The current rules are not specific regarding some aspects of Rope Trick.
So would you allow someone to cast rope trick, have someone crawl inside and allow them to pull it around or would you say the extra dimensional space anchors the top of the rope?
Personally I think it is a fun idea and I will allow it.
Personally, I'd rule no but every DM is different and I could see another DM rulling differently since the spell only states that the entrance to the space appears at the upper end of the rope. I'd interpret that to mean the space appears at the top of the rope and the rope can be used to access it, not that the rope allows you to move the entrance to the space since the spell doesn't specify that you could move it.
On the other hand, a bag of holding or portable hole represent movable extra dimensional spaces that have specific objects serving as entry points so I'd just say go with whatever you prefer.
Position and movement are relative. If they cast rope trick on a ship would the ship move out from.under them? What the rotation of the planet? It is all relative. I use whatever reference frame is most convenient to the situation (move with the ship, but not with a wagon).
Rope trick does make an extradimensional space, but bag of holding (and similar) say "similar item" in their effects. It could be (correctly) argued that a spell is not an item and wouldn't cause the effect.
Could also be that no one on the design team thought to ask the question. What about a bag of holding inside a mordenkainen's magnificent mansion? The mansion could easily be considered an item, particularly if it's been cast enough to make it permanent. Along with that, what happens if you cast a rope trick inside a magnificent mansion?
Interesting a bag of holding placed inside another extradimensional space causes both items to be destroyed.
Now there is no mention of it, but would it them make sense if someone climbs into the rope trick opening it would cause the same effect.?
I would argue that the rule you're referring to are actual magic items containing pocket-dimensions within them, namely the Bag of Holding, the Portable Hole, and the Handy Haversack, and that spells do not fit the criteria. The spell-created openings of Magnificent Mansion or Rope Trick do not fit the criteria for that mutual destruction.
Similarly, the Genie Vessel of the Genie Warlock is not an item that can be used by anyone, or even freely used by the owner, so I'd say it's more like the spells than the Wondrous Items, and thus there would be no strange interactions between it and the Wonderous Items.
I agree RAW extra dimensional spaces created by magic items doesn't interact with extradimensional spaces created by other sources unless they specifically saying so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The current rules are not specific regarding some aspects of Rope Trick.
So would you allow someone to cast rope trick, have someone crawl inside and allow them to pull it around or would you say the extra dimensional space anchors the top of the rope?
Personally I think it is a fun idea and I will allow it.
Personally, I'd rule no but every DM is different and I could see another DM rulling differently since the spell only states that the entrance to the space appears at the upper end of the rope. I'd interpret that to mean the space appears at the top of the rope and the rope can be used to access it, not that the rope allows you to move the entrance to the space since the spell doesn't specify that you could move it.
On the other hand, a bag of holding or portable hole represent movable extra dimensional spaces that have specific objects serving as entry points so I'd just say go with whatever you prefer.
Rope Trick doesn't say the entrance to the extradimensional space can be moved so i wouldn't allow it
Interesting a bag of holding placed inside another extradimensional space causes both items to be destroyed.
Now there is no mention of it, but would it them make sense if someone climbs into the rope trick opening it would cause the same effect.?
Position and movement are relative. If they cast rope trick on a ship would the ship move out from.under them? What the rotation of the planet? It is all relative. I use whatever reference frame is most convenient to the situation (move with the ship, but not with a wagon).
Rope trick does make an extradimensional space, but bag of holding (and similar) say "similar item" in their effects. It could be (correctly) argued that a spell is not an item and wouldn't cause the effect.
Could also be that no one on the design team thought to ask the question. What about a bag of holding inside a mordenkainen's magnificent mansion? The mansion could easily be considered an item, particularly if it's been cast enough to make it permanent. Along with that, what happens if you cast a rope trick inside a magnificent mansion?
I would argue that the rule you're referring to are actual magic items containing pocket-dimensions within them, namely the Bag of Holding, the Portable Hole, and the Handy Haversack, and that spells do not fit the criteria. The spell-created openings of Magnificent Mansion or Rope Trick do not fit the criteria for that mutual destruction.
Similarly, the Genie Vessel of the Genie Warlock is not an item that can be used by anyone, or even freely used by the owner, so I'd say it's more like the spells than the Wondrous Items, and thus there would be no strange interactions between it and the Wonderous Items.
I agree RAW extra dimensional spaces created by magic items doesn't interact with extradimensional spaces created by other sources unless they specifically saying so.