If you point out a problem, some people will make you out to be the problem, because they were content ignoring the problem you're drawing attention to. I feel that applies here for some reason. Because we all agree that a Wiz4/Clr1 cannot cast fireball normally. There shouldn't be any animosity. We agree on what actually matters. How to play.
The only disagreement is in the how the rule is formatted. A strict reading would allow it to cast fireball, but only if you ignored the clear and present RAI-setting examples. So no one does. And no one should. I certainly am not advocating for that. Play it how everyone plays it, how it is clearly supposed to be played. RAI? Clear. Play it this way. RAW? Small gap. Would be great if they errata it some day or clear it up in 6e.
I think it is important to note, though, that this rule does cause confusion. Throughout the entirety of 5e this topic pops up from time to time because people do get confused by it. And I don't think it is prudent to assume anyone who notices this gap are necessarily trying to 'game the system' for some untoward advantage. Seeing a problem doesn't mean you want it to be there. And it is there, there is a hole there in the RAW. Easily plugged, but there nonetheless. Daring to notice it shouldn't be heresy.
The answer for OP is just:
"The examples written in the multiclass rule makes it clear that what you're supposed to do is reference your class table for slots of that individual level, and so the wizard4/cleric1 as a 4th level wizard doesn't have 3rd level spells according to the wizard table. This is how it is supposed to work."
Then, if he tries to argue that he knows the Fireball spell because he owns that found spellbook clarify that:
"He actually doesn't know it until he copies it into his own book, which he cannot do until it is a level which he can prepare, and refer back to answer one for why he isn't supposed to be able to prepare 3rd level spells."
The only real exception is something like that Fulminating Treatise magic item. But, absent a magic item or other complication, these answers should suffice.
What Gap are you referring to? The Rules As Written are quite clear as to how a Multiclassing Wizard handles Knowing and preparing their spells. The Rules As Written within the Wizards Class section clearly states how a wizard at any level has to know and prepare spells for casting.
There is no problem to speak of unless one wishes to disregard the exact wording of the Rules As Written to obtain what was stated "to 'game the system' for some untoward advantage."
So with that let all look at the verbatim [ Rules As Written ] pulled from the Basic Rules Wizard Class spellcasting section: Wizard Knowing and Preparing Spells
As a student of arcane magic, you have a spellbook containing spells that show the first glimmerings of your true power. See chapter 10 for the general rules of spellcasting and chapter 11 for the wizard spell list.
Cantrips
At 1st level, you know three cantrips of your choice from the wizard spell list. You learn additional wizard cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Wizard table.
Spellbook
At 1st level, you have a spellbook containing six 1st-level wizard spells of your choice. Your spellbook is the repository of the wizard spells you know, except your cantrips, which are fixed in your mind.
Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On your adventures, you might find other spells that you can add to your spellbook (see the “Your Spellbook” sidebar).
Preparing and Casting Spells
The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell).The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Bolded and underlined text point to the actual RAW for how a wizard Prepares the spells for which they want to cast, the wizards spellbook contains the list of spells that can be prepared. The wizards spellbook list, not what spell slots a wizard might have to cast spells with, is what determines what spells the wizard can prepare. A wizards spellbook is limited by RAW in its ability to hold leveled spells the wizard can KNOW AND PREPARE for casting by way of the Wizard Table within the Wizard Class.
[ please note that the section Learning Spells of 1-st level and Higher is located at the end of the wizards spellcasting section, moving this relevant set of rules to the proper place as shown above would ease any confusion, gap, and ambiguity with regards to RAW]
Learning Spells when the wizard levels up isn't what we're talking about.
If the part I highlighted Red has simply said what they wrote in Blue, there would be no gap. The gap, specifically, is the lack of reference there at the Red back to the table.
The Intent is that you reference back to the table. That's the RAI. If they simply added that into the rule, added "as shown on the Wizard table." then it'd be the RAW too.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
If you point out a problem, some people will make you out to be the problem, because they were content ignoring the problem you're drawing attention to. I feel that applies here for some reason. Because we all agree that a Wiz4/Clr1 cannot cast fireball normally. There shouldn't be any animosity. We agree on what actually matters. How to play.
The only disagreement is in the how the rule is formatted. A strict reading would allow it to cast fireball, but only if you ignored the clear and present RAI-setting examples. So no one does. And no one should. I certainly am not advocating for that. Play it how everyone plays it, how it is clearly supposed to be played. RAI? Clear. Play it this way. RAW? Small gap. Would be great if they errata it some day or clear it up in 6e.
