So I am just trying to understand the wording of concentration spells and their saving throws. For Crown of Madness it says".. On your subsequent turns, you must use your action to maintain control over the target, or the spell ends. Also, the target can make a Wisdom saving throw at the end of each of its turns. On a success, the spell ends."
And
Hideous Laughter ".. At the end of each of its turns, and each time it takes damage, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. The target has advantage on the saving throw if it's triggered by damage. On a success, the spell ends. "
Does this mean that my concentration of the spell is lost if they make the saving throw and I would need to use another spell slot to cast it again or am I able to use my action to try and reapply the effects of the spell? Because the the specific scenarios for losing concentration are listed as:
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn't interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once.
Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.
Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die.
Does this mean that my concentration of the spell is lost if they make the saving throw and I would need to use another spell slot to cast it again or am I able to use my action to try and reapply the effects of the spell? ...
There might be nothing left to concentrate on as per, "the target can make a Wisdom saving throw at the end of each of its turns. On a success, the spell ends."
Note that neither of those spells says that you can re-apply the effects as any type of action, nor do those spells even continue if the initial targets make their save (as noted by post #2 and your OP). If the creature makes its save on one of its turns, the spell ends.
Now do you need an action to drop concentration or can you just use a free action or bonus action to drop concentration. I.E. my group ran into this problem when I wanted to drop concentration on the darkness spell. As shown below it doesn't stat how to end the spell. So does it remain continuous if I don't lose concentration or become incapacitated or can I choose to willing drop it, and if so what does it take in my action economy.
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V M (Bat fur and a drop of pitch or piece of coal)
Duration: Up to 10 minutes
Classes: Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard
Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose within range to fill a 15-foot-radius sphere for the duration. The darkness spreads around corners. A creature with darkvision can’t see through this darkness, and nonmagical light can’t illuminate it. If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness. If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
Now do you need an action to drop concentration or can you just use a free action or bonus action to drop concentration. I.E. my group ran into this problem when I wanted to drop concentration on the darkness spell. As shown below it doesn't stat how to end the spell. So does it remain continuous if I don't lose concentration or become incapacitated or can I choose to willing drop it, and if so what does it take in my action economy.
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V M (Bat fur and a drop of pitch or piece of coal)
Duration: Up to 10 minutes
Classes: Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard
Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose within range to fill a 15-foot-radius sphere for the duration. The darkness spreads around corners. A creature with darkvision can’t see through this darkness, and nonmagical light can’t illuminate it. If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness. If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
With those spells, if the spell ends due to a successful save at the end of the targets turn, there are no other targets on which the spell is (and can never be, since they are both only single-target spells), so your concentration would automatically end.
There are spells though where multiple creatures are affected, and the spell will not end when a single target succeeds on the save (compulsion and confusion are two such spells). But the key language in both of those is that the save ends the "effect" (not the spell) or ends "the effect on that target". In these cases, the spell will continue, as will your concentration on it, as long as a valid target remains affected by the spell.
Other spells allow you to maintain concentration on the spell and pick a new target, but those spells explicitly say that's what they do (an example is telekinesis
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I am just trying to understand the wording of concentration spells and their saving throws. For Crown of Madness it says".. On your subsequent turns, you must use your action to maintain control over the target, or the spell ends. Also, the target can make a Wisdom saving throw at the end of each of its turns. On a success, the spell ends."
And
Hideous Laughter ".. At the end of each of its turns, and each time it takes damage, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. The target has advantage on the saving throw if it's triggered by damage. On a success, the spell ends. "
Does this mean that my concentration of the spell is lost if they make the saving throw and I would need to use another spell slot to cast it again or am I able to use my action to try and reapply the effects of the spell? Because the the specific scenarios for losing concentration are listed as:
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn't interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
There might be nothing left to concentrate on as per, "the target can make a Wisdom saving throw at the end of each of its turns. On a success, the spell ends."
If a spell ends that you are concentrating on, you are no longer keeping that spell’s magic active and there is nothing for you to concentrate on.
Note that neither of those spells says that you can re-apply the effects as any type of action, nor do those spells even continue if the initial targets make their save (as noted by post #2 and your OP). If the creature makes its save on one of its turns, the spell ends.
Now do you need an action to drop concentration or can you just use a free action or bonus action to drop concentration. I.E. my group ran into this problem when I wanted to drop concentration on the darkness spell. As shown below it doesn't stat how to end the spell. So does it remain continuous if I don't lose concentration or become incapacitated or can I choose to willing drop it, and if so what does it take in my action economy.
If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness.
If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
From the Spellcasting Rules | Concentration: "You can end concentration at any time (no action required)."
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
With those spells, if the spell ends due to a successful save at the end of the targets turn, there are no other targets on which the spell is (and can never be, since they are both only single-target spells), so your concentration would automatically end.
There are spells though where multiple creatures are affected, and the spell will not end when a single target succeeds on the save (compulsion and confusion are two such spells). But the key language in both of those is that the save ends the "effect" (not the spell) or ends "the effect on that target". In these cases, the spell will continue, as will your concentration on it, as long as a valid target remains affected by the spell.
Other spells allow you to maintain concentration on the spell and pick a new target, but those spells explicitly say that's what they do (an example is telekinesis