Scenario: A spellcasting adventurer has obtained proficiency in shields and has a one-handed weapon. The shield is his spellcasting focus. He acquires a spell scroll for a spell that has verbal and/or material components, but not somatic. The adventurer uses his innovation to add securing clasps or a temporary adhesive to the interior of the tower shield, then sets the unfurled spell scroll in place. He goes into battle wielding both his one-handed weapon and tower shield. The adventurer reads the scroll in combat to cast the transcribed spell.
Does this extremely specific circumstance allow the caster to use the spell scroll while holding both a one-handed weapon and shield?
A quick search suggests that it's not necessary for a scroll to be held, only that it be read, so whether the scroll is on a table or attached to a shield, it ought to be useable. However, this is dependent on DM discretion since it does bend RAI. It should also be noted that "Tower Shields" aren't a separate piece of equipment in 5e.
That said, previous editions and systems have had an item called a Caster's Shield, which did essentially what you're asking about (Plus some cost reducing features).
Keep in mind that a prerequisite for using a scroll is that the spell is already on your classes spell list, so a normal fighter/barbarian/etc would not be able to do this, and most casters wouldn't be proficient with a "tower shield" if they existed. An alternative to this would be to use a Spellwrought Tattoo, which wouldn't need to be on the shield at all, and is class ambivalent.
It works due to an interaction of the rules. Memnosyne is correct that it is not necessary to hold the scroll to cast from it, although I agree that is probably not RAI. Here are some of the rules that will come into effect in this interaction:
Casting a spell from a spell scroll does not require an M component.
You need to be able to read the scroll, so either hold it or do whatever shenanigans will allow you to read the scroll without holding it (bring a friend?)
I would say that being hit while your reading would have a good chance of stopping the spell from being cast. So essentially you would have to be outside the immediate combat and not engaging in hand to hand combat.
I would say that being hit while your reading would have a good chance of stopping the spell from being cast. So essentially you would have to be outside the immediate combat and not engaging in hand to hand combat.
Not sure where this is coming from, exactly. Most spells have a casting time of one action, and under 5e's rules there's no general way to attack and interrupt a single action cast. Now, if the casting time was 1 minute or more, they would be required to hold concentration for the duration of the cast, which is indeed rather unlikely, but that'd have to be a pretty unusual circumstance.
It should also be noted that "Tower Shields" aren't a separate piece of equipment in 5e...
Keep in mind that a prerequisite for using a scroll is that the spell is already on your classes spell list, so a normal fighter/barbarian/etc would not be able to do this, and most casters wouldn't be proficient with a "tower shield" if they existed. An alternative to this would be to use a Spellwrought Tattoo, which wouldn't need to be on the shield at all, and is class ambivalent.
Yes, I am aware that a tower shield does not officially exist in 5E; it is a thematic choice as I feel that a larger shield has more area and therefore is more practical for the strategy. The idea is mainly for a paladin and eldritch knight, although multiclassing can cover the proficiency issue.
Thank you for mentioning the spellwrought tattoo. I like the item, though it does not fit my aesthetics save for a Thayan character.
An interesting idea popped into my head.
Scenario: A spellcasting adventurer has obtained proficiency in shields and has a one-handed weapon. The shield is his spellcasting focus. He acquires a spell scroll for a spell that has verbal and/or material components, but not somatic. The adventurer uses his innovation to add securing clasps or a temporary adhesive to the interior of the tower shield, then sets the unfurled spell scroll in place. He goes into battle wielding both his one-handed weapon and tower shield. The adventurer reads the scroll in combat to cast the transcribed spell.
Does this extremely specific circumstance allow the caster to use the spell scroll while holding both a one-handed weapon and shield?
A quick search suggests that it's not necessary for a scroll to be held, only that it be read, so whether the scroll is on a table or attached to a shield, it ought to be useable. However, this is dependent on DM discretion since it does bend RAI. It should also be noted that "Tower Shields" aren't a separate piece of equipment in 5e.
That said, previous editions and systems have had an item called a Caster's Shield, which did essentially what you're asking about (Plus some cost reducing features).
Keep in mind that a prerequisite for using a scroll is that the spell is already on your classes spell list, so a normal fighter/barbarian/etc would not be able to do this, and most casters wouldn't be proficient with a "tower shield" if they existed. An alternative to this would be to use a Spellwrought Tattoo, which wouldn't need to be on the shield at all, and is class ambivalent.
It works due to an interaction of the rules. Memnosyne is correct that it is not necessary to hold the scroll to cast from it, although I agree that is probably not RAI. Here are some of the rules that will come into effect in this interaction:
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I would say that being hit while your reading would have a good chance of stopping the spell from being cast. So essentially you would have to be outside the immediate combat and not engaging in hand to hand combat.
Well tape a piece of paper to the lid of a garbage can, hold it in front of you and try to read it while someone bangs on it with a hammer.
But it is not specifically against the rules so it must be somewhat logical and possible, so go ahead and do it at will.
Not sure where this is coming from, exactly. Most spells have a casting time of one action, and under 5e's rules there's no general way to attack and interrupt a single action cast. Now, if the casting time was 1 minute or more, they would be required to hold concentration for the duration of the cast, which is indeed rather unlikely, but that'd have to be a pretty unusual circumstance.
Yes, I am aware that a tower shield does not officially exist in 5E; it is a thematic choice as I feel that a larger shield has more area and therefore is more practical for the strategy. The idea is mainly for a paladin and eldritch knight, although multiclassing can cover the proficiency issue.
Thank you for mentioning the spellwrought tattoo. I like the item, though it does not fit my aesthetics save for a Thayan character.
Ah, I had forgotten about that.
I am glad to know that the strategy is viable. Thank you everyone for taking the time to read and respond!