I think it is important to note, though, that this rule does cause confusion. Throughout the entirety of 5e this topic pops up from time to time because people do get confused by it. And I don't think it is prudent to assume anyone who notices this gap are necessarily trying to 'game the system' for some untoward advantage. Seeing a problem doesn't mean you want it to be there. And it is there, there is a hole there in the RAW. Easily plugged, but there nonetheless. Daring to notice it shouldn't be heresy.
The answer for OP is just:
"The examples written in the multiclass rule makes it clear that what you're supposed to do is reference your class table for slots of that individual level, and so the wizard4/cleric1 as a 4th level wizard doesn't have 3rd level spells according to the wizard table. This is how it is supposed to work."
Then, if he tries to argue that he knows the Fireball spell because he owns that found spellbook clarify that:
"He actually doesn't know it until he copies it into his own book, which he cannot do until it is a level which he can prepare, and refer back to answer one for why he isn't supposed to be able to prepare 3rd level spells."
The only real exception is something like that Fulminating Treatise magic item. But, absent a magic item or other complication, these answers should suffice.
What Gap are you referring to? The Rules As Written are quite clear as to how a Multiclassing Wizard handles Knowing and preparing their spells. The Rules As Written within the Wizards Class section clearly states how a wizard at any level has to know and prepare spells for casting.
There is no problem to speak of unless one wishes to disregard the exact wording of the Rules As Written to obtain what was stated "to 'game the system' for some untoward advantage."
So with that let all look at the verbatim [ Rules As Written ] pulled from the Basic Rules Wizard Class spellcasting section: Wizard Knowing and Preparing Spells
As a student of arcane magic, you have a spellbook containing spells that show the first glimmerings of your true power. See chapter 10 for the general rules of spellcasting and chapter 11 for the wizard spell list.
Cantrips
At 1st level, you know three cantrips of your choice from the wizard spell list. You learn additional wizard cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Wizard table.
Spellbook
At 1st level, you have a spellbook containing six 1st-level wizard spells of your choice. Your spellbook is the repository of the wizard spells you know, except your cantrips, which are fixed in your mind.
Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On your adventures, you might find other spells that you can add to your spellbook (see the “Your Spellbook” sidebar).
Preparing and Casting Spells
The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell).The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Bolded and underlined text point to the actual RAW for how a wizard Prepares the spells for which they want to cast, the wizards spellbook contains the list of spells that can be prepared. The wizards spellbook list, not what spell slots a wizard might have to cast spells with, is what determines what spells the wizard can prepare. A wizards spellbook is limited by RAW in its ability to hold leveled spells the wizard can KNOW AND PREPARE for casting by way of the Wizard Table within the Wizard Class.
[ please note that the section Learning Spells of 1-st level and Higher is located at the end of the wizards spellcasting section, moving this relevant set of rules to the proper place as shown above would ease any confusion, gap, and ambiguity with regards to RAW]
Learning Spells when the wizard levels up isn't what we're talking about.
If the part I highlighted Red has simply said what they wrote in Blue, there would be no gap. The gap, specifically, is the lack of reference there at the Red back to the table.
The Intent is that you reference back to the table. That's the RAI. If they simply added that into the rule, added "as shown on the Wizard table." then it'd be the RAW too.
Learning spells when the wizard levels up is very much a part of the discussion at hand.
The part that is highlighted in red reinforces the text in blue which is in the rules for what spells a wizard can learn, know and prepare within their spellbook. There is no gap, the Rules As Intended are specifically Rules AaWritten, as it is the bolded "You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook". The wizards spellbook is by RAW, limited to the spell slots only in the wizards table that dictate what spells constitute the list of spells that can be cast and therefore prepared, and the reinforcement of that limitation is the part that has been highlighted in Red.
For a wizard prepares their spells for use from what list of spells are available within their spellbook as noted by RAW by the black bolded text. How that list of spells is created is defined within the RAW for learning spells of 1st level and higher, and within that RAW the only spell slots a wizard can use to create their spell list is the wizards table.
No gap, no loophole, no misinterpretation. As I stated, if the section for Learning spells of 1st level and higher were to be placed before the prepare section in the rule book, the level of ambiguity would be greatly reduced.
Learning spells when the wizard levels up is very much a part of the discussion at hand.
