I've realized I've been kind of running Web wrong. I've always taken the burning thing to mean that any fire ignites the entire web, but reading the spell more directly it seems that it burns in individual 5x5 cubes. It doesn't even say that the fire spreads to the rest of the web... which does make sense, irl Spider Webs aren't actually particularly flammable... stuff like cobwebs mostly burn because of the dust clinging to them.
I've realized I've been kind of running Web wrong. I've always taken the burning thing to mean that any fire ignites the entire web, but reading the spell more directly it seems that it burns in individual 5x5 cubes. It doesn't even say that the fire spreads to the rest of the web... which does make sense, irl Spider Webs aren't actually particularly flammable... stuff like cobwebs mostly burn because of the dust clinging to them.
It wouldn't really make much sense for the fire to suddenly stop spreading once it has burned 5 feet, because more of the web is on fire at that point. I would rule that at the beginning of each round it would spread to any squares next to it (not diagonally) and I'm not entirely sure that a cobweb wouldn't be very flammable.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
Web does need to be anchored to two solid surfaces, so catching something flying won’t always work.
Yes. But it says the spell ends after one round if it isn't anchored to anything, and objects/creatues fall at about 500 feet per turn, and the range for web is 60 feet, meaning that falling speed doesn't even matter.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
Ha i see i looked and effectively the Grease spell never mention any flammable effect in 1-4E. So it must have been a ruling based on the material component flamability.
Huh. It is definitely something I've heard people say, but I can't find anything myself. The main difference I've noticed is that the (2e?) description for grease actually mentioned that the conjures substance was "fatty".
Someone mentioned it may have been a tip from dragon magazine.
And in Baldur's gate (d&d the video game) the grease spell is flammable.
I suspect the game is the main culprit, both in terms of giving people the idea and in terms of getting stolen by other games.
RAW, if a creature starts its turn in any of the fire, it takes 2d4 damage regardless of how many spaces of fire it occupies. So you're dealing 8d6+2d4, not 8d6+32d4.
The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire.
to me, saying that any 5-foot cube of webs deals 2d4 fire damage to a creature that starts its turn in the fire means it would stack, it doesn't say a creature exposed to the fire takes damage, it says any 5 foot square deals damage to creatures inside it. I think that would mean that I am correct.
edit: if the spell said “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4” then I would agree with you.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
I've realized I've been kind of running Web wrong. I've always taken the burning thing to mean that any fire ignites the entire web, but reading the spell more directly it seems that it burns in individual 5x5 cubes. It doesn't even say that the fire spreads to the rest of the web... which does make sense, irl Spider Webs aren't actually particularly flammable... stuff like cobwebs mostly burn because of the dust clinging to them.
It wouldn't really make much sense for the fire to suddenly stop spreading once it has burned 5 feet, because more of the web is on fire at that point. I would rule that at the beginning of each round it would spread to any squares next to it (not diagonally) and I'm not entirely sure that a cobweb wouldn't be very flammable.
You can rule that for your games, but there's nothing in the spell description that says that the fire spreads from one 5x5 cube to another.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Technically, the large creature occupies 4 squares at a 5ft level and 4 further squares at the 5-10ft level, so if the web is a cube, it will be within 8 blazing web squares, taking an additional 16d4 fire damage if all 8 squares are if hit by a fireball.
This of course becomes problematic when you start considering a Huge creature (15 x 15) within a 20 x 20 cube, since one of its 'squares' is within the other squares. But it should take at least 54d4 points of fire damage because 3 dimensionally it fills 27 5ft squares.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Technically, the large creature occupies 4 squares at a 5ft level and 4 further squares at the 5-10ft level, so if the web is a cube, it will be within 8 blazing web squares, taking an additional 16d4 fire damage if all 8 squares are if hit by a fireball.
This of course becomes problematic when you start considering a Huge creature (15 x 15) within a 20 x 20 cube, since one of its 'squares' is within the other squares. But it should take at least 54d4 points of fire damage because 3 dimensionally it fills 27 5ft squares.
Shhhh be quiet the DMs are gonna murder you for this.
But I guess yea, this technically works, but only if you anchor the web between 2 or more points, as if you cast it in the open it will just be 5 ft tall. I was thinking of this before, but I realized that it would be too game breaking (as if it wasn't already)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Only if the webs are ignited separately. If they're ignited at the same time the rules for combining magical effects come into play and they only take damage once.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Only if the webs are ignited separately. If they're ignited at the same time the rules for combining magical effects come into play and they only take damage once.
