I just wanted to know by rules, if you can use the new Breath Weapon of the Dragonborn from Fizban's ToD together with the 'Dragon Fear'-feat from XGtE-
So pretty much replace a single attack with a 30ft radius Wis-save (in which you can pick targets to potentially fear, instead of the entire action like with the traditional Dragonborn.
I just wanted to know by rules, if you can use the new Breath Weapon of the Dragonborn from Fizban's ToD together with the 'Dragon Fear'-feat from XGtE-
So pretty much replace a single attack with a 30ft radius Wis-save (in which you can pick targets to potentially fear, instead of the entire action like with the traditional Dragonborn.
I was going to say: "No, you can't" since the Dragon Fear feat is explicit in that this replaces the breath weapon and simply uses it as a ressource where it expends one of your uses for it.
However, looking at the rules for Dragon Fear over, it also conspicuously doesn't say what kind of action it uses (if any). Nothing about it using an Action or Bonus Action... I couldn't find anything in the SAC either. I'm only replying so I can keep an eye on this topic now because this interests me as well. :)
The new Dragonborn types from Fizban's use the same name of "Breath Weapon" for the trait. The Dragon Fear feat simply says you expend one use of that trait and swap the exhalation of destructive energy for the roar. So whether "one use" of your Breath Weapon is an Action or an attack, that's what you expend.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just wanted to know by rules, if you can use the new Breath Weapon of the Dragonborn from Fizban's ToD together with the 'Dragon Fear'-feat from XGtE-
So pretty much replace a single attack with a 30ft radius Wis-save (in which you can pick targets to potentially fear, instead of the entire action like with the traditional Dragonborn.
I was going to say: "No, you can't" since the Dragon Fear feat is explicit in that this replaces the breath weapon and simply uses it as a ressource where it expends one of your uses for it.
However, looking at the rules for Dragon Fear over, it also conspicuously doesn't say what kind of action it uses (if any). Nothing about it using an Action or Bonus Action... I couldn't find anything in the SAC either. I'm only replying so I can keep an eye on this topic now because this interests me as well. :)
The new Dragonborn types from Fizban's use the same name of "Breath Weapon" for the trait. The Dragon Fear feat simply says you expend one use of that trait and swap the exhalation of destructive energy for the roar. So whether "one use" of your Breath Weapon is an Action or an attack, that's what you expend.