My question is I am currently playing 1st level Artificer/14th level Wizard so have an 8th level spell slot, If I get an 8th Level scroll would i be able to use it to cast a spell or am i limited to 7th level.
Yes, you would be able to use an 8th level Spell Scroll without having to make an ability check. The fact that you cannot yet learn or prepare 8th level spells doesn't matter.
All you need is for the spell to be on one of your class spell lists and be of a level you can normally cast. You have an 8th level spell slot and can cast 8th level spells. Yes, you would need to upcast a lower level spell to use your 8th level spell slot, but that is still casting an 8th level spell.
Yes, you would be able to use an 8th level Spell Scroll without having to make an ability check. The fact that you cannot yet learn or prepare 8th level spells doesn't matter.
All you need is for the spell to be on one of your class spell lists and be of a level you can normally cast. You have an 8th level spell slot and can cast 8th level spells. Yes, you would need to upcast a lower level spell to use your 8th level spell slot, but that is still casting an 8th level spell.
Not sure that's how it works, it could lead to some seriously broken stuff. For example, it would mean a character with 1 level in Cleric and 16 levels in Wizard would be able to use a scroll of True Resurrection(a 9th-level Cleric spell), with no ability check required. Pretty sure that's not allowed. Crawford was asked something similar a few years ago, and it seems he would concur: https://www.sageadvice.eu/cleric-1-wizard-9-find-scroll-of-greater-restoration/
My idea was to create a simulacrum with instructions to get a clone scroll after prep work was done to create a clone.
As the DM is sending us into combat with zero chance of success, the three man party is underpowered and ill equipped. He has killed my character three times so far and now is throwing us against an army and an aspect of Tiamat.
I'm trying to play a character with a 20 intelligence so creating this backup plan would be in character should things go wrong.
My idea was to create a simulacrum with instructions to get a clone scroll after prep work was done to create a clone.
As the DM is sending us into combat with zero chance of success, the three man party is underpowered and ill equipped. He has killed my character three times so far and now is throwing us against an army and an aspect of Tiamat.
I'm trying to play a character with a 20 intelligence so creating this backup plan would be in character should things go wrong.
Not sure that's how it works, it could lead to some seriously broken stuff. For example, it would mean a character with 1 level in Cleric and 16 levels in Wizard would be able to use a scroll of True Resurrection(a 9th-level Cleric spell), with no ability check required. Pretty sure that's not allowed. Crawford was asked something similar a few years ago, and it seems he would concur: https://www.sageadvice.eu/cleric-1-wizard-9-find-scroll-of-greater-restoration/
I'd say that he is incorrect in his reasoning here. The multi-classing rules are quite clear, you get your spells known/prepared from each class individually but the spells you can cast (spell slots) is determined by your levels combined. It might be broken and a DM could decide to do otherwise but the RAW allows it.
Not sure that's how it works, it could lead to some seriously broken stuff. For example, it would mean a character with 1 level in Cleric and 16 levels in Wizard would be able to use a scroll of True Resurrection(a 9th-level Cleric spell), with no ability check required. Pretty sure that's not allowed. Crawford was asked something similar a few years ago, and it seems he would concur: https://www.sageadvice.eu/cleric-1-wizard-9-find-scroll-of-greater-restoration/
I'd say that he is incorrect in his reasoning here. The multi-classing rules are quite clear, you get your spells known/prepared from each class individually but the spells you can cast (spell slots) is determined by your levels combined. It might be broken and a DM could decide to do otherwise but the RAW allows it.
You are artificially conflating spells you can cast and spell slots. Spells you can cast are exactly that, not spell slots. A first level cleric can't cast greater restoration, even if they have 9th level slots.
Not sure that's how it works, it could lead to some seriously broken stuff. For example, it would mean a character with 1 level in Cleric and 16 levels in Wizard would be able to use a scroll of True Resurrection(a 9th-level Cleric spell), with no ability check required. Pretty sure that's not allowed. Crawford was asked something similar a few years ago, and it seems he would concur: https://www.sageadvice.eu/cleric-1-wizard-9-find-scroll-of-greater-restoration/
I'd say that he is incorrect in his reasoning here. The multi-classing rules are quite clear, you get your spells known/prepared from each class individually but the spells you can cast (spell slots) is determined by your levels combined. It might be broken and a DM could decide to do otherwise but the RAW allows it.
You are artificially conflating spells you can cast and spell slots. Spells you can cast are exactly that, not spell slots. A first level cleric can't cast greater restoration, even if they have 9th level slots.
JC's tweet tells us how he would rule it at his table, it may even be how the rules were intended to work. However, it does not accurately represent the multi-classing rules regarding spellcasting printed in the PHB: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/customization-options#Spellcasting
The spells you can learn and prepare are determined by your individual class levels. Your spell slots are determined by your combined spellcasting class levels. It says nothing about determining the level of spells you can cast.
It is very clear that when you cast a spell with a higher level slot you are casting a spell of the slots level. So when the 16th level Wizard, 1st level Cleric uses their 9th level slot to cast Cure Wounds they are unequivocally casting a 9th level Cleric spell.
I believe the question comes down to how you interpret the phrase ". . . of a higher level than you can normally cast . . ." from the Spell Scroll description. As far as I am aware this is not a phrase defined or used anywhere else in the rules. So it depends on if you consider upcast to be a violation of "normally" casting or not.
