Sorry if this has been answered before, i've done some google searching and kind of found mixed answers, mostly emphasizing "warlock and other caster spells are interchangeable when multiclassing" but nothing much regarding ritual casting I could find.
Basically, if I took 1 level of Warlock and picked up say Comprehend Languages and Unseen Servant and multi classed to Druid, Cleric, Wizard, etc (who have ritual casting) could I ritual cast Comprehend Languages or Unseen Servant that I learned from my Warlock level since its "interchangeable"? Or does ritual casting not abide by that rule and it only applies to using spell slots?
They were probably more talking about how you can use your pact magic and regular class spell slots interchangeably.
For both Cleric and Druid the specific wording is "You can cast a [druid/cleric] spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared." Spells you pick up as a warlock count as warlock spells for you, not druid/cleric spells, so no, you can't cast them with the ritual casting class feature (plus warlock spells aren't 'prepared'). If your DM is nice they might allow it, but RAW it's not possible.
As a wizard, the wording is different: "You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared." So it has to be in your spellbook. But you could ask your DM if you can copy them into your wizard spellbook, at which point it would then also be a wizard spell for you and you can cast it ritually as a wizard. Most DMs will probably allow this, but since you're usually copying a written spell into your book, they might make you spend some extra time/gold similar to first making it into a spell scroll and copying from that.
Each class that can perform rituals can only cast that class's ritual spells, so no.
In the case of wizard, you can probably add the spells to your spellbook (since almost every ritual spell is also a wizard spell) during downtime. Worst case scenario, you make a spell scroll to add to the book, but your DM may let you add straight to the book.
Each class that can perform rituals can only cast that class's ritual spells, so no.
Funny enough the warlock version of ritual casting can actually learn rituals from any class.
When they take the Pact of the Tome feature, and the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, they learn rituals from any class. And can continue adding ritual spells to this book if they find them from any class.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As has been pointed out, warlocks don't get the Ritual Casting feature automatically and each Ritual Casting feature is specific to its class, so you can't cast your warlock spells as rituals even if they have the Ritual tag and you pick that feature up by multiclassing
However, if you go up to warlock 3 instead of stopping at warlock 1, you can take Pact of the Tome and the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, and you'll be able to cast ritual spells from any class, including warlock
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Each class that can perform rituals can only cast that class's ritual spells, so no.
Funny enough the warlock version of ritual casting can actually learn rituals from any class.
When they take the Pact of the Tome feature, and the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, they learn rituals from any class. And can continue adding ritual spells to this book if they find them from any class.
Yeah, but 1) it seemed like they weren't doing that and 2) that still works like the wizard spellbook where the spells have to be copied into the book first unless they are warlock spells from pact magic.
Thanks for all the answers everyone, I was kind of thinking that was the way of it but wanted to make sure. Guess i'll just pick some throw away spells that don't use a DC (multi'd to a druid so mainly wisdom based) and see where that gets me.
Cheers and thanks!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey everyone
Sorry if this has been answered before, i've done some google searching and kind of found mixed answers, mostly emphasizing "warlock and other caster spells are interchangeable when multiclassing" but nothing much regarding ritual casting I could find.
Basically, if I took 1 level of Warlock and picked up say Comprehend Languages and Unseen Servant and multi classed to Druid, Cleric, Wizard, etc (who have ritual casting) could I ritual cast Comprehend Languages or Unseen Servant that I learned from my Warlock level since its "interchangeable"? Or does ritual casting not abide by that rule and it only applies to using spell slots?
Thanks
They were probably more talking about how you can use your pact magic and regular class spell slots interchangeably.
For both Cleric and Druid the specific wording is "You can cast a [druid/cleric] spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared." Spells you pick up as a warlock count as warlock spells for you, not druid/cleric spells, so no, you can't cast them with the ritual casting class feature (plus warlock spells aren't 'prepared'). If your DM is nice they might allow it, but RAW it's not possible.
As a wizard, the wording is different: "You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared." So it has to be in your spellbook. But you could ask your DM if you can copy them into your wizard spellbook, at which point it would then also be a wizard spell for you and you can cast it ritually as a wizard. Most DMs will probably allow this, but since you're usually copying a written spell into your book, they might make you spend some extra time/gold similar to first making it into a spell scroll and copying from that.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Each class that can perform rituals can only cast that class's ritual spells, so no.
In the case of wizard, you can probably add the spells to your spellbook (since almost every ritual spell is also a wizard spell) during downtime. Worst case scenario, you make a spell scroll to add to the book, but your DM may let you add straight to the book.
Funny enough the warlock version of ritual casting can actually learn rituals from any class.
When they take the Pact of the Tome feature, and the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, they learn rituals from any class. And can continue adding ritual spells to this book if they find them from any class.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As has been pointed out, warlocks don't get the Ritual Casting feature automatically and each Ritual Casting feature is specific to its class, so you can't cast your warlock spells as rituals even if they have the Ritual tag and you pick that feature up by multiclassing
However, if you go up to warlock 3 instead of stopping at warlock 1, you can take Pact of the Tome and the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, and you'll be able to cast ritual spells from any class, including warlock
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Yeah, but 1) it seemed like they weren't doing that and 2) that still works like the wizard spellbook where the spells have to be copied into the book first unless they are warlock spells from pact magic.
Thanks for all the answers everyone, I was kind of thinking that was the way of it but wanted to make sure. Guess i'll just pick some throw away spells that don't use a DC (multi'd to a druid so mainly wisdom based) and see where that gets me.
Cheers and thanks!