The part that is highlighted in red reinforces the text in blue which is in the rules for what spells a wizard can learn, know and prepare within their spellbook. There is no gap, the Rules As Intended are specifically Rules AaWritten, as it is the bolded "You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook". The wizards spellbook is by RAW, limited to the spell slots only in the wizards table that dictate what spells constitute the list of spells that can be cast and therefore prepared, and the reinforcement of that limitation is the part that has been highlighted in Red.
For a wizard prepares their spells for use from what list of spells are available within their spellbook as noted by RAW by the black bolded text. How that list of spells is created is defined within the RAW for learning spells of 1st level and higher, and within that RAW the only spell slots a wizard can use to create their spell list is the wizards table.
No gap, no loophole, no misinterpretation. As I stated, if the section for Learning spells of 1st level and higher were to be placed before the prepare section in the rule book, the level of ambiguity would be greatly reduced.
Wizards can add spells to their spellbook aside from the ones they get on level-up.
I agree that if they only ever had the spells they gained on level-up this wouldn't be an issue. Because that rules does reference back to their class chart. It is too bad the "Preparing and Casting Spells" rules don't also reference back to their chart, there wouldn't be an issue with the RAW if it did like the "Learning spells of 1st level and higher" did and included that
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Since as a Wizard 4/Sorcerer 1 you determine spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class, then as a 4th-level Wizard you can't know and prepare Fireball i see no ambiguity here.
Since as a Wizard 4/Sorcerer 1 you determine spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class, then as a 4th-level Wizard you can't know and prepare Fireball i see no ambiguity here.
A 4th level wizard who has 3rd level spell slots can learn Fireball and add it to his spellbook. Because he can prepare spells for which he has slots, and can learn any spell of a level he can prepare.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Since as a Wizard 4/Sorcerer 1 you determine spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class, then as a 4th-level Wizard you can't know and prepare Fireball i see no ambiguity here.
A 4th level wizard who has 3rd level spell slots can learn Fireball and add it to his spellbook. Because he can prepare spells for which he has slots, and can learn any spell of a level he can prepare.
As a single-classed 4th-level Wizard doesn't have 3rd level spell slots, so can't know and prepare any 3rd level spells as explained in the rules and exemple provided.
Since as a Wizard 4/Sorcerer 1 you determine spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class, then as a 4th-level Wizard you can't know and prepare Fireball i see no ambiguity here.
A 4th level wizard who has 3rd level spell slots can learn Fireball and add it to his spellbook. Because he can prepare spells for which he has slots, and can learn any spell of a level he can prepare.
As a single-classed 4th-level Wizard doesn't have 3rd level spell slots, so can't know and prepare any 3rd level spells as explained in the rules and exemple provided.
A Wizard4/Sorc1 is a 4th level wizard with 3rd level spell slots, so can prepare 3rd level spells if they know any. As explained by the RAW. The example makes it clear that isn't the RAI, though, true. That's why no one actually plays that way.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A Wizard4/Sorc1 is a 4th level wizard with 3rd level spell slots,
Yes but you prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class and individually your Wizard 4 doesn't have 3rd-level spell slot.
A Wizard4/Sorc1 is a 4th level wizard with 3rd level spell slots,
Yes but you prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class and individually your Wizard 4 doesn't have 3rd-level spell slot.
It's as simple as that, and the rules make it clear. But when someone doesn't want to see it, he won't see it. And he will continue arguing and arguing ad nauseam.
Agreed. I think the example tells us exactly how we are supposed to play, the RAI is 110% clear and no one needs question how we are intended to play the game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A Wizard4/Sorc1 is a 4th level wizard with 3rd level spell slots,
Yes but you prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class and individually your Wizard 4 doesn't have 3rd-level spell slot.
Spell slots are not determined in the spell preparation rules. A 4th level wizard can, and often does have 3+ level spells.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
No, that is totally wrong. A level 4 wizard does not have level 3 spell slots.
I know you mean a multiclass with wizard level 4, but that's exactly the flaw in your argument. Although your multiclassed character may have level 3 spell slots, a level 4 wizard does not. And if someone doesn't understand that, it's not a problem of the rules. RAW is like that, and RAI is like that.
Spell slots are not determined in the spell preparation rules.
They are linked and referred "You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast...The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
A 4th level wizard can, and often does have 3+ level spells.
Can you elaborate how exactly?
Each new wizards spells a Wizard 4 can learn and prepare must be of a level for which you have spell slots and you don't have any 3rd-level spell slot as a single class Wizard 4.
