpose without the other).
Ammunitions are listed under adventuring gear table, not weapon table. They are sold seperatly and thus not part of the weapon.
If that is so, then the answer to OP's question is that the pebble is neither a weapon or an improvised one. If using a stone in a sling makes it only ammo, then throwing it could not possibly make it a weapon, could it?
A stone pebble is not on the weapon table list, and would thus be an improvised weapon doing 1d4 bludgeoning damage at range of 20/60 feet. (The spell Magic Stone specifically modify that)
The Devs discussed weapons and improvised weaponry in a DragonTalk Podcast and Twitter clarified that when the rules refer to weapons, they intend it to mean weapons from the Weapon Table (07:00)
@DaveWil33 I just can't. Seriously? I mean. Dammit. If they could pin down exactly what does and does not count as a weapon for features that require actual weapons I'd probably dance a jig.
@JeremyECrawford I'll boil it down for you. When we wrote the "Player's Handbook," we meant the weapons on the weapon table when we wrote "weapon," unless we said otherwise. But you break nothing in the game if you let natural weapons go along for the ride.
Don't be pedantic. Obviously, a sling and a sling stone count as a weapon(as neither serves it's purpose without the other).
Ammunitions are listed under adventuring gear table, not weapon table. They are sold seperatly and thus not part of the weapon.
If that is so, then the answer to OP's question is that the pebble is neither a weapon or an improvised one. If using a stone in a sling makes it only ammo, then throwing it could not possibly make it a weapon, could it?
As already pointed out to you, PHB lists ammunition in a category separate from the weapon categories.
An improvised weapon doesn't have to accurately resemble an existing weapon, as you correctly summarised earlier. An example can be made of an arrow, which is also ammunition, but doesn't accurately resemble any listed weapon (in my opinion). If a player asked if they could make a melee attack with said arrow, I'd have the player make a melee weapon attack without their proficiency modifier.
I'd be like asking if Shillelaghs is quarterstaff / club? Yes it's still one even when enchanted by the spell, just like a peeble stone would still be an improvised weapon when enchanted by a Magic Stone spell and thrown.
I'd be like asking if Shillelaghs is quarterstaff / club? Yes it's still one even when enchanted by the spell, just like a peeble stone would still be an improvised weapon when enchanted by a Magic Stone spell and thrown.
Not quite the same, as Magic Stone asks you to make a Spell Attack, whereas Shillelagh doesn't ask for a Spell Attack, is clearly made with a weapon, and therefore requires a Weapon Attack. That's what camp 1 would say at least. Camp 2 would likely agree with you.
I'd be like asking if Shillelaghs is quarterstaff / club? Yes it's still one even when enchanted by the spell, just like a peeble stone would still be an improvised weapon when enchanted by a Magic Stone spell and thrown.
Not quite the same, as Magic Stone asks you to make a Spell Attack, whereas Shillelagh doesn't ask for a Spell Attack, is clearly made with a weapon, and therefore requires a Weapon Attack. That's what camp 1 would say at least. Camp 2 would likely agree with you. Neither change what's the original item being enchanted was the point i was making.
It is the same, it's just that the spell arbitrarily decided to call different attack, but those spells essentially enchant an item to attack with it, using your spellcasting ability. Shillelagh could also have been called melee spell attack. Or Magic Stone not spell attack to be a weapon attack too.
If that is so, then the answer to OP's question is that the pebble is neither a weapon or an improvised one. If using a stone in a sling makes it only ammo, then throwing it could not possibly make it a weapon, could it?
A stone pebble is not on the weapon table list, and would thus be an improvised weapon doing 1d4 bludgeoning damage at range of 20/60 feet. (The spell Magic Stone specifically modify that)
The Devs discussed weapons and improvised weaponry in a DragonTalk Podcast and Twitter clarified that when the rules refer to weapons, they intend it to mean weapons from the Weapon Table (07:00)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKLx-BVnsmo
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/996549348140826624?s=20
As already pointed out to you, PHB lists ammunition in a category separate from the weapon categories.
An improvised weapon doesn't have to accurately resemble an existing weapon, as you correctly summarised earlier. An example can be made of an arrow, which is also ammunition, but doesn't accurately resemble any listed weapon (in my opinion). If a player asked if they could make a melee attack with said arrow, I'd have the player make a melee weapon attack without their proficiency modifier.
I'd be like asking if Shillelaghs is quarterstaff / club? Yes it's still one even when enchanted by the spell, just like a peeble stone would still be an improvised weapon when enchanted by a Magic Stone spell and thrown.
Not quite the same, as Magic Stone asks you to make a Spell Attack, whereas Shillelagh doesn't ask for a Spell Attack, is clearly made with a weapon, and therefore requires a Weapon Attack. That's what camp 1 would say at least. Camp 2 would likely agree with you.
It is the same, it's just that the spell arbitrarily decided to call different attack, but those spells essentially enchant an item to attack with it, using your spellcasting ability. Shillelagh could also have been called melee spell attack. Or Magic Stone not spell attack to be a weapon attack too.