I’m pretty sure that rule doesn’t apply to instantaneous effects; like taking damage, for example. And if they wanted to have the creature take only the 2d4 fire damage, no matter the size, they could have worded it like “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4 fire damage”
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Only if the webs are ignited separately. If they're ignited at the same time the rules for combining magical effects come into play and they only take damage once.
I’m pretty sure that rule doesn’t apply to instantaneous effects; like taking damage, for example. And if they wanted to have the creature take only the 2d4 fire damage, no matter the size, they could have worded it like “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4 fire damage”
In a way it does say exactly that. Web says "The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire."
Damage to a creature that starts its turn in "the fire." Not starts its turn in that particular cube. Nothing states that the damage stacks or scales per cube. The cube after all is not what is dealing damage, the fire is. A 4x4 space 5 foot cubes of web all aflame isn't considered four individual fires, it's one singular fire and that one fire deals 2d4 damage.
This tweet, while not itself a RAW source, explains the RAI of how the web spell works when the webs are ignited: "any creature that starts its turn in the fire—regardless of the creature's size—takes 2d4 fire damage."
Working as just 2d4 fire damage would be consistent with other rules in the game as well such as the rule for combining magical effects. Technically that rule doesn't specifically apply here to this situation since it's not "the same spell cast multiple times" but seeing as it's still the same spell I feel that the spirit of the rule would be to apply that damage only once per creature per turn while that fire persists.
At best I might be convinced to say that the most potent effect (highest roll of 2d4) would apply but that also feels like it'd slow things down waiting for a player to roll 2d4 16 times in order to be sure they get the most out of their damage dice.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Only if the webs are ignited separately. If they're ignited at the same time the rules for combining magical effects come into play and they only take damage once.
I’m pretty sure that rule doesn’t apply to instantaneous effects; like taking damage, for example. And if they wanted to have the creature take only the 2d4 fire damage, no matter the size, they could have worded it like “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4 fire damage”
In a way it does say exactly that. Web says "The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire."
Damage to a creature that starts its turn in "the fire." Not starts its turn in that particular cube. Nothing states that the damage stacks or scales per cube. The cube after all is not what is dealing damage, the fire is. A 4x4 space 5 foot cubes of web all aflame isn't considered four individual fires, it's one singular fire and that one fire deals 2d4 damage.
This tweet, while not itself a RAW source, explains the RAI of how the web spell works when the webs are ignited: "any creature that starts its turn in the fire—regardless of the creature's size—takes 2d4 fire damage."
Working as just 2d4 fire damage would be consistent with other rules in the game as well such as the rule for combining magical effects. Technically that rule doesn't specifically apply here to this situation since it's not "the same spell cast multiple times" but seeing as it's still the same spell I feel that the spirit of the rule would be to apply that damage only once per creature per turn while that fire persists.
At best I might be convinced to say that the most potent effect (highest roll of 2d4) would apply but that also feels like it'd slow things down waiting for a player to roll 2d4 16 times in order to be sure they get the most out of their damage dice.
I was going to say multiple squares of web, multiple 2d4’s. But I think you have the right if it and it is only one instance of 2d4. The fire burns away the web and any creature “in the fire” takes 2d4 damage.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Technically, the large creature occupies 4 squares at a 5ft level and 4 further squares at the 5-10ft level, so if the web is a cube, it will be within 8 blazing web squares, taking an additional 16d4 fire damage if all 8 squares are if hit by a fireball.
This of course becomes problematic when you start considering a Huge creature (15 x 15) within a 20 x 20 cube, since one of its 'squares' is within the other squares. But it should take at least 54d4 points of fire damage because 3 dimensionally it fills 27 5ft squares.
Your math is off here. A large creature occupies 4 squares period. It is 10x10. That is 8d4. A huge creature occupies 9 squares for 18d4. Why are you calculating vertical cubes?
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Technically, the large creature occupies 4 squares at a 5ft level and 4 further squares at the 5-10ft level, so if the web is a cube, it will be within 8 blazing web squares, taking an additional 16d4 fire damage if all 8 squares are if hit by a fireball.
This of course becomes problematic when you start considering a Huge creature (15 x 15) within a 20 x 20 cube, since one of its 'squares' is within the other squares. But it should take at least 54d4 points of fire damage because 3 dimensionally it fills 27 5ft squares.
Your math is off here. A large creature occupies 4 squares period. It is 10x10. That is 8d4. A huge creature occupies 9 squares for 18d4. Why are you calculating vertical cubes?
