During our session last week a discussion occurred about the mechanics of Halo of Spores, specifically on when things happen. My belief is that RAW that if a creature began it's last turn within 10 feet of the druid, didn't move out of that range, and if it's currently my druid's turn that I could use my reaction during my turn and that the damage would be applied immediately. My DM believes that the damage would not be applied until the target's turn and states that this is because it is a reaction ability. My perspective is that though this is a reaction ability that the class feature describes it's mechanics as functioning differently than most reactions. I think that he is misinterpreting this class feature. I would appreciate any advice. House rules are fine, but I am wondering about the correct answer for RAW.
Two things here. The damage from the reaction is applied when you use the reaction. But more importantly, the reaction must be taken when the Halo of Spores ability says: when the creature starts its turn within 10 feet of you or when it moves within 10 feet of you. Those things generally occur on the creature's turn and not yours.
If the creature just stays in the area, then no, they don't take damage on your turn. You must wait until the creature starts its turn in the area to use your reaction.
Thanks for the reply, Halo of Spores does also state the trigger "or starts it's turn there" This is the crux of the confusion.
"Starting at 2nd level, you are surrounded by invisible, necrotic spores that are harmless until you unleash them on a creature nearby. When a creature you can see moves into a space within 10 feet of you or starts its turn there, you can use your reaction to deal 1d4 necrotic damage to that creature unless it succeeds on a Constitution saving throw against your spell save DC. The necrotic damage increases to 1d6 at 6th level, 1d8 at 10th level, and 1d10 at 14th level."
So if the druid came before the target in initiative order then you are saying the reaction would have to wait until the target began it's turn? Conversely if the target was already within 10 feet and had 1st initiative then the reaction could happen during in either the target or the druids turn?(provided the druid still had a reaction to use) I think that I might understand it now if I restated it correctly.
This same question came up with this feature in a game I was running. It's a little awkward the way they worded it, but it works. The druid would approach an enemy and try to whammy them with the reaction right then. I just had to set the expectation properly that the druid can set it up on their turn, but the effect happens on the target's turn, with uncommon exceptions.
So if the druid came before the target in initiative order then you are saying the reaction would have to wait until the target began it's turn?
Yes, for the start of turn trigger. The movement trigger could happen on the Druid's turn via forced movement.
Conversely if the target was already within 10 feet and had 1st initiative then the reaction could happen during in either the target or the druids turn?(provided the druid still had a reaction to use)
No, only when the target's turn starts. When the Druid's turn starts, it is too late.
I think that I might understand it now if I restated it correctly.
The Druid can react to the target's turn starting or the target's movement taking it to a space within range. Unless one of those things happen, they can't take the Halo of Spores reaction. It's generally impossible (exceptions exist) for the target's turn to start during the Druid's turn, so the reaction to that generally can't happen on the Druid's turn.
So the druid also can, the moment that the target's turn begins(if within range and if the druid has a reaction left) interrupt with the reaction at that moment?
So the druid also can, the moment that the target's turn begins(if within range and if the druid has a reaction left) interrupt with the reaction at that moment?
I believe you are describing the primary way this feature is used, yes.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Howdy,
During our session last week a discussion occurred about the mechanics of Halo of Spores, specifically on when things happen. My belief is that RAW that if a creature began it's last turn within 10 feet of the druid, didn't move out of that range, and if it's currently my druid's turn that I could use my reaction during my turn and that the damage would be applied immediately. My DM believes that the damage would not be applied until the target's turn and states that this is because it is a reaction ability. My perspective is that though this is a reaction ability that the class feature describes it's mechanics as functioning differently than most reactions. I think that he is misinterpreting this class feature. I would appreciate any advice. House rules are fine, but I am wondering about the correct answer for RAW.
Thank you for any advice.
Two things here. The damage from the reaction is applied when you use the reaction. But more importantly, the reaction must be taken when the Halo of Spores ability says: when the creature starts its turn within 10 feet of you or when it moves within 10 feet of you. Those things generally occur on the creature's turn and not yours.
If the creature just stays in the area, then no, they don't take damage on your turn. You must wait until the creature starts its turn in the area to use your reaction.
Thanks for the reply, Halo of Spores does also state the trigger "or starts it's turn there" This is the crux of the confusion.
"Starting at 2nd level, you are surrounded by invisible, necrotic spores that are harmless until you unleash them on a creature nearby. When a creature you can see moves into a space within 10 feet of you or starts its turn there, you can use your reaction to deal 1d4 necrotic damage to that creature unless it succeeds on a Constitution saving throw against your spell save DC. The necrotic damage increases to 1d6 at 6th level, 1d8 at 10th level, and 1d10 at 14th level."
"Starts its turn there" means the creature starts its turn, not the druid.
So if the druid came before the target in initiative order then you are saying the reaction would have to wait until the target began it's turn? Conversely if the target was already within 10 feet and had 1st initiative then the reaction could happen during in either the target or the druids turn?(provided the druid still had a reaction to use) I think that I might understand it now if I restated it correctly.
This same question came up with this feature in a game I was running. It's a little awkward the way they worded it, but it works. The druid would approach an enemy and try to whammy them with the reaction right then. I just had to set the expectation properly that the druid can set it up on their turn, but the effect happens on the target's turn, with uncommon exceptions.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yes, for the start of turn trigger. The movement trigger could happen on the Druid's turn via forced movement.
No, only when the target's turn starts. When the Druid's turn starts, it is too late.
The Druid can react to the target's turn starting or the target's movement taking it to a space within range. Unless one of those things happen, they can't take the Halo of Spores reaction. It's generally impossible (exceptions exist) for the target's turn to start during the Druid's turn, so the reaction to that generally can't happen on the Druid's turn.
So the druid also can, the moment that the target's turn begins(if within range and if the druid has a reaction left) interrupt with the reaction at that moment?
I believe you are describing the primary way this feature is used, yes.
"Not all those who wander are lost"