Timetravelling BB hits before they leave, because reach.
Now they're 5' away and have a new BB effect on them.
You're still ignoring it by stating that the first BB rider effect triggers before the OA BB hits despite not yet having moved 5 feet when the attack lands.
Nothing happens until they move. Nothing.
Them moving is what starts this chain of events. It necessarily must be step 1.
OAs are special reactions in the sense that the reaction is taken after the trigger (moving out of reach) as usual but its effects are applied before the trigger.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
This "time traveling" BB as you call it would thus be applied on a target already under the effects of BB and before the rider effect was triggered. It would thus only apply once... not twice.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As for your edits which I did not see until now: Care to explain how the OA target is able to move 5' or more without leaving your reach at the time of your OA? If the attack occurs before leaving your reach, it occurs before leaving your reach. Your reach is 5 feet all around you. If it has not yet left your reach, it has not yet moved 5 feet and it has not yet triggered the rider effect.
At this point though, I'm just repeating myself, if you still can't understand despite this, I give up and I'll just agree to disagree.
As for your edits which I did not see until now: Care to explain how the OA target is able to move 5' or more without leaving your reach at the time of your OA? If the attack occurs before leaving your reach, it occurs before leaving your reach. Your reach is 5 feet all around you. If it has not yet left your reach, it has not yet moved 5 feet and it has not yet triggered the rider effect.
I just explained this. Moving 5' is what kicks off the entire chain of events it must be step 1. If they haven't moved 5' none of the sequence happens.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Timetravelling BB hits before they leave, because reach.
Now they're 5' away and have a new BB effect on them.
You're still ignoring it by stating that the first BB rider effect triggers before the OA BB hits despite not yet having moved 5 feet when the attack lands.
Nothing happens until they move. Nothing.
Them moving is what starts this chain of events. It necessarily must be step 1.
OAs are special reactions in the sense that the reaction is taken after the trigger (moving out of reach) as usual but its effects are applied before the trigger.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
This "time traveling" BB as you call it would thus be applied on a target already under the effects of BB and before the rider effect was triggered. It would thus only apply once... not twice.
Nope.
The trigger is 5 feet of movement but in the case of OAs, the trigger happens AFTER the OA, meaning the OA happens BEFORE the target has left your reach. The text in the rulebook even says so. I just don't understand what makes you think you can ignore the RAW and choose to apply a new effect on a target retroactively before the target has left your reach but somehow after it at the same time because that's what you're doing.
Based on my understanding of what you are saying, you can apply a second BB after the rider effect is triggered by the movement of a creature that has both left and not left your reach, your character is somehow able to manipulate time and attack a creature both in the past and the future. In the past, the OA BB attack lands and in the future, after the first rider effect is triggered once the target fully leaves your reach, the BB effect is then applied. This makes no sense to me.
As for your edits which I did not see until now: Care to explain how the OA target is able to move 5' or more without leaving your reach at the time of your OA? If the attack occurs before leaving your reach, it occurs before leaving your reach. Your reach is 5 feet all around you. If it has not yet left your reach, it has not yet moved 5 feet and it has not yet triggered the rider effect.
I just explained this. Moving 5' is what kicks off the entire chain of events it must be step 1. If they haven't moved 5' none of the sequence happens.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
It has not yet moved 5' at the moment of the attack though, again, the trigger (moving out of reach) happens AFTER the OA it triggers, text grabbed from the rulebook:
The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
The trigger is 5 feet of movement but in the case of OAs, the trigger happens AFTER the OA, meaning BEFORE the target has left your reach. The text in the rulebook even says so.
Correct. Before they leave reach. But it doesn't say it happens before they moved. So, again... after step 1 still, but before step 2.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
I just don't understand what makes you think you can ignore the RAW and choose to apply a new effect on a target retroactively before the target has left your reach but somehow after it at the same time because that's what you're doing.
I'm not.
Based on my understanding of what you are saying, you can apply a second BB after the rider effect is triggered by the movement of a creature that has both left and not left your reach, your character is somehow able to manipulate time and attack a creature both in the past and the future. In the past, the OA BB attack lands and in the future, after the first rider effect is triggered once the target fully leaves your reach, the BB effect is then applied. This makes no sense to me.
Opportunity effects are a paradox. Yes. The fact that they happen before the event that triggered them to happen causes a lot of confusion to some people. You're not alone in that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As for your edits which I did not see until now: Care to explain how the OA target is able to move 5' or more without leaving your reach at the time of your OA? If the attack occurs before leaving your reach, it occurs before leaving your reach. Your reach is 5 feet all around you. If it has not yet left your reach, it has not yet moved 5 feet and it has not yet triggered the rider effect.
I just explained this. Moving 5' is what kicks off the entire chain of events it must be step 1. If they haven't moved 5' none of the sequence happens.
Moving 5' is where they start.
Moving 5' causes them to leave reach.
Leaving reach causes them to provoke.
The provokee takes a reaction to make an op attack.
This op attack is resolved before they leave reach. (ie in this list before step2)
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
It has not yet moved 5' at the moment of the attack though, again, the trigger (moving out of reach) happens AFTER the OA it triggers, text grabbed from the rulebook:
The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
Edit: In this case, the OA event would move before step 1 in your sequence which is the trigger.
None of that says that the opportunity attack happens before they moved. You keep repeating this same thing and it at no point tells you that the opportunity attack happens before they move 5'.
Just look at the sequence. Before leaving reach means step 1.5.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Target leaves the attacker's reach, which for this scenario must be 5 feet.
