Can I cast shadow Blade as a paladin/sorcerer if I have a shield in one hand and a sword, with ruby of the war mage, in the other? Would I just need to sheath my sword and pick up Shadow blade or would it go away after sheathing the ruby? If shadow blade does stay out could I still cast shield or absorb elements as reactions if my ruby is sheathed?
From the spell you ". . . create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand."
And "If you drop the weapon or throw it, it dissipates at the end of the turn. Thereafter, while the spell persists, you can use a bonus action to cause the sword to reappear in your hand."
So whether it is possible to conjure the blade without a free hand to conjure it into is debatable. If allowed the Shadow Blade would fall to the ground and you would have until the end of your turn to pick it up.
There are a few issues though. First, you have only one Object Interaction per turn so you wouldn't be able to sheath your sword with the ruby and pick up the Shadow Blade. Depending on the DM dropping your sword wouldn't take up your Object Interaction, but then someone else might pick up your sword before your turn comes around again.
Really though you could just sheath your sword, cast Shadow Blade as normal, and avoid any rule pedantry.
Really though you could just sheath your sword, cast Shadow Blade as normal, and avoid any rule pedantry.
This. Shadow Blade has somatic but no material component. Sheath the sword, use your free hand to somatic and hold the resulting blade.
Then, both Shield and Absorb Elements have somatic but not material components. That means to cast either one of them you need an empty hand - so not while holding a shield and either of the shadow blade or the Ruby sword (unless you have the Warcaster feat, then either sword is ok).
Can I cast shadow Blade as a paladin/sorcerer if I have a shield in one hand and a sword, with ruby of the war mage, in the other? Would I just need to sheath my sword and pick up Shadow blade or would it go away after sheathing the ruby? If shadow blade does stay out could I still cast shield or absorb elements as reactions if my ruby is sheathed?
From the spell you ". . . create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand."
And "If you drop the weapon or throw it, it dissipates at the end of the turn. Thereafter, while the spell persists, you can use a bonus action to cause the sword to reappear in your hand."
So whether it is possible to conjure the blade without a free hand to conjure it into is debatable. If allowed the Shadow Blade would fall to the ground and you would have until the end of your turn to pick it up.
There are a few issues though. First, you have only one Object Interaction per turn so you wouldn't be able to sheath your sword with the ruby and pick up the Shadow Blade. Depending on the DM dropping your sword wouldn't take up your Object Interaction, but then someone else might pick up your sword before your turn comes around again.
Really though you could just sheath your sword, cast Shadow Blade as normal, and avoid any rule pedantry.
This. Shadow Blade has somatic but no material component. Sheath the sword, use your free hand to somatic and hold the resulting blade.
Then, both Shield and Absorb Elements have somatic but not material components. That means to cast either one of them you need an empty hand - so not while holding a shield and either of the shadow blade or the Ruby sword (unless you have the Warcaster feat, then either sword is ok).
Thank you, yea it really tripped me up