Spell slots are not calculated in the Prepared spells rules. So pretending you're a single classed Wizard for the purpose of this rule doesn't change your slots. Because they're not determined here. Doesn't change anything else either for that matter. Doesn't change your asi like my earlier example. Which you can test yourself if you think I'm wrong I encourage you to test it. You'll see it doesn't work the way some of you think it does.
Youre only treating yourself as single classed for the rules presented in the Prepare section. And slots (and ASI) aren't calculated in that rule.
So yes. 4th level wizard with 3rd+ level slots. Happens all the time when multiclassing optional rule is allowed.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Youre only treating yourself as single classed for the rules presented in the Prepare section. And slots (and ASI) aren't calculated in that rule.
So yes. 4th level wizard with 3rd+ level slots. Happens all the time when multiclassing optional rule is allowed.
Of course multiclassed spellcasters can have higher slots than their individual classes. And when you do, you can use them only to cast your lower level spells that you know and can prepare as if you were single-classed member of that class, which are not as high.
Spell Slots: If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells.
So yes. 4th level wizard with 3rd+ level slots. Happens all the time when multiclassing optional rule is allowed.
Excuse me for getting into someone else's discussion, but that is not true. A level 4 wizard cannot have spell slots higher than level 2. A multiclass character (for example wizard level 4 sorcerer level 1 as proposed by the OP) can have level 3 spell slots . But that's not a level 4 wizard. That's why that multiclass can't cast fireball, because none of the classes that make it up have level 3 spell slots with their respective current levels.
Think of it this way. Is it correct to say that a level 1 fighter can cast level 9 spells since he can be involved in a multiclass with wizard level 17+? Of course not. A level 1 fighter can't do that. The multiclass character can do it, but that's not fighter level 1.
Yeah. It might. But it might not. Thats why they say "might". There is no guarantee that it'll give you higher level slots than you can know or prepare spells for. In the cast of the wizard it doesn't. In the cast of a bard it probably does. But it might not even for a bard. Say you are a bard 1 wiz 1, multiclass rules aren't giving you slots of a level you can't prepare or know.
I wish there was a plug for this gap in RAW as much as all yall do. The RAI is abundantly clear though so its hard for anyone to ever argue thats how to play it, thankfully.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I feel like OPs question has been overwhelmingly answered with an irrelevant level of disagreement.
Everyone here agrees the RAI is painfully obvious, and whether or not RAW is crystal clear about this, the example provided in the text is adequate to illustrate the intent to a casual reader. Any DM who allows a player to prepare spells over the intended level is either doing so intentionally, or ignorantly, not as a Rules Literalist. (Exceptions may apply.)
I feel like OPs question has been overwhelmingly answered with an irrelevant level of disagreement.
Every here agrees the RAI is painfully obvious, and whether or not RAW is crystal clear about this, the example provided in the text is adequate to illustrate the intent to a casual reader. Any DM who allows a player to prepare spells over the intended level is either doing so intentionally, or ignorantly, not as a rules literalist. (Exceptions may apply.)
We're good, right? Time to move on?
Well said.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Learning Spells when the wizard levels up isn't what we're talking about.
If the part I highlighted Red has simply said what they wrote in Blue, there would be no gap. The gap, specifically, is the lack of reference there at the Red back to the table.
The Intent is that you reference back to the table. That's the RAI. If they simply added that into the rule, added "as shown on the Wizard table." then it'd be the RAW too.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Learning spells when the wizard levels up is very much a part of the discussion at hand.
The part that is highlighted in red reinforces the text in blue which is in the rules for what spells a wizard can learn, know and prepare within their spellbook. There is no gap, the Rules As Intended are specifically Rules AaWritten, as it is the bolded "You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook". The wizards spellbook is by RAW, limited to the spell slots only in the wizards table that dictate what spells constitute the list of spells that can be cast and therefore prepared, and the reinforcement of that limitation is the part that has been highlighted in Red.
For a wizard prepares their spells for use from what list of spells are available within their spellbook as noted by RAW by the black bolded text. How that list of spells is created is defined within the RAW for learning spells of 1st level and higher, and within that RAW the only spell slots a wizard can use to create their spell list is the wizards table.
No gap, no loophole, no misinterpretation. As I stated, if the section for Learning spells of 1st level and higher were to be placed before the prepare section in the rule book, the level of ambiguity would be greatly reduced.
Wizards can add spells to their spellbook aside from the ones they get on level-up.