Because web is a 20 ft. cube not square and each 5 ft. cube can burn, also the ones vertically. A large creature typically occupies a 10 ft. cube, that is eight 5 ft. cubes not four.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I've realized I've been kind of running Web wrong. I've always taken the burning thing to mean that any fire ignites the entire web, but reading the spell more directly it seems that it burns in individual 5x5 cubes. It doesn't even say that the fire spreads to the rest of the web... which does make sense, irl Spider Webs aren't actually particularly flammable... stuff like cobwebs mostly burn because of the dust clinging to them.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
It wouldn't really make much sense for the fire to suddenly stop spreading once it has burned 5 feet, because more of the web is on fire at that point. I would rule that at the beginning of each round it would spread to any squares next to it (not diagonally) and I'm not entirely sure that a cobweb wouldn't be very flammable.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
Yes. But it says the spell ends after one round if it isn't anchored to anything, and objects/creatues fall at about 500 feet per turn, and the range for web is 60 feet, meaning that falling speed doesn't even matter.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
I suspect the game is the main culprit, both in terms of giving people the idea and in terms of getting stolen by other games.
The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire.
to me, saying that any 5-foot cube of webs deals 2d4 fire damage to a creature that starts its turn in the fire means it would stack, it doesn't say a creature exposed to the fire takes damage, it says any 5 foot square deals damage to creatures inside it. I think that would mean that I am correct.
edit: if the spell said “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4” then I would agree with you.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
You can rule that for your games, but there's nothing in the spell description that says that the fire spreads from one 5x5 cube to another.
The correct reading of the rule is that a creature standing within a 5ft area of web that is set alight suffers 2d4 points of fire damage. If a large creature occupies 4 webbed spaces that burn, then it will take 2d4 damage from each 5ft square that it occupies.
Technically, the large creature occupies 4 squares at a 5ft level and 4 further squares at the 5-10ft level, so if the web is a cube, it will be within 8 blazing web squares, taking an additional 16d4 fire damage if all 8 squares are if hit by a fireball.
This of course becomes problematic when you start considering a Huge creature (15 x 15) within a 20 x 20 cube, since one of its 'squares' is within the other squares. But it should take at least 54d4 points of fire damage because 3 dimensionally it fills 27 5ft squares.
Shhhh be quiet the DMs are gonna murder you for this.
But I guess yea, this technically works, but only if you anchor the web between 2 or more points, as if you cast it in the open it will just be 5 ft tall. I was thinking of this before, but I realized that it would be too game breaking (as if it wasn't already)
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
Only if the webs are ignited separately. If they're ignited at the same time the rules for combining magical effects come into play and they only take damage once.
I’m pretty sure that rule doesn’t apply to instantaneous effects; like taking damage, for example. And if they wanted to have the creature take only the 2d4 fire damage, no matter the size, they could have worded it like “if a creature is exposed to the fire they take 2d4 fire damage”
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
In a way it does say exactly that. Web says "The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire."
Damage to a creature that starts its turn in "the fire." Not starts its turn in that particular cube. Nothing states that the damage stacks or scales per cube. The cube after all is not what is dealing damage, the fire is. A 4x4 space 5 foot cubes of web all aflame isn't considered four individual fires, it's one singular fire and that one fire deals 2d4 damage.
This tweet, while not itself a RAW source, explains the RAI of how the web spell works when the webs are ignited: "any creature that starts its turn in the fire—regardless of the creature's size—takes 2d4 fire damage."
Working as just 2d4 fire damage would be consistent with other rules in the game as well such as the rule for combining magical effects. Technically that rule doesn't specifically apply here to this situation since it's not "the same spell cast multiple times" but seeing as it's still the same spell I feel that the spirit of the rule would be to apply that damage only once per creature per turn while that fire persists.
At best I might be convinced to say that the most potent effect (highest roll of 2d4) would apply but that also feels like it'd slow things down waiting for a player to roll 2d4 16 times in order to be sure they get the most out of their damage dice.
I was going to say multiple squares of web, multiple 2d4’s. But I think you have the right if it and it is only one instance of 2d4. The fire burns away the web and any creature “in the fire” takes 2d4 damage.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Next comment
Your math is off here. A large creature occupies 4 squares period. It is 10x10. That is 8d4. A huge creature occupies 9 squares for 18d4. Why are you calculating vertical cubes?
Because web is a 20 ft. cube not square and each 5 ft. cube can burn, also the ones vertically. A large creature typically occupies a 10 ft. cube, that is eight 5 ft. cubes not four.