I have a question regarding the rules regarding damage resistance. In the player's Handbook it specifies that a damage cannot be divided more than once. But in the case of magic? How does it apply. for example. A Fireball requires a saving throw for half damage, assuming a success, the damage is 30, on success it would be 15, and if the creature has fire resistance? So we talk about 7 damage? (rounded down in this case) Or even having resistance to fire damage, it still receives 15 due to the rule of not dividing more than once?
The rule isn’t that you only divide once, it’s that resistance only applies once. Taking half damage on a successful saving throw isn’t resistance, so it stacks and you take 7 damage (or 8; I forget if damage rounds up or down).
SagaTympana is right there is no limit on the ammount of time you can divide damage taken, only how many time you can apply Resistance to one specifically.
Hi everyone.
I have a question regarding the rules regarding damage resistance. In the player's Handbook it specifies that a damage cannot be divided more than once. But in the case of magic? How does it apply. for example. A Fireball requires a saving throw for half damage, assuming a success, the damage is 30, on success it would be 15, and if the creature has fire resistance? So we talk about 7 damage? (rounded down in this case) Or even having resistance to fire damage, it still receives 15 due to the rule of not dividing more than once?
The rule isn’t that you only divide once, it’s that resistance only applies once. Taking half damage on a successful saving throw isn’t resistance, so it stacks and you take 7 damage (or 8; I forget if damage rounds up or down).
SagaTympana is right there is no limit on the ammount of time you can divide damage taken, only how many time you can apply Resistance to one specifically.
Thanks for the rapid awnsers.
Both of you.