Leaving the attacker's reach triggers an Opportunity Attack from said attacker.
War Caster allows for the substitution of a spell with a casting time of 1 Action in place of making a melee weapon attack.
Per War Caster, Booming Blade is cast in place of a melee weapon attack.
The substitution does not change the timing, so the spell is retroactively cast before the target leaves the attacker's reach.
Because the target has already moved 5 feet, which is a requirement for the triggering Opportunity Attack, the target takes the full damage of Booming Blade from having moved.
This is all assuming that the opponent moved directly away from the attacker who cast Booming Blade. If they instead first moved 5 feet to a square that was still adjacent to the attacker, that would trigger the movement thunder damage before an OoA is triggered for a second Booming Blade attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
It'd trigger booming blade before the OA either way but yeah.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
This is all assuming that the opponent moved directly away from the attacker who cast Booming Blade. If they instead first moved 5 feet to a square that was still adjacent to the attacker, that would trigger the movement thunder damage before an OoA is triggered for a second Booming Blade attack.
Well yeah, but that's not the scenario here. Nobody would argue this (I hope so anyway).
At this point though, I'll just agree to disagree. None of the DMs I've played with would let this fly (I've tried once) and our research post-game into the subject led us all to the same conclusion:
1. Player attacks target with BB during this turn and ends his turn within 5 feet of the target. 2. Target attempts to move 5 feet (but has not done so yet) and will leave the player's reach during his turn. X. OA BB will be here 3. Target triggers OA before leaving reach and before moving 5 feet (since reach is 5 feet). 4. Player uses his reaction and War Caster to swap OA with BB (which applies at X). 5. Target has now moved 5 feet and left the player's reach and now takes the rider effect from the second BB.
I'd be curious about this specific situation in an Adventure League game and how it was ruled though. I'm currently playing a War Caster tank character so if I can get solid evidence that it can work, I definitely would not mind using this to my advantage hahaha.
Nothing happens until they move. Nothing.
Them moving is what starts this chain of events. It necessarily must be step 1.
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
Nope.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As for your edits which I did not see until now: Care to explain how the OA target is able to move 5' or more without leaving your reach at the time of your OA? If the attack occurs before leaving your reach, it occurs before leaving your reach. Your reach is 5 feet all around you. If it has not yet left your reach, it has not yet moved 5 feet and it has not yet triggered the rider effect.
At this point though, I'm just repeating myself, if you still can't understand despite this, I give up and I'll just agree to disagree.
I just explained this. Moving 5' is what kicks off the entire chain of events it must be step 1. If they haven't moved 5' none of the sequence happens.
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The trigger is 5 feet of movement but in the case of OAs, the trigger happens AFTER the OA, meaning the OA happens BEFORE the target has left your reach. The text in the rulebook even says so. I just don't understand what makes you think you can ignore the RAW and choose to apply a new effect on a target retroactively before the target has left your reach but somehow after it at the same time because that's what you're doing.
Based on my understanding of what you are saying, you can apply a second BB after the rider effect is triggered by the movement of a creature that has both left and not left your reach, your character is somehow able to manipulate time and attack a creature both in the past and the future. In the past, the OA BB attack lands and in the future, after the first rider effect is triggered once the target fully leaves your reach, the BB effect is then applied. This makes no sense to me.
It has not yet moved 5' at the moment of the attack though, again, the trigger (moving out of reach) happens AFTER the OA it triggers, text grabbed from the rulebook:
The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
Ref: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#OpportunityAttacks
Edit: In this case, the OA event would move before step 1 in your sequence which is the trigger.
Correct. Before they leave reach. But it doesn't say it happens before they moved. So, again... after step 1 still, but before step 2.
But, that isn't before they moved 5'. Step1.
I'm not.
Opportunity effects are a paradox. Yes. The fact that they happen before the event that triggered them to happen causes a lot of confusion to some people. You're not alone in that.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
None of that says that the opportunity attack happens before they moved. You keep repeating this same thing and it at no point tells you that the opportunity attack happens before they move 5'.
Just look at the sequence. Before leaving reach means step 1.5.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
My earlier comment #16 explains how you can leave reach before you move 5' if you don't play on a grid. No need to argue about it.
(Also, lots of reactions cause paradoxes. Just think about the shield spell.)
I know it's a headache, but here we go.
See. I told you it wasn't easy to figure out.
This is all assuming that the opponent moved directly away from the attacker who cast Booming Blade. If they instead first moved 5 feet to a square that was still adjacent to the attacker, that would trigger the movement thunder damage before an OoA is triggered for a second Booming Blade attack.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
It'd trigger booming blade before the OA either way but yeah.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Well yeah, but that's not the scenario here. Nobody would argue this (I hope so anyway).
At this point though, I'll just agree to disagree. None of the DMs I've played with would let this fly (I've tried once) and our research post-game into the subject led us all to the same conclusion:
1. Player attacks target with BB during this turn and ends his turn within 5 feet of the target.
2. Target attempts to move 5 feet (but has not done so yet) and will leave the player's reach during his turn.
X. OA BB will be here
3. Target triggers OA before leaving reach and before moving 5 feet (since reach is 5 feet).
4. Player uses his reaction and War Caster to swap OA with BB (which applies at X).
5. Target has now moved 5 feet and left the player's reach and now takes the rider effect from the second BB.
I'd be curious about this specific situation in an Adventure League game and how it was ruled though. I'm currently playing a War Caster tank character so if I can get solid evidence that it can work, I definitely would not mind using this to my advantage hahaha.