I believe the question comes down to how you interpret the phrase ". . . of a higher level than you can normally cast . . ." from the Spell Scroll description. As far as I am aware this is not a phrase defined or used anywhere else in the rules. So it depends on if you consider upcast to be a violation of "normally" casting or not.
And I believe there is a whole bunch of text in the multiclassing rules that indicate that you know and prepare spells from each class individually, and those are the levels you'd normally be able to cast. Again, slots aren't spells.
Right? It isn't asking about whether you could upcast cure wounds. The description calls out "of a higher level than you can normally cast," A cleric 1 doesn't know any 5th level cleric spells. A cleric 1 cannot cast 5th level cleric spells.
If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells. If a lower-level spell that you cast, like burning hands, has an enhanced effect when cast using a higher-level slot, you can use the enhanced effect, even though you don’t have any spells of that higher level.
For example, if you are the aforementioned ranger 4/wizard 3, you count as a 5th-level character when determining your spell slots: you have four 1st-level slots, three 2nd-level slots, and two 3rd-level slots. However, you don’t know any 3rd-level spells, nor do you know any 2nd-level ranger spells. You can use the spell slots of those levels to cast the spells you do know — and potentially enhance their effects.
I got this from the page you linked. It says that you can use the slots, but you can't cast higher level spells with them, only your lower level spells. It even calls out that a ranger4/wizard3 doesn't know any 3rd level spells. It makes it pretty clear that the ranger/wizard wouldn't normally be able to cast any 3rd level spells.
Continuing that trend,
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting...
Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
Nothing in the "casting a spell at higher level" rules mentions that you'd normally be able to cast higher level spells by having higher level slots.
I have read the rules on multiclassing.
My question is I am currently playing 1st level Artificer/14th level Wizard so have an 8th level spell slot, If I get an 8th Level scroll would i be able to use it to cast a spell or am i limited to 7th level.
Yes, you would be able to use an 8th level Spell Scroll without having to make an ability check. The fact that you cannot yet learn or prepare 8th level spells doesn't matter.
All you need is for the spell to be on one of your class spell lists and be of a level you can normally cast. You have an 8th level spell slot and can cast 8th level spells. Yes, you would need to upcast a lower level spell to use your 8th level spell slot, but that is still casting an 8th level spell.
Not sure that's how it works, it could lead to some seriously broken stuff. For example, it would mean a character with 1 level in Cleric and 16 levels in Wizard would be able to use a scroll of True Resurrection(a 9th-level Cleric spell), with no ability check required. Pretty sure that's not allowed. Crawford was asked something similar a few years ago, and it seems he would concur: https://www.sageadvice.eu/cleric-1-wizard-9-find-scroll-of-greater-restoration/
My idea was to create a simulacrum with instructions to get a clone scroll after prep work was done to create a clone.
As the DM is sending us into combat with zero chance of success, the three man party is underpowered and ill equipped. He has killed my character three times so far and now is throwing us against an army and an aspect of Tiamat.
I'm trying to play a character with a 20 intelligence so creating this backup plan would be in character should things go wrong.
Ugh, not my kind of DM :(
I'd say that he is incorrect in his reasoning here. The multi-classing rules are quite clear, you get your spells known/prepared from each class individually but the spells you can cast (spell slots) is determined by your levels combined. It might be broken and a DM could decide to do otherwise but the RAW allows it.
You are artificially conflating spells you can cast and spell slots. Spells you can cast are exactly that, not spell slots. A first level cleric can't cast greater restoration, even if they have 9th level slots.
JC's tweet tells us how he would rule it at his table, it may even be how the rules were intended to work. However, it does not accurately represent the multi-classing rules regarding spellcasting printed in the PHB: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/customization-options#Spellcasting
The spells you can learn and prepare are determined by your individual class levels. Your spell slots are determined by your combined spellcasting class levels. It says nothing about determining the level of spells you can cast.
The reason I say you can use a scroll without needing to make an ability check as long as you have a spell slot of the same level or higher is because of the Casting a Spell at Higher Level rule: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#CastingaSpellataHigherLevel
It is very clear that when you cast a spell with a higher level slot you are casting a spell of the slots level. So when the 16th level Wizard, 1st level Cleric uses their 9th level slot to cast Cure Wounds they are unequivocally casting a 9th level Cleric spell.
I believe the question comes down to how you interpret the phrase ". . . of a higher level than you can normally cast . . ." from the Spell Scroll description. As far as I am aware this is not a phrase defined or used anywhere else in the rules. So it depends on if you consider upcast to be a violation of "normally" casting or not.
And I believe there is a whole bunch of text in the multiclassing rules that indicate that you know and prepare spells from each class individually, and those are the levels you'd normally be able to cast. Again, slots aren't spells.
Right? It isn't asking about whether you could upcast cure wounds. The description calls out "of a higher level than you can normally cast," A cleric 1 doesn't know any 5th level cleric spells. A cleric 1 cannot cast 5th level cleric spells.
I got this from the page you linked. It says that you can use the slots, but you can't cast higher level spells with them, only your lower level spells. It even calls out that a ranger4/wizard3 doesn't know any 3rd level spells. It makes it pretty clear that the ranger/wizard wouldn't normally be able to cast any 3rd level spells.
Continuing that trend,
Nothing in the "casting a spell at higher level" rules mentions that you'd normally be able to cast higher level spells by having higher level slots.