I agree that if they only ever had the spells they gained on level-up this wouldn't be an issue. Because that rules does reference back to their class chart. It is too bad the "Preparing and Casting Spells" rules don't also reference back to their chart, there wouldn't be an issue with the RAW if it did like the "Learning spells of 1st level and higher" did and included that
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Since as a Wizard 4/Sorcerer 1 you determine spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class, then as a 4th-level Wizard you can't know and prepare Fireball i see no ambiguity here.
A 4th level wizard who has 3rd level spell slots can learn Fireball and add it to his spellbook. Because he can prepare spells for which he has slots, and can learn any spell of a level he can prepare.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As a single-classed 4th-level Wizard doesn't have 3rd level spell slots, so can't know and prepare any 3rd level spells as explained in the rules and exemple provided.
A Wizard4/Sorc1 is a 4th level wizard with 3rd level spell slots, so can prepare 3rd level spells if they know any. As explained by the RAW. The example makes it clear that isn't the RAI, though, true. That's why no one actually plays that way.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Yes but you prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class and individually your Wizard 4 doesn't have 3rd-level spell slot.
It's as simple as that, and the rules make it clear. But when someone doesn't want to see it, he won't see it. And he will continue arguing and arguing ad nauseam.
This is a question that has been answered officially, so there is no need for incorrect arguments on it. There is even an example in the rules text.
Agreed. I think the example tells us exactly how we are supposed to play, the RAI is 110% clear and no one needs question how we are intended to play the game.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Spell slots are not determined in the spell preparation rules. A 4th level wizard can, and often does have 3+ level spells.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
No, that is totally wrong. A level 4 wizard does not have level 3 spell slots.
I know you mean a multiclass with wizard level 4, but that's exactly the flaw in your argument. Although your multiclassed character may have level 3 spell slots, a level 4 wizard does not. And if someone doesn't understand that, it's not a problem of the rules. RAW is like that, and RAI is like that.
They are linked and referred "You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast...The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
Can you elaborate how exactly?
Each new wizards spells a Wizard 4 can learn and prepare must be of a level for which you have spell slots and you don't have any 3rd-level spell slot as a single class Wizard 4.
Spell slots are not calculated in the Prepared spells rules. So pretending you're a single classed Wizard for the purpose of this rule doesn't change your slots. Because they're not determined here. Doesn't change anything else either for that matter. Doesn't change your asi like my earlier example. Which you can test yourself if you think I'm wrong I encourage you to test it. You'll see it doesn't work the way some of you think it does.
Youre only treating yourself as single classed for the rules presented in the Prepare section. And slots (and ASI) aren't calculated in that rule.
So yes. 4th level wizard with 3rd+ level slots. Happens all the time when multiclassing optional rule is allowed.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Of course multiclassed spellcasters can have higher slots than their individual classes. And when you do, you can use them only to cast your lower level spells that you know and can prepare as if you were single-classed member of that class, which are not as high.
Spell Slots: If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells.
Excuse me for getting into someone else's discussion, but that is not true. A level 4 wizard cannot have spell slots higher than level 2. A multiclass character (for example wizard level 4 sorcerer level 1 as proposed by the OP) can have level 3 spell slots . But that's not a level 4 wizard. That's why that multiclass can't cast fireball, because none of the classes that make it up have level 3 spell slots with their respective current levels.
Think of it this way. Is it correct to say that a level 1 fighter can cast level 9 spells since he can be involved in a multiclass with wizard level 17+? Of course not. A level 1 fighter can't do that. The multiclass character can do it, but that's not fighter level 1.
Yeah. It might. But it might not. Thats why they say "might". There is no guarantee that it'll give you higher level slots than you can know or prepare spells for. In the cast of the wizard it doesn't. In the cast of a bard it probably does. But it might not even for a bard. Say you are a bard 1 wiz 1, multiclass rules aren't giving you slots of a level you can't prepare or know.
I wish there was a plug for this gap in RAW as much as all yall do. The RAI is abundantly clear though so its hard for anyone to ever argue thats how to play it, thankfully.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I feel like OPs question has been overwhelmingly answered with an irrelevant level of disagreement.
Everyone here agrees the RAI is painfully obvious, and whether or not RAW is crystal clear about this, the example provided in the text is adequate to illustrate the intent to a casual reader. Any DM who allows a player to prepare spells over the intended level is either doing so intentionally, or ignorantly, not as a Rules Literalist. (Exceptions may apply.)
We're good, right? Time to move on?
Well said.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.